We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Shillong
Mumbai
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice”
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Excellent Heritage hotel. The old quaint rooms, comfortable, breakfast was good, so was the bar and the food. Seems to be the perfect place to stay in Shillong. Was there for one night only , though would have loved to stay longer. Shall return for a holiday one day with the family.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NimeshMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TripuraCastle, General Manager at Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review!

Away from the relative concern of traffic and crowds, Royal Heritage Tripura Castle has been designed and set amidst enchanting groves of majestic pine and overlooks parts of the city. An air of regal elegance coupled with an old world charm reflects the ambience of the Hotel.

We are delighted and glad to know about your experience and we look forward to your visit with your family in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Debajit Roy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    85
    37
    9
    10
See reviews for
82
40
6
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
India
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Stayed here in Jan 2013 with a friend.

The hotel is in a quiet part of town, about a INR150 cab ride from Police Bazaar. It's up at the top of a hill, so walking up from the main road may be tough.

The room was decent sized, but a little dark. They did provide a nice flat screen TV, in case you like that. The beds were about as comfortable as can be in the North East (so not very good), and had several blankets given that we were there in winter. The main issue I had with the room was the lack of adequate heating...just 1 small space heater, which didn't seem to work very well. We got this replaced with a newer model on the second night but it was only marginally warmer in the room. We ended up sleeping in about 3 layers of clothes on average. I wonder why they can't upgrade the heaters if the TVs have been upgraded...

The water heater in the bathroom didn't seem to work very well either and the water pressure was low (all across the North East), so this made for a very cold 2 days at the hotel. The shower was in a separate "wet area" except that the water drained out into the dry area of the bathroom...which seemed very strange to me. Shouldn't the shower have its own drain?

The restaurant was empty most of the time we were there but the food was very good. We discovered the bar on the 2nd night and that was cozy as well, but also cold. The service was top notch thru out the stay...although only the front desk people understand English well enough.

There is a nice restaurant called Cafe Shillong just down the street, which is run by the same group...we ate there one night and it was good as well...and a bit more hip/happening. It was expensive though....generally booze was very expensive in Shillong.

Overall, it wasn't too bad...more like a 2.5 stars. One can't expect too much in the North East, although Shillong seems to be growing up quick.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TooshMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TripuraCastle, General Manager at Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are at the Heritage have taken note of your observations and we are working on the improvements with immediate effect.

It does get very cold in Shillong and in particular at the Heritage, as the property is located on the base of the Shillong Peak range and is surrounded by a reserve forest behind. This aspect makes the Heritage a pleasant place to be in during the other seasons. We are working on upgrading our heating systems in the hotel and am confident that guests will be more than comfortable coming winter next year ( The bar that you have mentioned will have a fire place installed ).

We are glad that spring season is slowly setting in here at the moment and the cold winter is now behind us. This gives us ample time to prepare for the next winter for which I assure you will be a comfortable and a cozy one for our guests.

Debojit Roy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

It is a wonderful resort with some exquisite pieces of period furniture. Rooms are large and well appointed. Service is first grade and enjoyed the food . I strongly recommend this resort to those visiting Shillong.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Presidential suite. A large and comfortable room. Can improve the quality of shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank 57Kg26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TripuraCastle, Manager at Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
"Greeting from Royal Heritage - Tripura Castle "

Thank you so much for posting such an incredible comments in Trip Advisor.

We are extremely glad to hear that u had such a wonderful stay in Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle. Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle reflect the regality of a royal home, captivating architecture combined with modern convenience and luxury.

Also, to add to the surrounding, we have a very friendly staff catering each guest above his expectation.

We thank you once again for choosing Royal Heritage Tripura Castle for your stay and looking ahead to serve you with much improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

The name suggests it is an old heritage hotel which it is not and this is probably why there is so much variation in how people have rated this place. If you want luxury and a heritage feel then this isn’t for you. If you want to be near the town this isn’t for you. But if you want a place to hang out away from the crowds and have access to different areas (your room, the veranda, the bar and the billiards room then this could work. The rooms are adequate and clean.

I stayed here for a week. It is not a place to stay if you need to work in your room as the lights are quiet dim for reading and my room had no desk. There are however tables and chairs on the veranda where you can sit or upstairs in the bar area. Though these areas can be noisy if other guests are using them.

There is hot water in the bathroom and the rooms are adequate, though they can be noisy if there is a door between rooms as mine had. The internet is intermittent, extremely slow and sometimes not available. This could have been due to the rain.

The staff were very friendly and the food was ok, though, there were very few vegetables and the chicken fried rice had me digging through the rice looking for the chicken. The location is quiet away out of town which is good if you want time out from the crowds, but bad if you want to have a quick wander around.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smithcomyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Tripura Castle, This is my favorite hangout for lunch or dinner with family and friends. Earlier the service was average.. but over the last three years...the service have improved a lot!!! Each year i come home and i make a point to visit this place, it's isolated and peaceful location adds to the mood of calm and pleasure...Add to this, the food will ring your taste buds for sure. on my last visit..which was just last month when i happened to be in Shillong with my friends, i was pretty happy with the service provided to us by their staff, order was taken promptly and food was served on time. As a customer, it's a very important thing for me, because if i pay for something i want to get full benefits out of it..and i was happy that i was satisfied with it. The bar is small, but i wouldn't mind, because it gives a felling of exclusiveness. Again, i was served well at the bar as well. I was pretty much happy with the services provided by the present Floor Manager, he took care of our needs properly, and it wasn't just us, he was catering to other people as well, and doing it properly.The staff to look after the guest are less, but they manage to carry out their duties very well. As for the guest houses, i don't know about them, but i had few friends who came along with me, and they stayed there itself, i heard no complaints from them, in fact they were happy, because the service provided to them were pretty good. It was only here from some people's comments, that i came to know of their experience, well i don't know about them but i never had a bad experience here...and neither did my friends. As for the price..it is expensive...but it all adds up to the ambiance and location along with the great food and services..i wouldn't mind to pay some extra money for the services i'm getting here. I always have a pleasure experience at Tripura Castle and i'm sure that next time around i'll be in Shillong, i'll visit Tripura Castle again, and i'm sure the service will get even better.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RahulGr24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nagpur, Maharashtra, India
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Hotel is remotely located.Entrance give a deserted look. It is highly overpriced. For staying in hotel,own vehicle is must. Otherwise it is not possible to go out. There are many dogs around the hotel which don't allow you to sleep in the night. They keep on barking in sync.Food quality is ok but service is bad.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hasanzaheer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agra, Uttar Pradesh, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

First impression is the last impression, Tripura Castle shoddy service, no knowledge of Hospitality, we booked ourselves for dinner at this place, we were told that the last order is taken at 09.30 pm , we walk in to the hotel at 09.15 pm and low and behold the restaurant was closed, the covers had been lifted , the final light was switched off in front of us, the gentleman at the managers desk did not even have the basic courtesy to look up and talk to a lady let alone stand up, please venture in this place solely at the risk of sleeping hungry ! ! ! When I asked for his business card he simply refused so I decided to take his picture which he ducked very professionally... pic attached

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sanjeevrattan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shillong
7.3 mi away
Ri Kynjai
Ri Kynjai
#1 of 20 in Shillong
479 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Centre Point
Hotel Centre Point
#3 of 20 in Shillong
276 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Polo Towers
Hotel Polo Towers
#4 of 20 in Shillong
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Eee Cee Hotel
The Eee Cee Hotel
#6 of 20 in Shillong
145 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Poinisuk
Hotel Poinisuk
#10 of 20 in Shillong
60 reviews
24.5 mi away
Polo Orchid Resort
Polo Orchid Resort
#2 of 2 in Cherrapunjee
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle

Property: Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle
Address: Tripura Castle Road | Cleve Colony, Shillong 793003, India
Region: India > Meghalaya > East Khasi Hills District > Shillong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Shillong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle Hotel Shillong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing