We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive disaster!”
Review of Ri Kynjai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ri Kynjai
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Shillong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2007

Someone once said that a hotel is not the building or the location but the people who staff it. He was so right!
Ri Kynjai is a wonderful building on the side of Lake Umniuh on the outskirts of Shillong. That's it. Good to drive by and see the view but don't make the mistake of staying there. We did last week and we want to make sure that other travellers do not commit the same mistake.
The hotel is incredibly expensive. We were paying as much for a cottage as we paid at a 5star hotel in Calcutta!
It is 20 kms from Shillong town so you have no options but to eat at the Hotel. The food is pathetic and expensive to boot, a bowl of soup costs 150 Rs. and it is so bad that you cannot finish it.
To give you a sense of local costs, three of us had a fantastic lunch at a restaurant in Sohra for 160 Rs.
With Ry Kynjai every meal is a gamble and the house always wins.
The staff are very sweet but very ineffective. My husband ordered a chicken salad sandwich. 45 minutes later he called to find what was holding up his sandwich and was told that there was no chicken salad!
Every interaction with the staff would freak us out because you never knew what excuse they would come up with. What's even more amazing is that the hotel had just one other guest for the first two days of our stay and no guests for the remaining two days!
Shillong was worth the trip but I can assure you Ri Kynjai was not. It is the last place you should stay at.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
16  Thank MeenMenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shillong-1, Managing Director at Ri Kynjai, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2008

In response to Madhvani's Feedback of Ri Kynjai, I would like to first reiterate that though we can very well understand that there may have been some shortcomings in terms of sevice during her stay ( like all new properties, we are not immune to initial lapses in sevice or teething problems),
the entire review seemed rather harsh.

We would like to introduce ouselves a a pioneering Hotel Group in the North Eastern
part of India .Our 2 sister concerns Hotel Centre Point and Royal Heritage - Tripura Castle are leading properties in the North East. Anybody who has any knowlege about the region will vouch for it.

Ri Kynjai is our third and latest addition and also happens to be our Flag Ship property .
Our Group Chairman who also happens to be the Architect recently received the Indian National Trust for Art and Cultural Heritage - SATTE award for Heritage Architecture for his work on Ri Kynjai ( The 1st property to be conferred the award in Eastern India).

At Ri Kynjai , we have personally and carefully handpicked and trained our staff , most of whom are from the nearby Umiuh village in order to offer our esteemed guests a unique and first hand experience of intrinsic North Eastern hospitality.

Over the last couple of months after Madhvani's stay , we have received positive reviews and feedback from a number of guests who have stayed with us incuding a host of celebrities ranging from Bollywood stars to International Musicians such as the Scorpions.

Today as we declare ourselves operational, I take this opportunity to invite Madhvani to Shillong and Ri Kynjai and experience unique local hospitality in the midst of serene natureand culture.

We are confident , she will but agree.........

Larsing.M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (488)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

483 - 488 of 488 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Sascha E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: レストランの真上にある客室は避けたほうが無難だと思います。(テラス席でも食べられるので、そこで食べる人たちの話し声が客室まで聞こえてしまうと思います。)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank shitake86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Die Cottages haben natürlich den besten Blick, sind aber auch die teuersten.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sabine_trails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laakk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ninizaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shillong hotels
7.3 mi away
Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle
5.8 mi away
Hotel Polo Towers
Hotel Polo Towers
#4 of 20 in Shillong
269 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Centre Point
Hotel Centre Point
#2 of 20 in Shillong
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Best Holiday Inn
Best Holiday Inn
#12 of 20 in Shillong
13 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Poinisuk
Hotel Poinisuk
#8 of 20 in Shillong
77 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Eee Cee Hotel
The Eee Cee Hotel
#6 of 20 in Shillong
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ri Kynjai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ri Kynjai

Address: U.C.C Road Ri Bhoi | Uminiuh Khawn, Shillong 793103, India
Region: India > Meghalaya > East Khasi Hills District > Shillong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Shillong
Price Range: £118 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ri Kynjai 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ri Kynjai translates into Khasi as land of serenity. This Spa-Resort presiding over the picturesque Umiam lake 16kms from Shillong is aptly named "Ri Kynjai - Serenity By The Lake". The architecture is inspired and derived from the original Khasi thatch huts. Supported on tall circular stilts on the terrace of the hotel blocks are the hybrid cottages derived from vernacular Khasi architecture. These cottages serve to portray the transition from tradition to modernity and have an interpretation of the traditional upturned boat roof done in metallic thatch fused to modern gables. Each cottage has a fireplace in the living/ bedroom area and the mezzanine floor has an additional bedroom arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ri Kynjai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ri Kynjai Shillong
Ri Kynjai Hotel Shillong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing