We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Ambiance, Experience- They have got it all”
Review of Pinewood Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shillong
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pinewood Hotel
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Shillong
Pune, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Location, Ambiance, Experience- They have got it all”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I visited Shillong with my wife on our North East India Excursion. We visited Shillong in Jan 13. We booked this hotel online and the booking experience was really good.
Location -
The hotel is very well located in center of Shillong and bang opposite Wards Lake. Shillong market is wakeble distance and you do not need any taxi if you are staying in this hotel. There is nothing much do in Shillong but to relax and take leisurely walks in the parks and this beautiful small town.

Rooms - We stayed in a cottage and the room was BIG. The bath room was also very big and very clean. We visited in Jan, just the start of winter and the fireplace in the room was one hell lot of a fun. Every evening the staff will come and light the fire in fire place to make the room cosy & warm. We were given a choice to select our room without even asking for it whici was a pleasant surprise.

Staff & Front Desk-
Staff & Front Desk was really help full and pleasant.

Food-
The hotel has a very good restaurant and coffee shop. Food was good and testy. No area to complain here as well.

Overall -
It was a wonderful experience and I will definitely stay here during my next visit and strongly recommend it to all.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NDJoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    105
    41
    10
    7
See reviews for
53
35
13
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I have been to Shillong for so many times and it has been a favourite place for me .

This time i choose this hotel and my experience was good . The reception , restaurant , coffee shop , rooms all bear the old world charm . There are fire- places in the spacious rooms which the hotel staff told me is operational in the winter !!! Heritage charm !!

There is a lot of open space inside the property including lawns . There is a gym but the equipments need to be maintained and in good working condition .

The food is quite tasteful and served on time .The service staff was courteous .

I had an overall good experience this time with this property .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pritt4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This property dates back to the times of the British Raj, when Britishers working in the tea gardens of Assam & other sectors in the north-east used to come to Shillong for holidaying & used to stay here in this very hotel; & even now, going into this hotel will make one feel like going back in time, with every aspect of old world charm, the walls with pine wood panels, the reception & dining areas with colonial type ambiance. The food was awesome & inexpensive. Our room was a little far from the reception area, but was spacious, with fireplace & clean bathroom. But the best part was the location of this property, next to the Ward's lake & park, full of greenery & very serene. Would definitely recommend this place to anyone who visits Shillong.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManoharTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

A really good hotel with upgraded facilities. Age old British Era reminder worth every penny. Really nice rooms with modern and upgraded facilities. Food is very good. Enter the Hotel and you are in diffrent world.

Room Tip: Book in Advance to avoid disappointment
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Him C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ajay_hapi
Level Contributor
78 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

perfect hotel for people who miss the charm of old world..... though hotel building is perfect blend of old architecture and modern facilities.....rooms are spacious, bathrooms need little improvement... food is delicious...service is quiet great... location is great as it is situated quiet near to the lake....overall enjoyed my stay here....

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajay_hapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

This is one of those old British Raj era homes converted to a Hotel complex.

The rooms in the main wing are decent - more modern and perhaps more popular for 1 or 2 people.

The 'suites' which are set away from the main hotel leave a lot to be desired. Old creaky floors; bare carpets, damp and dark.

Unfortunately we had one of these suites and a bad experience because of that.

The in house restaurant is pretty decent inn terms of choice of food.
However, the waiting staff seem to treat the guests without warmth and as if they are doing the guests a favor by serving!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

This is one of the older Hotel in Shillong and still maintains old world charm.The hotel is equipped with all the modern facilities like flat sceen TV ,free wifi but still has traditional flavour to it.It has big spacious rooms and it is closer to the market and lake.The service is good and they even manage to provide me dinner even after the kitchen was closed.I will certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms located on the front of the hotel are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shrutiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shillong hotels
1.2 mi away
Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle
0.5 mi away
Hotel Centre Point
Hotel Centre Point
#2 of 20 in Shillong
272 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Polo Towers
Hotel Polo Towers
#5 of 20 in Shillong
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Eee Cee Hotel
The Eee Cee Hotel
#6 of 20 in Shillong
142 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Poinisuk
Hotel Poinisuk
#10 of 20 in Shillong
53 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Holiday Inn
Best Holiday Inn
#11 of 20 in Shillong
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinewood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinewood Hotel

Property: Pinewood Hotel
Address: Rita Road | European Ward, Shillong 793001, India
Region: India > Meghalaya > East Khasi Hills District > Shillong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Shillong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Pinewood Hotel Shillong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing