We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Orchid Lake Resort and Restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Orchid Lake Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shillong
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Orchid Lake Resort
Ranked #33 of 75 Shillong B&B and Inns
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Orchid Lake Resort and Restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

This Lake resort situated very near to Barapani lake, shillong. We had took our lunch over there on 27th May 2014 around 3pm. The restaurant was fantastic , nice view but the food qualtiy was not upto the mark. We had ordered chilly chicken without bone but they served with bone. Be careful if you are with family, I have very bad experience in that restaurant. Beside our table 4 Khasi people were sitting over there and there were completly drunk. They just making fun with us , throwing water in our table. When we protest for that then they were just furious, using so bad language and we didnt any support from that restaurant. Manager told us he can't do anything in this matter, becasue that khasi people are dangeous . They dont have manners at all, they behave so badly with my mother , she was 70 years old, behave badly with my wife, seems they dont have culture at all. So my advice dont go there with your family.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ranadastidar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    37
    16
    9
    7
See reviews for
50
9
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed for 2 nights. Its a memerizing spot for a quite and calm holiday. Nothing is more relaxing than waking up by loud chirping of birds and beautiful Umium lake's quite atmosphere. Staff is very courteous and always available. Reception is very helpful. Food is good and tasty, Its a total value for money. We stayed in rooms 212 and 215. Both rooms were spacious with small terrace overlooking the lake. bathrooms were clean and hygienic. A perfect place for unwindind amidst the nature.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samik C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here in a Deluxe room for 2 nights in Apr'14. I would recommend Orchid Lake Resort.

Pros:
1. Excellent location, and great views (usually, this is true of government owned properties, and this is no exception)
2. Good rooms that take advantage of the location. Wooden flooring, french windows that afford a full view of the lake, a balcony etc. (this is significantly better than the norm for typical govt. owned properties, which are usually in a sorry and dilapidated state)

Cons:
1. Indifferent attitude of restaurant staff. Long delays in taking and delivering orders, and a general "I don't care attitude" especially of waiters
2, Food is average

This place has the potential to be much more...if the service becomes more enthusiastic and spirited

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vivek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Located close to Umiam lake Orchid is well located. It is away from the main city and this gives it an edge as the location is peaceful and pretty. The rooms are spacious, clean and tidy with a balcony that has a beautiful view. There is a fireplace with a strategically fitted heater. The front office staff was friendly but the restaurant staff was bored and grumpy. We had to keep reminding them of our order and it took really long to get the food on the table. My husband literally walked down to the kitchen! Overall our stay here was good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BShilpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guwahati, Assam, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Well, I was in the resort during holi this year and stayed for the weekend. I found it very proper and very personal, I was given the room number 117 and it had an awsome view (pictures added) but don't think other rooms will have that view as well. Staff was good, menu was average and I was provided proper bills to sign, every time I ordered something in the room. It helps you keep a track... restaurant was spacious both the floors...Rooms were good, proper cold and hot water and specially the room fare includes sealed shaving kit, toothbrush and toothpaste as well.
The pine trees and the serenity will make you want to stay one more day than you have planned. a must try.

Room Tip: Confirm about the view, I think very less rooms have a view from its balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shamim_Mokles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

The setting for this hotel is quite spectacular set amongst the tall pines on Umiam lake's shore. The food was generous and very tasty. The staff very friendly and helpful. Even the sauna came up to European standards with a cold shower awaiting in the next room...though I had to switch it on and warm it up myself. Unfortunately the room was in quite a bad state of repair and could do with a spruce up.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank homicidalhobbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Great location , good food. Just the place for unwinding and relax for 2 days. The activities at the lake are a big plus. Had fun with the kids. It is very near to Shillong ... 20 - 25 km takes max 45 mins to reach. We headed to Kaziranga National Park ( near Bagori) from here ... took around 5 hrs including lunch break.

Room Tip: Only the bathroom (room 3) has a leakage. Should opt for rooms 11 and 12 (front side) ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArnabSur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shillong hotels
7.2 mi away
Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle
6.1 mi away
Hotel Centre Point
Hotel Centre Point
#4 of 19 in Shillong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Eee Cee Hotel
The Eee Cee Hotel
#7 of 19 in Shillong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Hotel Poinisuk
Hotel Poinisuk
#8 of 19 in Shillong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Polo Towers
Hotel Polo Towers
#5 of 19 in Shillong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
6.6 mi away
Cafe Shillong Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchid Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Lake Resort

Property: Orchid Lake Resort
Address: Umiam, Ri Bhoi District | Major District Road 32, Police Bazar, Shillong 793103, India
Region: India > Meghalaya > Shillong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Shillong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay in the very lap of nature at the Orchid Lake Resort. Situated at the banks of the tranquil Umium Lake, in the state of Megalaya (Abode of the clouds). Relax in the well appointed rooms and bask in the beautiful view of the lake away from the grind of daily city life. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing