We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very well maintained cottage but service definitely needs improvement”
Review of Aerodene Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shillong
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aerodene Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very well maintained cottage but service definitely needs improvement”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I had been looking forward to stay in this place since long. Particularly because of the reviews I have seen here in TripAdvisor which I follow whenever I do travel.

The first impression as most others have mentioned here was not good for me. The cottage appeared too old. But when we stepped inside, I felt better. We occupied a room near the reception with a private sit-out. Its an old cottage maintained really well. Ms Rukma who takes care of the cottage was courteous and came to greet us. Apart from all what we loved about the cottage, there were a few things we did not like:

1. The first night sleep was not very comfortable. It might have been due to the rainy weather, but there were a large swarm of ants all over the floor and few even on the bed which made our night sleepless. The ants were however cleared in the morning by the staff and made sure they were away the next day and night.

2. This cottage is very very strictly Bed & Breakfast and they follow this rule strictly. I do travel a lot and have stayed in B&B accommodation earlier as well. My last stay prior to Aerodene was at Rhenock House, Gangtok. But none of these cottages/resorts in B&B category were so strict . We were denied even a cup of tea from the kitchen and said that the arrangements were there in every room and the guests are expected to make their own tea. Apart from the Breakfast and the dinner, they won't entertain any other request for even tea/coffee. If needed we were advised to have tea/snacks at another guesthouse cum restaurant - Eldorado which is nearby.

3. There is no menu to select food from. Menu is fixed by the cook and you cannot decide or change.

4. The staff in the cottage are inexperienced. Probably it was my fault that I expressed my displeasure the way dinner was served to the cook cum waiter, he without any hesitation said straight to my face that, "If you have any complain, tell it to in-charge, we cannot help you." I was surprised and taken aback. He could have atleast said that, "Sir, let me check what can be done.... " etc. But...

5. The tariff for this cottage is equal to most full-service hotel in Shillong. As such now I do not find any reason to avoid the hotels and stay at this place. Still, had the service been little considerate, a bit better I would have felt happier than I were.

Overall, apart from my outdoor visits, the stays in the hotel were not as expected. May be our expectations were much higher.

I request the management of Aerodene to take these feedback positively and look into some improvement. Time changes and rules has to be changed with time to stay in business. I have not seen any one apart from one giving a bad review of Aerodene, but there is always a first time. After all we look forward for hotels/cottages where we may stay and enjoy our holidays in a relaxed way.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rp H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    38
    8
    1
    4
See reviews for
52
26
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Guwahati, India
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

When we go for a holiday we always love to stay in a warm, clean and friendly place where we can get homely food for our kid . We booked Aerodene and when we reached Shillong we really couldn't find the place. As soon as we rang up and told them that we couldn't trace the cottage,Aeroden's efficient team told us to park the car near the Assam House as they sent their staff to usher us. The first impression was _Really nice people!! As we entered, the charming English Cottage made us feel warm and cozy. My kid loved the cottage and the lovely food. we really loved the spic & span bathrooms, the bed room was spacious and well maintained. The dinning room was really cozy & charming. Charlene and Rukma are lovely people, they are good host!! we really loved staying here and whoever we recommended they always ring us up from Aerodene to thank us for recommending a lovely place!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vaishnodev_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panjim, India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Rukma and her efficient team made sure we were comfortable, well fed and at home in their beautiful cottage. We stayed six nights and toured Meghalaya with good advise from Rukma and a picnic brunch packed to perfection. My family loved coming back to the cozy warm room every evening after a long and tiring, but fun day discovering Meghalaya. Thanks you.

Room Tip: The large room to the front of the cottage is spacious and perfect for a family with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GayathriKonkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We, a family our stayed for four nights and truly had a wonderful time. The staff were extremely helpful and was Rukma was an amazing host.
The food was homely and very tasty and the rooms were neat and well maintained. We stayed in a room which had a small sit-out filled with orchids.
During our stay we had utilised the service of a local taxi introduced to us by Rukma. The driver, Mr Nanu was extremely efficient and took us to all the places worth seeing. He was very caring with my boys and was a good guide too :) providing us with local inputs.
We had such a nice time as Rukma and co left no stone unturned to make our stay comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sririta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itanagar, India
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2014

8 of us stayed at aerodene for 2 nights & 3 days.We were bowled by the charm of the English style cottage .The cottage was spic & span .The food provided was very hygienic & we felt at home. Charlene & Rukma were great hosts .Once again thanks for their hospitality.
Highly recommended place to stay as it very nearby to Wards lake & Lady Hydari park & also if some one wants to experience the British era Shillong.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sreedhar2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Truly a fantastic experience. We stayed here for 9 days. Rukma is a fountain of information. If you need anything extra just check with the staff, you should be able to get them easily. The Cottage is an old Assamese cottage with a large number of rooms and attach bathrooms. The cottage is enclosed in a fantastic garden. The antique Jaguar in the garage adds to the aura.
The staff is extremely caring and efficient. The place is spic and span. (Given the age of the cottage the paint does peel off in a few rare corners.)
Breakfast spread is varied and more than adequate. (not a buffet, its a set spread)
There is no need for fans forget using an A/C. Google maps gives the absolute correct location. (right next to St.Peters college / school).
The Police Bazar, Lady Hyadri Park are well within walking distance. In short this is a Highly recommended place to stay at.

Room Tip: Take Cottage #3. You can always ask for the beds to be joined!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sougata_Nupur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

8 of us stayed at aerodene fr 3 nights ... Amazing stay..cosy and warm rooms.. Great food... We stayed in shillong and did a day trip to cherrapunji - a very wise decision as cherra stay options r sad... The management at aerodene is very helpful in planning ur day..

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank rohanp875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shillong hotels
6.9 mi away
Ri Kynjai
Ri Kynjai
#1 of 20 in Shillong
479 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Centre Point
Hotel Centre Point
#3 of 20 in Shillong
276 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Polo Towers
Hotel Polo Towers
#4 of 20 in Shillong
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Eee Cee Hotel
The Eee Cee Hotel
#6 of 20 in Shillong
145 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cafe Shillong Bed & Breakfast
6.5 mi away
Silver Brook
Silver Brook
#15 of 38 in Shillong
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aerodene Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aerodene Cottage

Property: Aerodene Cottage
Address: Lower Cleve Colony | Stoneylands, Shillong 793003, India
Region: India > Meghalaya > East Khasi Hills District > Shillong
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Shillong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As tourism picks up in Meghalaya, there is a huge demand for homestays in heritage buildings like Aerodene Cottage. Built in 1950 in the Assam style of architecture prevalent during the British Raj, the structure was designed keeping in mind the high rainfall in the region and low winter temperatures. Despite the challenge in maintaining such a building, this boutique guest house provides all the comforts of home, combined with modern amenities and top service, giving guests a taste of the old English cottage. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing