We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent !!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ri Kynjai

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Ri Kynjai
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Shillong
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Ri Kynjai was the highlight of our trip. I had looked at the pics on tripadvisor before booking and the actuals did not disappoint. The room was huge, very well maintained and clean. The staff of was very courteous and responsive as well.

We did not try the food much except for the breakfast which was excellent and with a view to behold from the balcony. The walks inside the property are enjoyable and the greenery is so refreshing for urban dwellers like me. A big thumbs up from me.

Room Tip: Take the lake view room, it is a bit expensive but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karangarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiKynjaiShillong, Manager at Ri Kynjai, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We share your sentiment that a lake view room is a must, and you will be happy to hear that majority of our rooms have this wonderful view.

We do hope in your next visit you try Sao Aiom (our restaurant) where we strive to make sure we serve our guests the best quality food. We specialize in North eastern cuisine but our menu also has Indian, Chinese and Continental food.

Khublei,
Danny Langstieh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    109
    23
    7
    15
See reviews for
197
139
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

The property is very beautiful. View from the rooms is excellent. The staff is very courteous. It is a little steep in terms of things you have do in and around the property but you can always ask them for discounts.

The food is ok. The rooms are clean with proper amenities.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SmritiBajajGupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiKynjaiShillong, Manager at Ri Kynjai, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Ri Kynjai as your preferred resort!

We are really pleased to hear that you think Ri Kynjai is one of the best property in the North East.

We have on offer a variety of in house activities and excursions. For trekkers, the legendary and religious peaks, 'Lumsohpetbneng' and 'Lumdiengiei' are a few kilometers away. You can also while away your time walking through the verdant pine forests along the water, or spend your day pampering yourself in our Spa. For the more adventurous, a boat ride on serene Umiam lake or even a hamper picnic in one of the islands is a veritable option.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Danny Langstieh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

The resort's location is just amazing. The service and rooms are top class. The food served is also good.
You would wonder how can everything be amazing.. visit it to believe it...
We had visited the place from 28th Sep 2013 to 4th Oct 2013... we had availed their 6N package... got to see most of Shillong...
One has to visit Shillong and see the natural beauty.....
The package was well designed... from pick to drop off to Guwahati Airport
A relaxing experience...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gautamkrishna29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiKynjaiShillong, Manager at Ri Kynjai, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Ri Kynjai - Serenity by the Lake!

We are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Ri Kynjai exactly resemble to you appreciation and depiction of things around the resort. Here at Ri Kynjai, we aspire to give our guest personalized and seamless customer service. We are also glad that you like our Package wherein you have been able to cover most of Shillong and enjoy the natural beauty.

Our staff are very appreciative of your wonderful review.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Khublei.
Danny Langstieh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Rooms were clean and comfortable. Staff were warm and helpful. Food was excellent. The only negatives were the lack of internet connectivity, and for senior citizens, only, the number of steps one has to climb.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Bhabani Shanker G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiKynjaiShillong, Manager at Ri Kynjai, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Ri Kynjai – Serenity By The Lake!

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the resort.

You will be happy to hear that we are in the process of activating internet in all our rooms. We have also recently built a road access to the restaurant area which can be accessed by a gold cart to make it easier for our guests who want to avoid using the staircase.

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing Ri Kynjai as your preferred resort and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

Khublei
Danny Langstieh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guwahati, India
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

I have been there many time.. Its an awesome weekend get away for me from Guwahati.. Its very peaceful, calm.. Just away from city life (30 mins before Shillong city).. Overlooking a beautiful and serene lake.. One can sit out in the balcony for hours together, Just relaxing and enjoying the scenary and silence of nature of North east.. The quality of everything therein, right from rooms to food is one of the best of this area.. Staffs are courteous..

Room Tip: Take the cottage room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saurabh_Agarwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiKynjaiShillong, Manager at Ri Kynjai, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Ri Kynjai - Serenity by the Lake and thank you for your wonderful review!

Ri Kynjai being located just about 70 kms away from Guwahati is the perfect weekend get-away for most travellers from Guwahati, who wants a quick rejuvenating break.

Ri Kynjai is situated on the banks of Umiam Lake. At Ri Kynjai, as you mention, one can just sit back, relax and enjoy the serenity. But for those who would like a little bit more of adventure, there is a boat ride that can be taken on the Umiam Lake, treks to the near-by peaks, day trip to Shillong and a must visit journey to the beautiful Cherrapunjee.

At Ri Kynjai we work hard to make sure we give each guest a personalized service and when we receive a gratifying review such as yours, it makes the hard work worthwhile.

Thank you once again for choosing Ri Kynjai as your preferred resort and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

Khublei
Danny Langstieh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

This has been by far the best place I have ever stayed in with respect to the serenity of the place, quality, spaciousness of the room and the service and the location of the place.

Totally enjoyed the stay and the place one of the most memorable ones ever :)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ranand12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiKynjaiShillong, Manager at Ri Kynjai, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Ri Kynjai - Serenity by the Lake!

We are thrilled to read your wonderful review and are extremely pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Ri Kynjai is your home away from home and it is our endeavour to make sure your holiday is a memorable one.

We thank you once again for choosing Ri Kynjai as your preferred destination and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Khublei!
Danny Langstieh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tezpur, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

A Place to Mingle...A Place to Relax....A Place to spend a Night With Completely Privacy.i really like the food and the ambiance of the hotel.
Had a Terrific Experience in my Life...and the Hotel Staff was no more Helpful when there Guests Check out of the Hotel...At the Time of Check out...its Been Raining Heavily and the Roads inside the Resort Compound are a SINGLE ROAD(NARROW).only a Car can Pass by...No Lights inside the Compound.One of my Car Front Tyre came Off Road due to 0 Visibilty due to heavy Rains...And 4 God Sake it took one and half hour to get the Help 4m Hotel Staffs....Still they tried to help....

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AshishAgarwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiKynjaiShillong, Manager at Ri Kynjai, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Ri Kynjai - Serenity by the Lake!

We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful time at our resort and at the same time regret to hear about your experience during check-out. As you know, our parking and drive way is located away from the main building but we definitely feedback your comments to our team and make necessary changes accordingly.

Thank you or choosing Ri Kynjai as your preferred resort and We look ahead to welcoming you back.

Khublei!

Danny Langstieh
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shillong hotels
7.0 mi away
Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle
6.1 mi away
Hotel Centre Point
Hotel Centre Point
#3 of 19 in Shillong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Polo Towers
Hotel Polo Towers
#6 of 19 in Shillong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Eee Cee Hotel
The Eee Cee Hotel
#7 of 19 in Shillong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel Alpine Continental
Hotel Alpine Continental
#5 of 19 in Shillong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Poinisuk
Hotel Poinisuk
#9 of 19 in Shillong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ri Kynjai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ri Kynjai

Property: Ri Kynjai
Address: U.C.C Road Ri Bhoi | Uminiuh Khawn, Shillong 793103, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Meghalaya > Shillong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Shillong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ri Kynjai 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ri Kynjai translates into Khasi as land of serenity. This Spa-Resort presiding over the picturesque Umiam lake 16kms from Shillong is aptly named "Ri Kynjai - Serenity By The Lake". The architecture is inspired and derived from the original Khasi thatch huts. Supported on tall circular stilts on the terrace of the hotel blocks are the hybrid cottages derived from vernacular Khasi architecture. These cottages serve to portray the transition from tradition to modernity and have an interpretation of the traditional upturned boat roof done in metallic thatch fused to modern gables. Each cottage has a fireplace in the living/ bedroom area and the mezzanine floor has an additional bedroom arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ri Kynjai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ri Kynjai Shillong
Ri Kynjai Hotel Shillong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing