We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Shillong
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I had stayed last year with my family , stayed in Superior room, cleanliness is out of the words ...staff was good , good food and atmosphere. The cafe which is 2 minutes from the hotel is also amazing..with good view around.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 178kumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TripuraCastle, General Manager at Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Royal Heritage Tripura Castle!!!

We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful experience with us.

Thank you once again for choosing Royal Heritage Tripura Castle and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards,
Debajit Roy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014

Hi we went with as a group of 10 (6 adults and 4 kids) and stayed for 4 nights in April 2014.
Rooms - Are nice with the castel view
Service - Excellent service & food
Food- It was mouth watering & very good
Highlight - Their coffee shop which is 5 min walk is located on a cliff & servers excellent coffee & food.
Its not here but every where in the North east India, they take 1hr to cook food as they make it fresh after your order ... so be patient.

Room Tip: Go for the Room with the garden then the view is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank udayvora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TripuraCastle, General Manager at Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Royal Heritage Tripura Castle!!!

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor!

Excellent service is what we strive for to make our guests experience a pleasant stay. Set amidst the relaxed grandeur at Royal Heritage Tripura Castle, is Café Shillong Heritage which offers excellent Pan-Asian, Mediterranean, Continental and North-Eastern specialities as well as a limited wine menu for connoisseurs. Indoor and outdoor dining options are available, set off by breathtaking views of the neighbouring hills and the city below.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again.

Warm Regards,
Debajit Roy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This is probably the best property at Shillong. It has two parts - one is the heritage wing at the top, while there are 4 rooms which are recent and at a lower height. I was staying at the new block, but probably the heritage block would be a better option. The recent block is outside the hotel premises and it is rather surprising how they can call it to be a part of same hotel. Though the rooms are large and fairly well furnished, but you are totally disconnected from the main block. The continental restaurant is in the new block and the food there was really the high of my stay there. They are sparsely staffed during mornings so plan your check outs and breakfast if you intend to leave early.

Room Tip: Could be better in heritage block
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnujkAgarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TripuraCastle, General Manager at Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Royal Heritage Tripura Castle!

It was a pleasure to have you stay at Royal Heritage Tripura Castle and we thank you very much for posting such a wonderful review on Trip Advisor.

With regards to the location we do have the Old and the Garden wing which is 2 Minutes away from the main premises. However we do have the Club car at your service. Your appreciation of our scrumptious food at the Café Shillong Heritage is very encouraging.

Our team looks forward to welcoming you back as and when you visit Shillong

Warm Regards,
Debajit Roy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Rooms are clean, linen fine, huge bathroom. Restaurant serves good food. Service also good. Not the best hotel for a romantic getaway but fine for families or business sleep over. Around the corner is a very good restaurant.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank lovetravel84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TripuraCastle, General Manager at Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Royal Heritage Tripura Castle!

Thank you for choosing to stay at Royal Heritage Tripura Castle and for sparing your valuable time to review us on Trip Advisor.

We are very happy to receive your feedback and to note that you had an enjoyable stay. The location of our hotel is indeed our big advantage. We are delighted to know that the staffs were friendly and helpful. It is these small details, which make the big difference to our property.

Our team look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully very soon.

Warm Regards,
Debajit Roy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed in their Garden Wing for a night in March'14 and the feel of the hotel is good. Its a heritage property. The service is slow. There was no electricity at night nor any backup which was a downside especially because the Garden Wing is situated a tad distance from the main Hotel. They have golf carts to ferry you which is conveniently available. Food is good and priced well. The rooms are pricey as its not a resort but only a small Hotel.

Room Tip: Garden wing is new and has spacious rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ankitfrenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TripuraCastle, General Manager at Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Royal Heritage Tripura Castle!

Thank you for choosing our Hotel as your holiday destination. We the staff of Royal Heritage Tripura Castle are extremely happy to have you as our guest. With regards to the electricity problem caused, we had backup but due to some technical fault, we could not provide it at the right time. We’re looking forward to seeing you again in the near future with much improved services and facilities.

Warm Regards,
Debajit Roy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Would recommend this hotel if you want a leisurely trip. It is a bit away from the city and hence cutoff from hustle and bustle of the city, the ambience is quite serene and peacefull.
It is a bit heavy on the pocket though but the housekeeping is exceptional.The rooms are very well done up - you would otherwise rarely find rooms with wooden furniture.
The fireplace in the rooms make it warm and refereshing in the winters.
Overall amongst the best hotels in Shillong.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms with Fireplace and wooden furnishings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Svaity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TripuraCastle, General Manager at Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Royal Heritage Tripura Castle!

We are very grateful for your wonderful reviews on our hotel. Royal Heritage Tripura Castle has the distinction of being the first Heritage Hotel in North East India and we try our best in maintaining the standards for the comfort of our guests.

Thank you once again for choosing Royal Heritage Tripura Castle.

Warm Regards,
Debajit Roy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stay here for two nights during Sept 13 . Check in was quick , warm welcome by hotel staff . Rooms we're clean and spacious with large bathroom. Approach road to this hotel was very beautiful and view from hotel was great. Food served was tasty but a bit costly. Real gem was its cafe called Cafe Shillong Heritage. Although no room service from the cafe but no problem . We reached the cafe by golf cart which was there for this purpose only. The food here was just great and we enjoyed every bit of it. Staff here was very courteous willing to here my our suggestion about a recipe . It certainly have got repeat value so we went again next evening for dinner and pleasantly surprised that they followed our suggestion . All in all we had a nice stay.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank nirajjain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TripuraCastle, General Manager at Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Royal Heritage Tripura Castle!

We the staff of Royal Heritage Tripura Castle are extremely glad to know that you had a good time at our property. The hotel is located quite away from the hustle bustle of the main city and is much close to nature. At Royal Heritage Tripura Castle, we strive to make sure and provide each guest the service which makes their stay a pleasant and memorable one.

Thank you and looking forward of seeing you again.

Warm Regards,
Debajit Roy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shillong
7.3 mi away
Ri Kynjai
Ri Kynjai
#1 of 21 in Shillong
500 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Polo Towers
Hotel Polo Towers
#3 of 21 in Shillong
277 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Centre Point
Hotel Centre Point
#4 of 21 in Shillong
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Holiday Inn
Best Holiday Inn
#12 of 21 in Shillong
16 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Eee Cee Hotel
The Eee Cee Hotel
#7 of 21 in Shillong
152 reviews
24.5 mi away
Polo Orchid Resort
Polo Orchid Resort
#2 of 2 in Cherrapunjee
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle

Address: Tripura Castle Road | Cleve Colony, Shillong 793003, India
Region: India > Meghalaya > East Khasi Hills District > Shillong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Shillong
Price Range: £65 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle Hotel Shillong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing