We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place!!”
Review of Ri Kynjai

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shillong
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ri Kynjai
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Shillong
Certificate of Excellence
Pune, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Amazing Place!!”
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

This resort is all about location, location and location!! The owners have leveraged the terrain very well, so as to give you a great view and a truly serene experience. The food too was great, way beyond my expectations. Transport, arranged through Yamu Rana for all the local sightseeing was also very good!!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank TVSIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiKynjaiShillong, Manager at Ri Kynjai, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Ri Kynjai - Serenity by the Lake!

Thank you for your wonderful review.

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and praising the beautiful landscaping done by the Owners.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Khublei.
Danny Langstieh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    117
    26
    7
    18
See reviews for
214
143
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mahboula, Kuwait
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

10 of my school mates and their families had a reunion party at the resort on 27th July, 2013. The resort itself is located beside the scenic Barapani lake. The rooms are very neat and spacious, the staff is very friendly and courteous, the food was great. The kids loved running around the garden. Mr. Krishna was a great help and looked after all our needs. It was a party to remember!

Room Tip: Take a lake-view room for a stunning view of the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayanta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiKynjaiShillong, Manager at Ri Kynjai, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Ri Kynjai as your preferred resort and for your positive feedback.

Ri Kynjai translates from Khasi as ‘land of serene environs”.

Our events team are always happy to organise special events from Corporate retreats, conferences, private birthday parties, reunions to exclusive weddings and tailor make each package to cater to our guests requirements. We are extremely happy that the Kids loved running around the Resort which is spread over 45 acres. Our staff are really grateful for your kind remarks as we strive to provide seamless customer service here at Ri Kynjai.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Khublei,
Danny Langstieh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This really is the sort of place that appears only in dreams. The setting is truly beautiful. The rooms are not only luxurious but also have an almost homely atmosphere enhanced by touches such as the log fire prepared for when we arrived back in the evening. From the moment we were welcomed by the staff this place marked itself out as somewhere special, but the crowning glory was to wake up in the morning with the most incredibly beautiful view of the lake through the large windows and from the balcony. Quite exquisite. The web-site does not overstate the quiet and serene beauty of the place. The food was excellent, and my only regret is that we were only able to stay two nights.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiKynjaiShillong, Manager at Ri Kynjai, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Ri Kynjai as your preferred resort!

At Ri Kynjai, we try our best to make everyone feel at home and comfortable, though they are miles away from home. We are glad we met your expectations.

Each cottage and room is designed with its orientation to the east, capturing the view of the lake and the rising sun.

We hope you come back to Shillong soon and this time spend more time with us in Ri Kynjai.

Khublei,
Danny Langstieh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I spent 4 nights in one of the cottages, with my mother and grandmother, as we were looking for a relaxing break. The cottage was extremely spacious, and very well decorated, with one of the most stunning views of the lake that I've ever seen. I'd like to say from start to finish, we were treated with the utmost respect and the highest quality of service. If you are looking for a place to be full of activities, then this is not the place for you, it is a resort to relax and re-connect with nature. Although the resort is not great for the elderly due to all the steps, we were offered use of the golf cart when my grandmother wanted to go to the dining room, which was perfect. We thoroughly enjoyed the food and wish I could have tried more dishes!

Highly recommended to those who want a calm break from the hectic & crazy distractions of modern life.

Room Tip: Go for a cottage - its worth it if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jini K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiKynjaiShillong, Manager at Ri Kynjai, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to hear that your experience with us was memorable.

At Ri kynjai, it is our mission to make sure all our guests are well looked after and that your holiday is as enjoyable as it can be. In fact, Ri Kynjai translates from Khasi as ‘land of serene environs’.

Our staff are grateful for your kind remarks as we strive to provide seamless customer service here at Ri Kynjai.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future where you can try more of our North Eastern specialities.

Again, thank you so much for taking the time to visit us and to write this review.

Khublei,
Danny Langstieh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We spent an idyllic 2 nights at Ri-Kynjai in two of the cottages. The rooms are absolutely beautiful, built in a traditional style using local materials. The view is to die for and the staff are absolutely wonderful. The welcome and quality of service were impeccable.
The food was excellent and very reasonably priced.
Our only regret was that we had not booked in for more nights. We will definitely try to return and meet up again with the resort manager, Danny.

Room Tip: The 3 cottages are beautifully appointed with great views, and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterC1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiKynjaiShillong, Manager at Ri Kynjai, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Ri Kynjai Serenity by the Lake!

Thank you for your incredible feedback. We are glad that you had a relaxed and rejuvenating experience at Ri Kynjai.

You will be happy to hear that majority of our rooms have this wonderful view. Our staff are grateful for your kind remarks.

The resort reflects the warmth of Khasi hospitality, their eco-centric culture and captivating architecture combined with modern convenience and luxury.

We do look forward to having you and your family back at Ri Kynjai in the future.

Khublei,
Danny Langstieh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

In a snapshot, I would like to mention that the ATTITUDE and SERVICE of the Senior Management of this hotel is very much unlike the tag line 'SERENITY BY THE LAKE'. On the contrary, our entire serenity was disturbed while staying for four nights in this hotel.

I had booked 4 Superior Rooms for a total period of 5 Nights as I was on holiday with my family. All of us were highly excited to have a fabulous stay and return back with excellent memories of this place, which was not to be.

No doubt, the hotel is situated in one of the best locations that one could find anywhere on this earth. However, the management just cannot rely on this one particular aspect of their property. Along with the beautiful location, the guest has also come to enjoy all the comforts that a hotel of this category can provide....which was shockingly missing during our stay.

To begin with, the first instance where the hotel management is fooling or should I say, cheating the customer is when is says that it is spread over 45 acres of serene land. When we actually landed up, all we could see was hardly ONE ACRE, which was actually available for the guest of the hotel to enjoy!!!

We arrived at the hotel before the stipulated check-in time of 2PM. Since the rooms were not ready, we had to wait at the reception/ lobby area until they were made available, which was not a problem, since we had arrived early. However, the Front Office Manager courteously informed us that while we were waiting for the rooms to get ready, we would be served with our Welcome Drinks. This was some good and refreshing news for us as it was not expected by us. However, to our great disbelief, we were served with HALF A GLASS of Mango Fruity after TWO HOURS and in our rooms, which were allotted within two hours from our arrival time. Does it take them such a long time to serve MANGO FRUITY? Secondly, what message did they wish to give us by serving us HALF GLASS EMPTY?

Coming to the housekeeping, this too was pathetic!!! We had to literally beg for our rights by giving them reminders for several basic necessities, which should actually be in place automatically as per the guest profile available with their reservation team.

The biggest shocker came on the following morning at the restaurant. The breakfast is complimentary (well, I do not believe this as nothing is free in this world) and is served as a buffet in the one and only restaurant from 8AM to 10:30AM. We arrived at the restaurant at 8AM sharp as we had to go out for sight seeing early in the morning. The breakfast is served in a buffet style and one of the items they had on that day (31st October) was Grilled Potatoes, Mushrooms and Tomatoes. Precisely at 8:30AM, my wife walked up to the buffet spread only to find out that none of the above was available. Hence, she requested the Restaurant Manager on duty to replenish this item or serve it to her on the table as we had to leave for sight seeing. The answer that she received was shocking! The manager informed my wife that the potatoes and tomatoes were over and that it would take at least 30 minutes for them to serve it once again. Can you believe this? First of all, the hotel management should ensure that any item that is kept on the buffet table should be available for all the guests during the stipulated time of the breakfast being served by them. In our case, it got over at 8:30AM when they started only half an hour ago!!!

In my opinion, this itself calls for a full refund of the money paid by us as the management does not have any right to run this hotel if they cannot serve the guests.

The hotel boasts of a library in their premises so that the guests could enjoy reading in the serene environment. However, to our disbelief, the library was empty. The biggest shocker was that the Front Office Manager himself was not aware of this.

With regards to the outdoor and indoor sports, they did not have enough of equipment / gear to provide to the guests who could enjoy some leisure activities with friends and family.

The SPA was another BIG disappointment. They have built a beautiful SPA, although it is being run by a single lady who is also managing the hotels handicraft shop along with. The SPA has also got a couple massage room but when I asked for an appointment for me and my wife, I was told that she could provide only one treatment at a time since she was the only person managing the entire SPA. Could anyone believe this? I dread to think of the quality of service and did not know if she was a expert in this field as she was also managing a SHOP!!!

To sum up everything, I would like to tell my friends who may read this review that please go to this hotel, if you want to risk being CHEATED and FOOLED by the ARROGANT ATTITUDE OF THE MANAGEMENT.

I would also like to request the TRIPADVISOR team to REVOKE the Certificate of Excellence awarded to this hotel with immediate effect.

Room Tip: Superior Rooms are a better choice with an excellent view of the Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RiteshShah24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiKynjaiShillong, Manager at Ri Kynjai, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Mr. Shah,

Greetings from Ri Kynjai – Serenity of the Lake.

Though we're disappointed to be rated as a '2 out of 5', we appreciate you taking the time to review us. It is constructive suggestions from our guests that help us improve our service and we always welcome all positive suggestions and recommendations.

Sir, I would like to begin by clarifying that we are by no means trying to “fool” our guests and over state our property size. Ri Kynjai is built on top of a hill. What makes the resort serene is the fact that we have acres of private forests that surround us and the property extends towards the lake and beyond. The resort including the drive in, private forest and the hill top covers the 45 acres of land. The pine forests acts as a buffer to preserve the serenity and view of the land and within the forest we have dedicated nature walks accessible to our guests. I thank you however for stating that the location was up to your expectations.

Sir, with regards to our welcome drink, when you mentioned that you felt the drink was not enough we offered you a top up and sent more welcome drinks up to your room. At Ri Kynjai, the welcome drinks are a part of the check in process and we are always more than happy to give our guests a second glass or more of the juice when requested.

As we had discussed with you at the resort, we had removed our books from our small library to restock it. Our senior member of staff personally offered you extra magazines such as national geographic and other cultural books which we noticed you read in the lobby.

We regret the slight delays from the housekeeping. I have spoken to my team at the front office and housekeeping and there was a miscommunication regarding the extra slippers and towels you requested hence a slight delay but we did deliver all your additional needs upon request.

With regards to the food, we also made sure that you received all your requests thereafter and even went out of our way to get you a special dish from Shillong.

We are disappointed that you fail to mention all the extra efforts we put into meeting all your additional requests and requirements. We take on board your positive suggestions and it is our endeavour to always maintain and refine the high quality standards of service at Ri Kynjai.

Khublei,
Danny Langstieh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
179 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Totally loved our holiday with Ri Kyjai.
Beautiful rooms, great food and a view to die for...
The service was really good, special mention for Suzanne, Reena & Krishna for going out of their way to make everything comfortable for us.
The food was always freshly cooked and we enjoyed eating the Khasi specialties.
The perfect weather only added to the amazing experience. Hot tip: pls try and book the cottages for the splendid views

Room Tip: The cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chubbyswami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiKynjaiShillong, Manager at Ri Kynjai, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your choosing Ri Kynjai as your preferred resort. We are very grateful for your wonderful feedback and to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Our staff are grateful for your kind remarks as we strive to provide seamless customer service here at Ri Kynjai.

We are also happy to know that you enjoyed our Khasi dishes.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Khublei,
Danny Langstieh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shillong hotels
7.3 mi away
Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle
6.1 mi away
Hotel Centre Point
Hotel Centre Point
#2 of 20 in Shillong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Polo Towers
Hotel Polo Towers
#5 of 20 in Shillong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Eee Cee Hotel
The Eee Cee Hotel
#7 of 20 in Shillong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Alpine Continental
Hotel Alpine Continental
#6 of 20 in Shillong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Poinisuk
Hotel Poinisuk
#10 of 20 in Shillong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ri Kynjai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ri Kynjai

Property: Ri Kynjai
Address: U.C.C Road Ri Bhoi | Uminiuh Khawn, Shillong 793103, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Meghalaya > East Khasi Hills District > Shillong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Shillong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ri Kynjai 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ri Kynjai translates into Khasi as land of serenity. This Spa-Resort presiding over the picturesque Umiam lake 16kms from Shillong is aptly named "Ri Kynjai - Serenity By The Lake". The architecture is inspired and derived from the original Khasi thatch huts. Supported on tall circular stilts on the terrace of the hotel blocks are the hybrid cottages derived from vernacular Khasi architecture. These cottages serve to portray the transition from tradition to modernity and have an interpretation of the traditional upturned boat roof done in metallic thatch fused to modern gables. Each cottage has a fireplace in the living/ bedroom area and the mezzanine floor has an additional bedroom arrangement. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ri Kynjai Shillong
Ri Kynjai Hotel Shillong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing