We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located, good service”
Review of Hotel Centre Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Centre Point
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Shillong
Delhi, Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Centrally located, good service”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Hotel Centre Point, on account of its great location, is a good option to stay for tourists visiting Shillong. It is located amidst the hustle and bustle of one of the main markets of the crowded Shillong. Hence places to see, places to eat, places to shop are all nearby the hotel.

The Hotel itself is nice with neat and tidy,well furnished rooms. Staff is nice and helpful. The hotel itself has two really good restaurants and the food there is pretty good.

However, one of the main drawbacks of the hotel was the fact that due to being centrally located, there's always a lot of noise coming from the street in youm room.

Overall, it was a good experience and recommended for tourists.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinamr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCentrePoint, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Centre Point, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Centre Point!

Hotel Centre Point is the most easily accessible hotel in town and is located in the heart of the city in the main market which provides accessibility to all the requirements of a traveller.

Each day our staff are trained on the upkeep of the rooms and the property and the food at our restaurants, La Galerie and Skye Asia, has been designed tastefully to cater and live up to the satisfaction of each and every guest.

The traffic however is a big problem as we are located in the heart of the city but the noise does lessen down towards the evening.

Thank you for your wonderful comments and we look forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards
Waniarisa Nongbri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    141
    55
    11
    13
See reviews for
95
56
20
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
India
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

A good hotel with ample parking space in hill area. The hotel has increased the number of rooms now and the new rooms were very cozy and comfortably spaced. Reception was very nice and gave rebate after little negotiation too. Huge glass widows give lot of sunshine and wonderful view the city. Room service and response to call was excellent. The amenities were very good with continues hot water, basic toiletries and tea/coffee maker were new and clean. The service was excellent, with quick response times. Very neat clean and calm place. Excellent complementary breakfast with variety of dishes. Best located dinning hall. Upholstery is good and this place is more than the value for money we paid. I will again love to stay in this place as they have facility of on line booking also.

Room Tip: Newly built portion is much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Surinder47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCentrePoint, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Centre Point, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Centre Point and it was a pleasure to serve you during your time in Shillong.

Thank you for the wonderful review on Trip Advisor and we are so happy to have exceeded your expectations! It is great to know that you enjoyed your stay here at Hotel Centre Point. We appreciate your comments and we hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards
Waniarisa Nongbri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

During our Winter tour of Eastern India, my wife and I decided, on the spur of the moment, to welcome the new year in Shillong. We chose Centre Point because of its location in the heart of the city.

The room was of reasonable size, with big plate glass windows that ensured warmth. The amenities were reasonable, with timed hot water, basic toiletries and tea/coffee maker.

The service was excellent, with quick response times. The quality of food was good, as was the quantity.

The best point was the location that enabled us to go for a walk after midnight around the main market circle.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monujesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCentrePoint, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Centre Point, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Centre Point!

Thank you very much for your kind review and for choosing Hotel Centre Point as your preferred hotel in Shillong.

We are happy to know your appreciation about the hotel services and the staff. Your very kind description about our service will certainly motivate our team to work even more hard in our quest to provide every single guest with the most personalized experience possible.

The team at Hotel Centre Point, Shillong hope to have the opportunity to be of service to you in the near future.


Warm Regards,
Waniarisa Nongbri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vadodara, India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

A good hotel in very good location right in the middle of police bazaar , we stayed there for 2 days , the rooms was good , the staff was courteous and so was the Chinese food , though there is a lot of scope of improvement in Indian cuisine we enjoyed our stay , i guess that is the best hotel in that area , but we were disappointed with one thing as hotel dint offer anything for entertaining their guests on new years eve, they had organised a party but for room guests also the charges were as good as outsider , it would have been nice if hotel could have managed to entertain their guests on such a big day . the rest everything was good and yes very limited menu for vegetarians

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Astha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCentrePoint, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Centre Point, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Centre Point and thank you for your comments!

Hotel Centre Point, as the name suggests, is located in the heart of the city and we strive to provide the best of services to our guests.

We are glad to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and also enjoyed the Chinese cuisine. However, our F&B team is in the process of improving the Indian section and adding more vegetarian items to the menu.

Like every year, this year also we will be organising a party to usher in the new year and we will keep in mind to try and accommodate our room guests in our lounge bar for the party.

We thank you once for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Warm Regards,
Waniarisa Nongbri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

A great central hotel in the Police Bazaar area. I had a very large room which was well equipped but could have done with better storage facilities. For example, a proper full length wardrobe and drawer space. One has to adapt in this type of situation so I lived out of the suitcase for 7 days.

There is an excellent restaurant at the hotel called La Gallerie which is open all day up to 10 pm (last orders) and serves a mixture of Chinese type food, Indian and Continental. All the evening meals I had were excellent in terms of quality and presentation and if anything were too large in portion size! The breakfast was buffet with a reasonable choice. The items which were supposed to be hot were not so and this did let them down.

There is also a bar called Cloud 9 at the top of the hotel with great views over the Khasi Hills.

All the staff are professional and the hotel is very well run. There is wifi in the lobby area only.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Igirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCentrePoint, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Centre Point, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Centre Point, Shillong and thank you so much for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor!

We have taken your comments into consideration and the maintenance department is working out strategies to provide more storage space in the rooms so that guests have a feeling of a home even though staying in a hotel.

We are happy to know about your experience in La Galerie restaurant and in Cloud 9. Regarding the breakfast, we are going through a phase of improvement bringing in more varieties to the suit the liking and taste of guest.

Wi-fi connectivity is available in the lobby as well in all the rooms, but at times the connectivity tends to be slow in the rooms. However, our IT department is keeping a thorough check on it so that guests do not face any sort of inconvenience.

Once again thankyou for your review and we look forward to seeing you again.

Warm Regards,
Waniarisa Nongbri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

Visited last week @Shillong nd stay at the wonderful hotel CENTRE POINT....good hospitality and warm behavioural staff impressed us to visit again.........Meghalaya.
It's located at the heart of city and have wonderful access of all kind of transportation.

But unfortunately laundry service is too poor.....not even careing abt guests garments. However rest r fine for family/business travel.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandyb8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCentrePoint, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Centre Point, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Centre Point!

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and thank you for your review.

We regret to hear about the poor laundry service from our side as according to our investigation, we believe that there might have been a miscommunication. However, we have improved our laundry services and we will make sure that you have a seamless stay with us on your next visit.

Warm Regards,
Waniarisa Nongbri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I am sharing this experience which really made an everlasting impression on me regarding the professional attitude of the staff of Hotel Center Point Shillong.
I had booked one room over phone for 9th Dec 2013 and was visiting Shillong for a business meeting . On 9th morning after reaching Guwahati from Kolkata, i was travelling from Guwahati to Shillong on a cab while i was contacted by the staff of Hotel Center Point and they informed me that there has been an unexpeceted development and there is a Bandh / Agitation called for 36Hours starting next day morning 5AM and no vehicle will ply for next 2 days. They urged me to cancel the visit and return back . Since i was travelling , the voice over the cell phone was not coming clear and i was not getting a clear picture . Thrice they called me and then send a SMS to ensure that i get the message. Halfway through at Nangpo my Cab driver also confirmed the news and then he arranged for me to get back from that point back to Guwahati .
I am really overwhelmed by the gesture of all the Hotel staff who were taking so much pain to inform their guests and were concerned about our safety .

Although this is not a experience about my stay at this hotel but thier working culture needs to be applauded and i am sure i will again visit Shillong and stay with them..

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SM0207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCentrePoint, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Centre Point, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Centre Point!

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments and we appreciate you taking out time to write a review on us.

It was our duty and responsibility that we have been following to inform our guest for such unexpected developments so that our guests do not face any inconvenience on reaching their destination.

Once again we thank you and look forward to your visit to Shillong and your stay in Hotel Centre Point.

Warm Regards,
Waniarisa Nongbri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shillong hotels
1.3 mi away
Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle
0.4 mi away
Hotel Polo Towers
Hotel Polo Towers
#4 of 20 in Shillong
257 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Eee Cee Hotel
The Eee Cee Hotel
#6 of 20 in Shillong
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Holiday Inn
Best Holiday Inn
#11 of 20 in Shillong
13 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Poinisuk
Hotel Poinisuk
#10 of 20 in Shillong
55 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpine Continental
Hotel Alpine Continental
#7 of 20 in Shillong
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Centre Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Centre Point

Property: Hotel Centre Point
Address: Police Bazaar | Khyndailad, Shillong 793001, India
Region: India > Meghalaya > East Khasi Hills District > Shillong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Shillong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Centre Point 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Heart of the City.Well Designed rooms both Traditional Pine wood interiors and modern interiors. Cozy and comfortable. Has been a favourite for a long time now. Can boast of the best reataurants in the city serving a variety from indian Chinese to pan asian cuisines.Also has the Night club lounge which started the night life of Northeast. Djs and bands from all over the country as well as the world have performed here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Centre Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing