We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay at Cafe Shillong B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cafe Shillong Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 78 Shillong B&B and Inns
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome stay at Cafe Shillong B&B”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Don't miss to stay here in Shillong. Location, Amenities, Stuffing, Breakfast all are very good. Moreover a homely environment you will get. Ratneswar the care taker is a very nice and helpful person. The first night we were the only one in that guest house so it gave us a feeling of staying in our own property. Tech savy's requirement will be also fulfilled. Planing to stay there again on my next visit. Police Bazar (PB) is located in a walking distance of 10-15 minutes. Only cons is not having a inhouse restaurant though order can be placed in hotel and they will give room delivery from Cafe Shillong restaurant which is also very good of its kind.

Room Tip: Room No. 103 is a very good Luxury Room where we stayed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SandyJ1032013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    40
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
46
28
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I will always make "Cafe Shillong Bed & Breakfast" my symbol of Shillong, by heart, by sight, by ears. My vacation here has been a vivid memory that will undoubtedly turn into an everlasting one. The city below is a melting pot of wealth and poor, of congestion, of local flurry. At the top of the hill, where "Cafe Shillong" rests, the elevation gives you fair seclusion and sanctuary. The caretaker, prepares a freshly balanced breakfast for you and tends to whatever clothes-washing needs. After a week, you will of course needed that service at least once. The influence of the hotel is both British and Indian architecture, and if you look into the city's history, the British occupied the area in post-WWII. The cottage and fine wood furniture brings homeliness that is not merely reassuring, it's alleviating. My concern for you, dear reader, is the time of year you plan to visit. The Shillong cold gets into your bones, so avoid winters and Monsoon season. Once you're here, the caretaker will assist you with whatever needs to get a daily driver. The house computer has mostly reliable internet capabilities. The world is yours in Shillong, if you have the money. Drive to Elephant Falls, Nohkalikai Falls, Tyrshi Falls, Sirah Viewpoint, Mawsmai Cave, Mattilang Park, or for a really outrageous and arduous adventure try Seven Ponds. For hotel and all sightseeing destinations, wear longjohns, a coat, a shawl, and a beanie. Life is a worthwhile adventure again, thanks to Shillong. Be well-fed and cared for, and make "Cafe Shillong" your headquarters.

Room Tip: Pay for the master suite, it's not that much more moola.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Life_of_Sean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

ambiance and hospitality was very good. Property was excellent at such a reasonable rate in holiday session. Location is also very good.every thing is within walking distance. quality of Complimentary breakfast is also good ans behavior of caretaker was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
3 Thank Pravin Kumar D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

want to travel time to colonial india? then, SHILLONG CAFE B&B is your place.a beautiful old building, carefully restaurated and tastefully decorated, with a little veranda and a front garden. we used to have english breakfast there, carefully prepared by the polite service ready to fullfill your wishes. centre of town is close (you can even walk in 20 minutes there), but you are in a quiet area with many mansions. and when you come back from a visit to bustling bazaars (the old one is unique and worth a trip to shillong) or an excursion of say the holy forest, your comfortable bed with a hot-water bottle is waiting for you...

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wolfgangmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, India
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Why stay in a hotel when B&B's like this exist?. It has interesting individual rooms, lovely big beds & extremely clean. It is an old house converted into a B&B thereby preserving the old look & feel majestically. Helpful staff as well. Deserves it's high ranking. I would recommend people to stay here for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Praths-BLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agincourt
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

A beautiful guesthouse in a traditional home with all the amenities for a great stay in Shillong. When in the room, you might think you were staying at a five star hotel: comfortable beds, spotless bathrooms, huge television, a wooden desk to work, a seating area, heaters for the Shillong nights, etc. I had a room that opened out on to the terrace where I sat in the mornings looking out on the cathedral and ate my breakfast. It's also a great place for the business traveller (if you are sick of sterile hotels and prefer a warmer environment that makes you feel at home) as there are quiet places to work with wifi, both in the rooms and on the terrace (and you are only a short distance away from everything). The benefit of having a private entrance means that you can come and go as you please at all hours. The staff was the best part of the guesthouse though: extremely helpful with everything and they served up a great breakfast every morning. All in all, highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siliguri, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Everything is so thoughtfully hand-picked and comfortable that u would think of revisiting the place even before u leave. Only one thing I can say...U'll have to be there and feel the ambiance and everything else including the hospitality of the splendid in-house hosts to know how warm it can be staying in Shillong. It almost feels like home.....utmostly relaxing.....so relaxing that I took up pencil and paper in the morning and after so many odd years started drawing the front elevation of the property....unbelievable...be there !

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KalyanKhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shillong hotels
0.7 mi away
Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle
0.6 mi away
Hotel Centre Point
Hotel Centre Point
#3 of 20 in Shillong
275 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Polo Towers
Hotel Polo Towers
#4 of 20 in Shillong
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Eee Cee Hotel
The Eee Cee Hotel
#6 of 20 in Shillong
143 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Poinisuk
Hotel Poinisuk
#10 of 20 in Shillong
55 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Holiday Inn
Best Holiday Inn
#11 of 20 in Shillong
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cafe Shillong Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cafe Shillong Bed & Breakfast

Property: Cafe Shillong Bed & Breakfast
Address: 31 Upper Lachumiere, Shillong 793001, India
Region: India > Meghalaya > East Khasi Hills District > Shillong
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Shillong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cafe Shillong Bed & Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cafe Shillong Bed & Breakfast provides a cosy and comfortable stay at this boutique well furnished 70+ years old bunglow in Shillong. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing