We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ri Kynjai
Nearby Hotels
US$234
US$192
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
OYO 8816 Whispering Pines(Shillong)(Great Value!)
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
OYO 4276 AM Bed and Breakfast(Shillong)(Great Value!)
US$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Monsoon(Shillong)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Poinisuk(Shillong)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (523)
Filter reviews
523 results
Traveller rating
331
132
28
9
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
331
132
28
9
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsumiam lakethe cottagesview of the lakebadminton courtrooms are hugenature walkapproach roadbeautiful resorttrue to its nameboard gamesshillong citynatural beautyfood is excellentpine treesnature loverslocal cuisinespent nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
358 - 363 of 523 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We have stayed there for one night. It is beautiful property with a good view of lake. The cottages are well designed – with lots of teak wood. The property is located before shillong and good place to stay if you want to avoid the typical hassle of Indian Hill station. The food is excellent with a special mention of their sausages. Stay there for a tranquil holiday though I still feel it is little overpriced!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lake View, choose anyone!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VivekPilania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

happened to stay at Ri Knjai shillong recently..went with great expectations as tariff was 10 000 rs per night.But for a 5 star property it lacked many facilities.there was no A C in the rooms.and temperatures were so high it was uncomfortable in the night to sleep.Fans provided r too high.could not open windows for fear of insects, lizards etc.there was no swimming pool.no other leisure activity facilities like some indoor games,library ,etc.nothing to keep children occupied.It would have been better to stay in the city in some other hotel with lesser tariff and better facility..Food also not upto the mark.no varieties.

Room Tip: superior rooms have good view of the lake.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jyotipai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiKynjaiShillong, Guest Relations Manager at Ri Kynjai, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Ri Kynjai – Serenity By The Lake!

We thank you for taking out the time to review us. It is our endeavour to make sure guests are always well looked after and comfortable during their stay with us.

Shillong is known for its cool and pleasant weather and historically, AC’s are not required which is why we do not have them in the rooms. We have never experienced such high temperatures in the past, which we hope is a one off, and this climatic change, which is a global feature, lasts only for a few days in Shillong. However, we are looking at ways and means of putting in additional cooling equipments.

With regards to activities, for the children, we provide in-room games, a badminton court and swing, a cricket field and a reading area with few collections of books which can keep our leisure guests occupied while also enjoying the serene environment. We are currently working on including more leisure activities.

Our Ri Kynjai menu, have been designed to present you a complete dining experience with cuisines ranging from Indian, Chinese, Continental and North-Eastern specialities. With continuous efforts of our Chefs, we always try to come up with new and exciting dishes for our guests.

We hope that, what you have mentioned on your feedback does not deter you from visiting us again, as your feedback is integral to us which will help us go a long way in delivering the best and make the stay of each guest memorable.

Khublei,
Suzan Shangpliang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Ri Kynjai is a great hotel - well designed, beautifully located, the cottages are superb, the service is excellent. But the kitchen is lousy - and it spoils the serenity considerably because you have no option but to eat in the hotel. We ordered from the western menu - and got Chinese. We ordered Chinese and got unrecognisable (Kung Pao Chicken was refried chicken coated with flour - like Indian pakoras 0 in a thick tomato gravy). To their credit they took the feedback well and we hope they will improve. Our rating would have been higher but for the kitchen (which also gets quite noisy!). The Emporium in the hotel has really nice things but nothing from Meghalaya!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PradeepKakkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Service - 10/10
Food - 10/10
Rooms - 8/10 (No Air condition or Wify)
Views - 10/10
Resort - 9/10
Location - 1-1.5 hrs drive from the city. So not possible to shunt btw city and resort during the day. I feel one should choose this place to stay if you dont have to frequent city daily

Room Tip: Choose Lake view rooms
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelxl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiKynjaiShillong, Guest Relations Manager at Ri Kynjai, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very positive review!

We are extremely pleased that you rated us highly.

Please note that we do not have AC's but we do provide fans and are always happy to even provide additional cooling equipment should you require one.

We are located 20 kms away from Shillong and have chosen our locations to provide guest with a serene environment for a relaxing holiday. Travel to Shillong can be as short as 25 minutes, but at peak time traffic, this journey takes longer. Having read your review, our guest relations team have been briefed to give guests information of traffic levels on the roads before our guests venture out to the city.

We always appreciate positive feedback and very much look forward to your return.

Khublei,
Suzan Shangpliang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I have read the other reviews from different visitors and I agree with all of them .. because they are all GOOD ! The view from my room was just divine ! The food and the service was superlative ! If anything , the crossing of Shillong for any outing was most trying and the slow moving traffic was the only downside to the entire excursion ! But , of course , the resort cannot be held responsible for that ! I have recommended it to all my friends from abroad , just for the " serenity "
if nothing else !

Room Tip: All rooms are lake facing and as I was traveling alone I had not taken the suite !
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prasad_Chipalkatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews