We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better”
Review of Hotel Centre Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Centre Point
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Shillong
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Hotel Centre Points main advantage is that it is situation right on Police Bazaar area, so you can access this area very easily. Rooms are ok, could have been better. It has a good lounge on top floor which offers good view of Police Point.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCKVCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

I stayed with a choir group touring the Khasi Hills, and Hotel Centre Point, along with its staff, became like family to many of us. Yes, it's located at the very center of Shillong, putting you within easy walking distance of the Police Bazaar, Ward's Lake, and excellent restaurants. And, as noted by other reviewers, the price of that proximity is the sound of city traffic below you in many rooms. They graciously accommodated many needs of our group, including rehearsal space, late arrivals, etc. I found the breakfasts delicious. Once or twice my husband and I had to ask for more than one towel, and sometimes the staff showed a lack of knowledge of our 26-person group's schedule. There is no staff elevator, so when our group was trying to check out and the elevator would not move, I went down to discover the staff moving large plants. Also, on our first night we were told that the nightclub on the 4th floor would have no activity, but we heard it from about 10:00 on. My husband went up to ask them to turn the music down, which they did. Later the front desk told us we should have asked them, but that seemed a bit of a disconnect to me.
Still, take the time to get to know these folks, though, and you couldn't ask for more gracious hosts in Shillong, India.

Room Tip: Room 312 has a little alcove for one of the two twin beds. It buffers the sound from the traffic a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveToTravelGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Hotel Centre Point, on account of its great location, is a good option to stay for tourists visiting Shillong. It is located amidst the hustle and bustle of one of the main markets of the crowded Shillong. Hence places to see, places to eat, places to shop are all nearby the hotel.

The Hotel itself is nice with neat and tidy,well furnished rooms. Staff is nice and helpful. The hotel itself has two really good restaurants and the food there is pretty good.

However, one of the main drawbacks of the hotel was the fact that due to being centrally located, there's always a lot of noise coming from the street in youm room.

Overall, it was a good experience and recommended for tourists.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vinamr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCentrePoint, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Centre Point, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Centre Point!

Hotel Centre Point is the most easily accessible hotel in town and is located in the heart of the city in the main market which provides accessibility to all the requirements of a traveller.

Each day our staff are trained on the upkeep of the rooms and the property and the food at our restaurants, La Galerie and Skye Asia, has been designed tastefully to cater and live up to the satisfaction of each and every guest.

The traffic however is a big problem as we are located in the heart of the city but the noise does lessen down towards the evening.

Thank you for your wonderful comments and we look forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards
Waniarisa Nongbri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

A good hotel with ample parking space in hill area. The hotel has increased the number of rooms now and the new rooms were very cozy and comfortably spaced. Reception was very nice and gave rebate after little negotiation too. Huge glass widows give lot of sunshine and wonderful view the city. Room service and response to call was excellent. The amenities were very good with continues hot water, basic toiletries and tea/coffee maker were new and clean. The service was excellent, with quick response times. Very neat clean and calm place. Excellent complementary breakfast with variety of dishes. Best located dinning hall. Upholstery is good and this place is more than the value for money we paid. I will again love to stay in this place as they have facility of on line booking also.

Room Tip: Newly built portion is much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Surinder S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCentrePoint, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Centre Point, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Centre Point and it was a pleasure to serve you during your time in Shillong.

Thank you for the wonderful review on Trip Advisor and we are so happy to have exceeded your expectations! It is great to know that you enjoyed your stay here at Hotel Centre Point. We appreciate your comments and we hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards
Waniarisa Nongbri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

During our Winter tour of Eastern India, my wife and I decided, on the spur of the moment, to welcome the new year in Shillong. We chose Centre Point because of its location in the heart of the city.

The room was of reasonable size, with big plate glass windows that ensured warmth. The amenities were reasonable, with timed hot water, basic toiletries and tea/coffee maker.

The service was excellent, with quick response times. The quality of food was good, as was the quantity.

The best point was the location that enabled us to go for a walk after midnight around the main market circle.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Monujesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCentrePoint, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Centre Point, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Centre Point!

Thank you very much for your kind review and for choosing Hotel Centre Point as your preferred hotel in Shillong.

We are happy to know your appreciation about the hotel services and the staff. Your very kind description about our service will certainly motivate our team to work even more hard in our quest to provide every single guest with the most personalized experience possible.

The team at Hotel Centre Point, Shillong hope to have the opportunity to be of service to you in the near future.


Warm Regards,
Waniarisa Nongbri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

A good hotel in very good location right in the middle of police bazaar , we stayed there for 2 days , the rooms was good , the staff was courteous and so was the Chinese food , though there is a lot of scope of improvement in Indian cuisine we enjoyed our stay , i guess that is the best hotel in that area , but we were disappointed with one thing as hotel dint offer anything for entertaining their guests on new years eve, they had organised a party but for room guests also the charges were as good as outsider , it would have been nice if hotel could have managed to entertain their guests on such a big day . the rest everything was good and yes very limited menu for vegetarians

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Astha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCentrePoint, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Centre Point, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Centre Point and thank you for your comments!

Hotel Centre Point, as the name suggests, is located in the heart of the city and we strive to provide the best of services to our guests.

We are glad to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and also enjoyed the Chinese cuisine. However, our F&B team is in the process of improving the Indian section and adding more vegetarian items to the menu.

Like every year, this year also we will be organising a party to usher in the new year and we will keep in mind to try and accommodate our room guests in our lounge bar for the party.

We thank you once for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Warm Regards,
Waniarisa Nongbri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

A great central hotel in the Police Bazaar area. I had a very large room which was well equipped but could have done with better storage facilities. For example, a proper full length wardrobe and drawer space. One has to adapt in this type of situation so I lived out of the suitcase for 7 days.

There is an excellent restaurant at the hotel called La Gallerie which is open all day up to 10 pm (last orders) and serves a mixture of Chinese type food, Indian and Continental. All the evening meals I had were excellent in terms of quality and presentation and if anything were too large in portion size! The breakfast was buffet with a reasonable choice. The items which were supposed to be hot were not so and this did let them down.

There is also a bar called Cloud 9 at the top of the hotel with great views over the Khasi Hills.

All the staff are professional and the hotel is very well run. There is wifi in the lobby area only.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Igirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCentrePoint, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Centre Point, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Centre Point, Shillong and thank you so much for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor!

We have taken your comments into consideration and the maintenance department is working out strategies to provide more storage space in the rooms so that guests have a feeling of a home even though staying in a hotel.

We are happy to know about your experience in La Galerie restaurant and in Cloud 9. Regarding the breakfast, we are going through a phase of improvement bringing in more varieties to the suit the liking and taste of guest.

Wi-fi connectivity is available in the lobby as well in all the rooms, but at times the connectivity tends to be slow in the rooms. However, our IT department is keeping a thorough check on it so that guests do not face any sort of inconvenience.

Once again thankyou for your review and we look forward to seeing you again.

Warm Regards,
Waniarisa Nongbri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shillong hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Polo Towers
Hotel Polo Towers
#2 of 24 in Shillong
293 reviews
6.1 mi away
Ri Kynjai
Ri Kynjai
#1 of 24 in Shillong
516 reviews
1.3 mi away
Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Poinisuk
Hotel Poinisuk
#8 of 24 in Shillong
87 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Holiday Inn
Best Holiday Inn
#13 of 24 in Shillong
18 reviews
0.9 mi away
OYO 2402 Hotel HighWinds
OYO 2402 Hotel HighWinds
#12 of 24 in Shillong
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Centre Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Centre Point

Address: Police Bazaar | Khyndailad, Shillong 793001, India
Region: India > Meghalaya > East Khasi Hills District > Shillong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Shillong
Price Range: £63 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Centre Point 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Heart of the City.Well Designed rooms both Traditional Pine wood interiors and modern interiors. Cozy and comfortable. Has been a favourite for a long time now. Can boast of the best reataurants in the city serving a variety from indian Chinese to pan asian cuisines.Also has the Night club lounge which started the night life of Northeast. Djs and bands from all over the country as well as the world have performed here. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing