We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Shillong
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
    View Hotel
    Excellent 5/5
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    Hotel Poinisuk(Shillong)
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Mi Casa Hotel(Shillong)
    View Hotel
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    • Room Service
    View Hotel
    Sanctum(Shillong)
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Room Service
    Pinewood Hotel(Shillong)
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    Reviews (235)
    Filter reviews
    235 results
    Traveller rating
    75
    95
    41
    12
    12
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    75
    95
    41
    12
    12
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsnew wingatop a hillcontinental restaurantrabindranath tagorethe main blockprivate lawnsuperior roommaharaja suitethe main hotela hot water bottleold world charmcafe shillongcity hustle bustlepeaceful surroundingswooden floorsmodern amenitiesadjacent rooms
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    201 - 206 of 235 reviews
    Reviewed 19 April 2013

    Excellent Heritage hotel. The old quaint rooms, comfortable, breakfast was good, so was the bar and the food. Seems to be the perfect place to stay in Shillong. Was there for one night only , though would have loved to stay longer. Shall return for a holiday one day with the family.

    • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank NimeshMumbai
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    TripuraCastle, General Manager at Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

    Dear Guest,

    Thank you very much for your wonderful review!

    Away from the relative concern of traffic and crowds, Royal Heritage Tripura Castle has been designed and set amidst enchanting groves of majestic pine and overlooks parts of the city. An air of regal elegance coupled with an old world charm reflects the ambience of the Hotel.

    We are delighted and glad to know about your experience and we look forward to your visit with your family in the near future.

    Warm Regards,
    Debajit Roy

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 29 January 2013

    Stayed here in Jan 2013 with a friend.

    The hotel is in a quiet part of town, about a INR150 cab ride from Police Bazaar. It's up at the top of a hill, so walking up from the main road may be tough.

    The room was decent sized, but a little dark. They did provide a nice flat screen TV, in case you like that. The beds were about as comfortable as can be in the North East (so not very good), and had several blankets given that we were there in winter. The main issue I had with the room was the lack of adequate heating...just 1 small space heater, which didn't seem to work very well. We got this replaced with a newer model on the second night but it was only marginally warmer in the room. We ended up sleeping in about 3 layers of clothes on average. I wonder why they can't upgrade the heaters if the TVs have been upgraded...

    The water heater in the bathroom didn't seem to work very well either and the water pressure was low (all across the North East), so this made for a very cold 2 days at the hotel. The shower was in a separate "wet area" except that the water drained out into the dry area of the bathroom...which seemed very strange to me. Shouldn't the shower have its own drain?

    The restaurant was empty most of the time we were there but the food was very good. We discovered the bar on the 2nd night and that was cozy as well, but also cold. The service was top notch thru out the stay...although only the front desk people understand English well enough.

    There is a nice restaurant called Cafe Shillong just down the street, which is run by the same group...we ate there one night and it was good as well...and a bit more hip/happening. It was expensive though....generally booze was very expensive in Shillong.

    Overall, it wasn't too bad...more like a 2.5 stars. One can't expect too much in the North East, although Shillong seems to be growing up quick.

    • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank TooshMan
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    TripuraCastle, General Manager at Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2013

    Dear Guest,

    Thank you for your feedback. We are at the Heritage have taken note of your observations and we are working on the improvements with immediate effect.

    It does get very cold in Shillong and in particular at the Heritage, as the property is located on the base of the Shillong Peak range and is surrounded by a reserve forest behind. This aspect makes the Heritage a pleasant place to be in during the other seasons. We are working on upgrading our heating systems in the hotel and am confident that guests will be more than comfortable coming winter next year ( The bar that you have mentioned will have a fire place installed ).

    We are glad that spring season is slowly setting in here at the moment and the cold winter is now behind us. This gives us ample time to prepare for the next winter for which I assure you will be a comfortable and a cozy one for our guests.

    Debojit Roy

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 8 January 2013

    It is a wonderful resort with some exquisite pieces of period furniture. Rooms are large and well appointed. Service is first grade and enjoyed the food . I strongly recommend this resort to those visiting Shillong.

    Room Tip: I stayed in the Presidential suite. A large and comfortable room. Can improve the quality of shower.
    • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    2  Thank 57Kg26
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    TripuraCastle, Manager at Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

    "Greeting from Royal Heritage - Tripura Castle "

    Thank you so much for posting such an incredible comments in Trip Advisor.

    We are extremely glad to hear that u had such a wonderful stay in Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle. Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle reflect the regality of a royal home, captivating architecture combined with modern convenience and luxury.

    Also, to add to the surrounding, we have a very friendly staff catering each guest above his expectation.

    We thank you once again for choosing Royal Heritage Tripura Castle for your stay and looking ahead to serve you with much improvement.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 5 August 2012

    The name suggests it is an old heritage hotel which it is not and this is probably why there is so much variation in how people have rated this place. If you want luxury and a heritage feel then this isn’t for you. If you want to be near the town this isn’t for you. But if you want a place to hang out away from the crowds and have access to different areas (your room, the veranda, the bar and the billiards room then this could work. The rooms are adequate and clean.

    I stayed here for a week. It is not a place to stay if you need to work in your room as the lights are quiet dim for reading and my room had no desk. There are however tables and chairs on the veranda where you can sit or upstairs in the bar area. Though these areas can be noisy if other guests are using them.

    There is hot water in the bathroom and the rooms are adequate, though they can be noisy if there is a door between rooms as mine had. The internet is intermittent, extremely slow and sometimes not available. This could have been due to the rain.

    The staff were very friendly and the food was ok, though, there were very few vegetables and the chicken fried rice had me digging through the rice looking for the chicken. The location is quiet away out of town which is good if you want time out from the crowds, but bad if you want to have a quick wander around.

    • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank smithcomyn
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 27 July 2012

    Tripura Castle, This is my favorite hangout for lunch or dinner with family and friends. Earlier the service was average.. but over the last three years...the service have improved a lot!!! Each year i come home and i make a point to visit this place, it's isolated and peaceful location adds to the mood of calm and pleasure...Add to this, the food will ring your taste buds for sure. on my last visit..which was just last month when i happened to be in Shillong with my friends, i was pretty happy with the service provided to us by their staff, order was taken promptly and food was served on time. As a customer, it's a very important thing for me, because if i pay for something i want to get full benefits out of it..and i was happy that i was satisfied with it. The bar is small, but i wouldn't mind, because it gives a felling of exclusiveness. Again, i was served well at the bar as well. I was pretty much happy with the services provided by the present Floor Manager, he took care of our needs properly, and it wasn't just us, he was catering to other people as well, and doing it properly.The staff to look after the guest are less, but they manage to carry out their duties very well. As for the guest houses, i don't know about them, but i had few friends who came along with me, and they stayed there itself, i heard no complaints from them, in fact they were happy, because the service provided to them were pretty good. It was only here from some people's comments, that i came to know of their experience, well i don't know about them but i never had a bad experience here...and neither did my friends. As for the price..it is expensive...but it all adds up to the ambiance and location along with the great food and services..i wouldn't mind to pay some extra money for the services i'm getting here. I always have a pleasure experience at Tripura Castle and i'm sure that next time around i'll be in Shillong, i'll visit Tripura Castle again, and i'm sure the service will get even better.

    • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank RahulGr24
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews