We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ri Kyn JAI !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ri Kynjai

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shillong
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ri Kynjai
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Shillong
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ri Kyn JAI !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Visited with my family in the month of May, the property is small but is beautiful in its own way. The cottages are beyond amazing and the balcony view from the cottage is worthy every cent that you're paying. The staff is professional yet polite. The restaurant serves pretty amazing food and everyone right from the waiter to the cashier are helpful and genuine. Krishna who handles the computer was more than happy to help pack a meal for us as we were checking out early. I don't usually write reviews but I think this place deserves one.

P.s. - Get the cottage

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Vardhan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    115
    24
    7
    17
See reviews for
208
140
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
111 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my family in May awesome place with beautiful and scenic view of the hills and a lake. Food is excellent service is also really good. Friendly and helpful staff they had organized some excellent day trips for us with good drivers and good condition cars. Since we had to leave early the staff were kind enough to pack breakfast for us. I felt that it was a thoughtful gesture. Overall we enjoyed are stay here and looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Splash0509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

The name Ri Kynjai- Serenity by the lake, could not have been more apt for this place.The place is very quiet with no airconditioning but cool. Sitting out with a couple of drinks in the balcony is an amazing experience to go through.

Food was good but the service is average and they do not have good choice of deserts. A walk down to the lake and a massage in the spa is a good way to spend the day.

The rooms are huge and amazing and the bathrooms give you a very luxurious bath options of a tub or a shower. One of the accomodation also has a loft where you could put in extra bed for the children.

If you want a moment of peace and quiet , it is a must visit place. If you are an party animal, you will get bored in 2 days.

Lots of places around Shillong that you can go to spend your day

Room Tip: 1. Choose one with the view of the lake. Some of the balconies have trees which blocks the view. 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chandrashekar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Recently, I and my wife stayed for 2 nights at Ri Kynjai which is truly 'serenity by the lake'. Located on 45 acres of wood, the property has been created with lots of wood.
The rooms are well appointed with either view of the lake or that of the surrounding forest. Food is excellent and staff is courteous and cooperative.
The 'cottages' are on top of the rooms and offer a better view of the lake but are otherwise a disappointment, mainly since they are not independent structures on ground.
Instead of staying in Shillong, it is better to stay at Ri Kunjai and make day trips to Cherrapunjee and other locations.
All in all, a wonderful experience!

Room Tip: Lake view rooms offer great view of the lake. Avoid 'cottage'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shekharvaidya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

We were there for a weekend in May with bunch of cousins. The resort is well maintained and beautiful. Food was not too bad. Staff were smiling and helpful. Spa was amazing. View from the lake view rooms was great. All in all a nice getaway and good experience.

Room Tip: Take lake view rooms. They are spacious and have a beautiful view of the lake and morning sunrise. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madhur15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
387 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We have stayed there for one night. It is beautiful property with a good view of lake. The cottages are well designed – with lots of teak wood. The property is located before shillong and good place to stay if you want to avoid the typical hassle of Indian Hill station. The food is excellent with a special mention of their sausages. Stay there for a tranquil holiday though I still feel it is little overpriced!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lake View, choose anyone!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VivekPilania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

happened to stay at Ri Knjai shillong recently..went with great expectations as tariff was 10 000 rs per night.But for a 5 star property it lacked many facilities.there was no A C in the rooms.and temperatures were so high it was uncomfortable in the night to sleep.Fans provided r too high.could not open windows for fear of insects, lizards etc.there was no swimming pool.no other leisure activity facilities like some indoor games,library ,etc.nothing to keep children occupied.It would have been better to stay in the city in some other hotel with lesser tariff and better facility..Food also not upto the mark.no varieties.

Room Tip: superior rooms have good view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jyotipai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiKynjaiShillong, Guest Relations Manager at Ri Kynjai, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Ri Kynjai – Serenity By The Lake!

We thank you for taking out the time to review us. It is our endeavour to make sure guests are always well looked after and comfortable during their stay with us.

Shillong is known for its cool and pleasant weather and historically, AC’s are not required which is why we do not have them in the rooms. We have never experienced such high temperatures in the past, which we hope is a one off, and this climatic change, which is a global feature, lasts only for a few days in Shillong. However, we are looking at ways and means of putting in additional cooling equipments.

With regards to activities, for the children, we provide in-room games, a badminton court and swing, a cricket field and a reading area with few collections of books which can keep our leisure guests occupied while also enjoying the serene environment. We are currently working on including more leisure activities.

Our Ri Kynjai menu, have been designed to present you a complete dining experience with cuisines ranging from Indian, Chinese, Continental and North-Eastern specialities. With continuous efforts of our Chefs, we always try to come up with new and exciting dishes for our guests.

We hope that, what you have mentioned on your feedback does not deter you from visiting us again, as your feedback is integral to us which will help us go a long way in delivering the best and make the stay of each guest memorable.

Khublei,
Suzan Shangpliang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shillong hotels
7.3 mi away
Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle
6.1 mi away
Hotel Centre Point
Hotel Centre Point
#4 of 19 in Shillong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Polo Towers
Hotel Polo Towers
#5 of 19 in Shillong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Eee Cee Hotel
The Eee Cee Hotel
#7 of 19 in Shillong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Alpine Continental
Hotel Alpine Continental
#6 of 19 in Shillong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Poinisuk
Hotel Poinisuk
#8 of 19 in Shillong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ri Kynjai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ri Kynjai

Property: Ri Kynjai
Address: U.C.C Road Ri Bhoi | Uminiuh Khawn, Shillong 793103, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Meghalaya > Shillong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Shillong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ri Kynjai 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ri Kynjai translates into Khasi as land of serenity. This Spa-Resort presiding over the picturesque Umiam lake 16kms from Shillong is aptly named "Ri Kynjai - Serenity By The Lake". The architecture is inspired and derived from the original Khasi thatch huts. Supported on tall circular stilts on the terrace of the hotel blocks are the hybrid cottages derived from vernacular Khasi architecture. These cottages serve to portray the transition from tradition to modernity and have an interpretation of the traditional upturned boat roof done in metallic thatch fused to modern gables. Each cottage has a fireplace in the living/ bedroom area and the mezzanine floor has an additional bedroom arrangement. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ri Kynjai Shillong
Ri Kynjai Hotel Shillong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing