We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lot more desired”
Review of Hotel Polo Towers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Polo Towers
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Shillong
Reviewed 23 August 2008

went to shillong for official work and stayed in the hotel for 1 day.
The remote of the TV was not there in the room and when they provided one it was not working.
The food is not bad but less than expectation of a 4 star hotel. The breakfast had limited choices.
Room service was not good. The dishes in which we ate last night was still there when we checked out around 1.00 pm

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank biswarup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dtib, Front Office Manager at Hotel Polo Towers, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2008

Dear Sir,

We thank you so much for recommending our hotels location amongst the lush Polo Grounds.

We are very apologetic that the TV did not function properly when you were there with us. You would be happy to know that we are now replacing our televisions with High Definition 32" LCD televisions. As such, we are confident that you will not face such problems again.

After your feedback, our chef has increased the breakfast buffet spread considerably, adding, among other things, many cereal options, varieties of breads and others.

We have also initiated a process overhaul of our room service and hope to have it effective by the end of October this year.

We thank you very much for your constructive criticism and look forward to welcoming you to Shillong again. We are confident that you will enjoy our new features.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

266 - 268 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2008

I recently stayed in this Hotel as it claimed to be a four star hotel on the web site.Well it was a very disappointing experience with the rooms smelling ---finally could find a room with no smelly carpets. The linen was stained and dirty and had to ask for a change. The food too was bad ---- Thick Rotis and apparently stale chicken. Some of the staff , specially at the reception appeared rather arrogant. The restaurant and bar in the basement were again stuffy and smelly. My verdict --- an avoidable place. I think Shillong has better and more airy places to settle for a night.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freelancermsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dtib, Front Office Manager at Hotel Polo Towers, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2008

Dear Sir/Madam.

Greetings from Shillong,

At the outset, we would like to thank you for staying at Hotel Polo Towers,Shillongs only 4 Star hotel.

We are extremely sorry to note that you did not have a great experience at our hotel. We pride ourselves on "the Polo Towers Experience" and as such are very concerned when we see that a guest is not satisfied.

As you have correctly mentioned, we are Shillong`s Only 4 Star hotel as certified by the Government of India, Department of Tourism. We think that it is pertinent to inform you that no other hotel in Shillong is classified, as such, we are not just the only 4 Star Hotel in Shillong but are also the only classified hotel in Shillong at this time.

We are deeply apologetic for the unacceptable condition of the carpet and linen and you would be pleased to know that we have replaced carpets in most of our rooms with elegant modern wood flooring.

We are in the process of investigating which member of staff was on duty during your stay, and you can rest assured that they will be dealt with strictly.

We once again apologise for the various shortcomings and are confident that we will not disappoint you on your next visit to Hotel Polo Towers,Shillong.

In order to make sure that you have yet another reason to come to Shillong, we would be pleased to offer you a free stay for 2 at our luxurious, contemporary Boutique Rooms.

Please contact me at nkmohanty@hotelpolotowers.com for any further queries.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Елена П
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shillong hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Centre Point
Hotel Centre Point
#2 of 20 in Shillong
284 reviews
1.5 mi away
Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle
5.8 mi away
Ri Kynjai
Ri Kynjai
#1 of 20 in Shillong
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Poinisuk
Hotel Poinisuk
#8 of 20 in Shillong
77 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Holiday Inn
Best Holiday Inn
#12 of 20 in Shillong
13 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alpine Continental
Hotel Alpine Continental
#7 of 20 in Shillong
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Polo Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Polo Towers

Address: Polo Grounds, Shillong 793001, India
Region: India > Meghalaya > East Khasi Hills District > Shillong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Shillong
Price Range: £66 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Polo Towers 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truly, a Shillong icon, this hotel is conveniently located on the Oakland road in the centre of Shillong, Hotel Polo Towers, Shillong provides easy access to both tourist and business spots. The best hotel in Shillong offers a large variety of flexible conference and event space. Our Polo Room exclusive venue space is ideal for intimate parties and enchanting celebrations. Enlist our staff to help plan your next event. Feel welcomed with our signature Shillong Hospitality, enjoy a convenient location, close to Shillong's famous golf course, the acclaimed Don Bosco Museum and other Shillong Must Do's. Feel at home in your guest room with our MaxRest beds and stay connected with WiFi. Upgrade to our Presidential Suite to make life even 'Suiter' ! Discover a range of dining options at the hotel. Dine at our specialty restaurant Shillong - Milano, serving Sicilian inspired cuisine. CupCake Factory offers comfort food such as lovely cupcakes, muffins and gourmet coffee in Shillong. Sample a range of drinks and delicious tapas at Polo Irish Pub, Shillong's best Pub and Bar. Work out in our well-equipped Health Studio or eat healthy at Sky Grill - our spectacular terrace barbeque. Visit the famous Living Rooth Bridge at Cherrapunjee from the best Resort in Cherrapunjee - Polo Orhcid Resort. Local attractions such as Wards Lake, Elephant Falls and and Shillong Peak are just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Polo Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing