We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity by the lake...but order sandwiches!”
Review of Ri Kynjai

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shillong
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ri Kynjai
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Shillong
Certificate of Excellence
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Serenity by the lake...but order sandwiches!”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Ri Kynjai is a great hotel - well designed, beautifully located, the cottages are superb, the service is excellent. But the kitchen is lousy - and it spoils the serenity considerably because you have no option but to eat in the hotel. We ordered from the western menu - and got Chinese. We ordered Chinese and got unrecognisable (Kung Pao Chicken was refried chicken coated with flour - like Indian pakoras 0 in a thick tomato gravy). To their credit they took the feedback well and we hope they will improve. Our rating would have been higher but for the kitchen (which also gets quite noisy!). The Emporium in the hotel has really nice things but nothing from Meghalaya!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PradeepKakkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    118
    27
    9
    20
See reviews for
222
144
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
90 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Service - 10/10
Food - 10/10
Rooms - 8/10 (No Air condition or Wify)
Views - 10/10
Resort - 9/10
Location - 1-1.5 hrs drive from the city. So not possible to shunt btw city and resort during the day. I feel one should choose this place to stay if you dont have to frequent city daily

Room Tip: Choose Lake view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelxl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiKynjaiShillong, Guest Relations Manager at Ri Kynjai, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very positive review!

We are extremely pleased that you rated us highly.

Please note that we do not have AC's but we do provide fans and are always happy to even provide additional cooling equipment should you require one.

We are located 20 kms away from Shillong and have chosen our locations to provide guest with a serene environment for a relaxing holiday. Travel to Shillong can be as short as 25 minutes, but at peak time traffic, this journey takes longer. Having read your review, our guest relations team have been briefed to give guests information of traffic levels on the roads before our guests venture out to the city.

We always appreciate positive feedback and very much look forward to your return.

Khublei,
Suzan Shangpliang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I have read the other reviews from different visitors and I agree with all of them .. because they are all GOOD ! The view from my room was just divine ! The food and the service was superlative ! If anything , the crossing of Shillong for any outing was most trying and the slow moving traffic was the only downside to the entire excursion ! But , of course , the resort cannot be held responsible for that ! I have recommended it to all my friends from abroad , just for the " serenity "
if nothing else !

Room Tip: All rooms are lake facing and as I was traveling alone I had not taken the suite !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prasad_Chipalkatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Although we did not stay here, we had a good long stopover with meals at this beautiful resort. The setting of this place is the most impressive facet, with the restaurant overlooking the vastly spread man made lake. The food and service was amazing, and the resort was a very pleasant break from a back breaking road journey from Guwahati to Shillong. Though the approach road to the resort makes you feel worse, the resort at the end makes it up for all that. The resort is as pricey as exotic is its location, also being away from the Shillong city by more than an hour or so.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SachinRustogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noida, India
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Its a great hotel but priced similarly. you can enjoy a meal here while stopping at Barapani for boating. We had our lunch here only to enjoy the scenic beauty around. The approach road is in need of repair and its a long way to the resort. Food is ok again overtly priced but if you can afford some time do visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ankitfrenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I have been in Ri Kynjai for my Honeymoon trip
I can simply say that its a best resort in India
I have been to most of the 05 star hotels in india
But this property is awesome
Best part is Lake, Privacy, Room, Natural Beauty
Its is far from Shillong city
For Honeymoon - Perfect location

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nirmaldhameja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

THe winning aspect of this hotel is its location. You wake up to a stunning sunrise and overlook the man-made lake. It's a tranquil place ideally located the surrounding Shillong areas.

The rooms are of excellent size and the en-suite facilities are very good.

It was cold mid February when we stayed and the in-room heater came in very handy.

The one thing they need to improve on is the breakfast service which is meant to start at 0730 but when we tried it out, we were not served until near 0800. Considering that quite a few of the guests make early start for their daily excursion, this is something that needs to be addressed.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the lake, wake up to view the sunrise at least on one day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waltonian4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shillong hotels
7.3 mi away
Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle
6.1 mi away
Hotel Centre Point
Hotel Centre Point
#2 of 20 in Shillong
272 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Polo Towers
Hotel Polo Towers
#5 of 20 in Shillong
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Eee Cee Hotel
The Eee Cee Hotel
#6 of 20 in Shillong
142 reviews
6.8 mi away
Best Holiday Inn
Best Holiday Inn
#11 of 20 in Shillong
13 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Poinisuk
Hotel Poinisuk
#10 of 20 in Shillong
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ri Kynjai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ri Kynjai

Property: Ri Kynjai
Address: U.C.C Road Ri Bhoi | Uminiuh Khawn, Shillong 793103, India
Region: India > Meghalaya > East Khasi Hills District > Shillong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Shillong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ri Kynjai 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ri Kynjai translates into Khasi as land of serenity. This Spa-Resort presiding over the picturesque Umiam lake 16kms from Shillong is aptly named "Ri Kynjai - Serenity By The Lake". The architecture is inspired and derived from the original Khasi thatch huts. Supported on tall circular stilts on the terrace of the hotel blocks are the hybrid cottages derived from vernacular Khasi architecture. These cottages serve to portray the transition from tradition to modernity and have an interpretation of the traditional upturned boat roof done in metallic thatch fused to modern gables. Each cottage has a fireplace in the living/ bedroom area and the mezzanine floor has an additional bedroom arrangement. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ri Kynjai Shillong
Ri Kynjai Hotel Shillong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing