We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place for a comfortable stay”
Review of Hotel Yalana

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shillong
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Yalana
Ranked #10 of 78 Shillong B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“nice place for a comfortable stay”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

have stayed here twice once in a double room and once in a double deluxe. nice large rooms that are nice and are clean. double deluxe had a great spacious and new bathroom. is a nice place for a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brt2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    31
    12
    4
    0
See reviews for
23
8
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This was February 2012 not 14, our first trip to the North East, this hotel lived up to our all our expectations and how! amazing food, clean rooms, and the road where the hotel is situated is by far the most swanky place to be in, The hotel manager, cant recall his name, i think Michael , was a great guy. If you are in Shillong, this is the place to be !

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ronisha89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Yalana is a very good hotel for budget travellers. I had quite a good experience here. Its location, tops the chart. Situated in Laitumkhra, its only a Rs. 20/head on a shared ride away from the Police Bazaar. Police Bazaar can be a nightmare if one is looking for quieter locales and peace of mind. Laitumkhra is mostly populated by students due to various schools and colleges in the vicinity, as a result offer good options for eating as well. Apart from fast food joints and chinese food joints, two of my favourite places- Cafe shillong and Munchies are located opposite the hotel offering a change in menu. There is also a chinese fine dining restaurant called Deja Vu at a walking distance which also serves good food and drinks.

The service was fairly decent and food good. However I would like to say to not go by the façade of the hotel building which is not at all fancy. The rooms and specially the bathrooms are extremely neat and clean and offer all needed facilities like Tv, intercom, hot water with geyser.

Only negative I have to say is that, when I tried to book a taxi for a day to cherrapunji from the hotel, the price quoted was inexplicably high. I instead opted to hire one after scouting in police bazaar and got a way better deal.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Richa_Gupta83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This hotel is nothing flash - but it is clean and comfortable. Be prepared to pay for a heater if you are there in the dry season and its colder. We stayed in the deluxe room. It has a lovely bathroom but the hot water is limited. Vast array of TV channels. Room service available at no extra charge. Good service and helpful staff. Even though it is central to the city - it is remarkably quiet at night. Not a sound - except for fighting dogs and/or cats.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I was very pleased with this hotel. It is a great budget and one can stay in easily with family or friends. We were two females who were travelling to Shillong in September 2013. And not once did we feel uncomfortable there. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms are nice and clean, particularly the bathrooms, which are just really good. The food made uo for everything else, as we just loved it all. Not once did we eat outside the hotel, as the taste of everything was just perfect for our tastebuds. And mind you, all of this was within budget and not expensive to the least.

Overall, would recommend anyone who wants to be a little away from the hustle bustle of the noisy police bazaar area, to stay here, as it it not very far from the main market. It was a great experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Happytraveller271987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kolkata
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

The room was quite big and clean. Toilet was clean. Food was too much spicy and not up to the mark. Room service was just ok. I think the rate is in higher side. Over all it was ok, nothing more than that.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank supriyosaha1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylhet City, Bangladesh
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

as a low budget hotel we found this hotel best, coz its clean, bathrooms r tidy, in a good location so we prefer this hotel everytime. However, the room service and reception should be more friendly and smart otherwise its very worthy choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ruhelsylhet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shillong hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Centre Point
Hotel Centre Point
#2 of 20 in Shillong
275 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Eee Cee Hotel
The Eee Cee Hotel
#6 of 20 in Shillong
143 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Polo Towers
Hotel Polo Towers
#4 of 20 in Shillong
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poinisuk
Hotel Poinisuk
#10 of 20 in Shillong
56 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cafe Shillong Bed & Breakfast
1.1 mi away
Shaurya Inn
Shaurya Inn
#11 of 78 in Shillong
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Yalana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Yalana

Property: Hotel Yalana
Address: Main Road, Laitumkhrah, Shillong 793003, India
Region: India > Meghalaya > East Khasi Hills District > Shillong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Shillong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 35

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing