We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home”
Review of The Pear Tree

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pear Tree
Ranked #5 of 81 Shillong B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This place is one of the best places I stayed during my trip to India in 2014. Bora is readily accessible by phone/email and the booking and the directions to this place was a piece of cake. The room was spotless, nice interior design, free WiFi and everything you would expect in a 5 star hotel. Bora also helped me book the car at a very reasonable price for my trip to Cheerapunji and this is an asset. Bora's friend Ariff who the owner /driver of the car is just an amazing guy and took me to places off the map. Das the person who makes the morning breakfast was superb, it was as though I am eating at home. The food was superb, and homely. The other thing to mention is the loving dog Lee, he never trouble you but if you want some dogy love there is no one better.
I could of think of a better place to stay in Shillong. Mr Bora please don't change anything there.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hari A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2014

Serene yet right in the heart of the bustling hill city. There’s something warm about ‘Pear tree’..perhaps it’s the wonderful service of the staff..or the personal touch the owner Mr.Bora provides at all spectrum of your stay there. The brightness and cleanliness of the place is captivating ! Each room allows a idyllic view of the city and its sheer beauty.. The cozy nooks by the window or even the balcony.. are just perfect to snuggle up with a book and cup of coffee by taking in whiff of the beautiful site. What’s makes it seriously cool is the fact that this place is quite economically priced despite its state of the art quality. Sprinkle this with the private tour of Mr.Bora’s awesome paintings…and some ‘Shillong freshness’.. It sure is a rejuvenating home experience..

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Sanj8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We visited Shillong during this Christmas. The Pear Tree was a perfect choice. they provided us with much needed luxurious stay with great hospitality. their service is very good and available just when you need it. since they are not serving dinner or lunch as of now, they are more than happy to give you required information. do buy your dinner before retiring for the day. Away from the center of the town but also not far, its located in a quiet neighborhood. the rooms are well done, neat and clean, just as it looks in the website! the tariff is also not very high. i loved the church bell and Christmas carols while sipping hot coffee sitting in the balcony in the morning. overall, it was a pleasant experience and certainly recommendable.

Room Tip: i liked the room where we stayed with a balcony in the front of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jhilamrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

My husband and I stayed here couple of nights in November 2013 and enjoyed the stay very much. This is fairly a new place, a 10min driving distance to the bazar. It is well presented and well maintained; the room was very clean and sheets and toilet were very clean; even the shower curtain and the towels were very clean! BF was very good and was served in the balcony which we enjoyed very much
The owner was helpful. On the way in to the B&B it was dark and we needed some help with the directions to the place; the owner offered to drive to a near by landmark and direct us to the location. That was a very helpful.

It will be good to have a list of good restaurants and other attractions handy for the guests.

I will be happy to stay here when I visit Shillong next time and have no hesitation in recommending to others who are looking for a clean and quiet place to stay near the city.

Room Tip: Both types of rooms are good and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Indaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

This place is relatively new.. With a pretty decent sense of interiors, the pear tree is not over the top expensive and is right in town.. It's about 15-20 mins walk from the main shopping area and is conveniently located if you are looking for a decent meal or even if your looking to catch a cab.. The owner was kinda helpful in being able to organize cabs.. But as a owner, I believe he needs to get more familiar with the good places to visit in and around the area and also get a better knowledge of the right cab charges for tourists..

The weather was rather cool when we were there.. They have a heater in the room, but that helped a little.. It does a decent job while on, but while on, has a very bright light and that makes it difficult to sleep..

The toilets are very clean and well kept.. And yes, the house keeper does a good job at keeping the rooms clean..

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank AshwinGBenjamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My expectation before visiting Mehgalaya was just like visiting any other plc. But the extraordinary beauty of the place has really mesmerized me and touched my heart. On top of it staying at The Pear B&B, Shillong was incredible as the owner Mr Bora made sure that my stay in there was up to my expectations.
The Pear B&B, Shillong happens to be centrally located in the town among a calm and quiet neighborhood that is stone through away distance from Raj Bhawan, Don Bosco, Police Bazaar, Hydari Park and other landmarks of the town. The best part about the stay at The Pear was the hospitality of Mr Bora and his staff in ensuring my complete leisured stay.
The thing that really touched my soul was the weather and the ambience of the B&B, the interiors of the place are just like we have back in Kashmir…..reminded me of yester years of my stay in Kashmir. The place is aesthetically designed by Mr Bora and even the paintings that are laid in the entire property is worth watching as Mr Bora is himself a vivid artist and has made couple of painting himself.
I would like to take thank Mr Bora for making my stay comfortable and would love to recommend his property to all in my circle and whenever I visit Shillong again, The Pear is gonna be my destination to stay.
I wish you all the happiness in life Mr Bora and may God help you in achieving your dreams in life.

Room Tip: The families can stay in suites and the couples can stay in luxury rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank skaul69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

A lovely place with clean and well equipped rooms.Tariff is customer friendly and for a bed and breakfast i must admit you get a whole lot more for what you can ask.Another great thing about this place is that you do not have to park the cars on the road and its central location.A welcome addition to Shillong

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pradyot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shillong hotels
6.7 mi away
Ri Kynjai
Ri Kynjai
#1 of 20 in Shillong
488 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle
1.0 mi away
Hotel Polo Towers
Hotel Polo Towers
#4 of 20 in Shillong
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Centre Point
Hotel Centre Point
#2 of 20 in Shillong
284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Holiday Inn
Best Holiday Inn
#12 of 20 in Shillong
13 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Eee Cee Hotel
The Eee Cee Hotel
#6 of 20 in Shillong
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pear Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pear Tree

Address: Lower Lachumiere | near Village Khadi Board, Shillong 793001, India
Region: India > Meghalaya > East Khasi Hills District > Shillong
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Shillong
Price Range: £42 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern and comfortable, yet peaceful stay in the heart of Shillong. Equipped with all modern amenities, we offer a home to you, away from your home. Stay with us and experience the grandeuer of the hospitality of the North East. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Pear Tree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing