We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Resort in Shillong”
Review of Ri Kynjai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ri Kynjai
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Shillong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Ri Kinjay is a unique resort to stay in. It gives the traditional feel and best view of the lake from the balcony. They offer the best in class hospitality and services, proactively. It is very peaceful, green and beautiful. One must stay at Ri Kinjay to experience the best hospitality and nature.

Room Tip: Hybrid cottages are the best here as it has a view of the lake from the top
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minu A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (507)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

334 - 340 of 507 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

The charm of the resort lies in the fact that it is away from the hustle and bustle of main Shillong town and overlooks the Umiam lake. The well spread out property gives a feeling of vastness and is the perfect place for unwinding.The overall service at the resort is good except that of the staff in the dining room. Some of them are downright rude while some don't seem to understand English very well. The restaurant manager seems to be helpless when it comes to managing his team.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nitish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Ri Kynjai at Shillong. It was a good decision not to stay at Shillong. This hotel is 10 kms before hustle bustle of the city. The sight seeing at Shillong was very disappointing and all the time we were in traffic jams. The good idea will be just stay at this hotel and roam around this property. The view in front of the hotel is beautiful. The name itself says the serenity by the lake.Book lake facing room.If you are fond of forest, facing rooms towards it is not bad either. Very good spa facility, good food,courteous staff make your stay enjoyable.
It has got a very good collection of bamboo artifacts.

Room Tip: not impress with a hut accommodation. lake facing rooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alkavaidya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I stayed here with family for a 5 day trip. Chose this because of trip advisor. Contacted the hotel directly.

Location : Located outside Shillong (20 kms away- 45minutes car drive) atop the hill with a magnificent view of the Umiam Lake. This is a very large and quiet property with no other activity other than nature. The walk down to the lake is good and relaxing as is the morning view along with sunrise.

Rooms: As suggested by everyone , the cottage is the best option . I also believe they have rooms which face the lake. The cottage is quite large and well appointed with a bed in the attic for a third adult/or children. Housekeeping is prompt and the rooms are neat and clean.
Bathrooms are quite large and the water temperature is maintained well.

Resort: As mentioned earlier, the resort has nothing more to offer than the view, So if you have small children , be aware that they will have no activity in the resort. There is nothing else closeby to visit - no shops as well so keep emergency stuff including medicines handy.

Food : I was slightly disappointed with the food though my son liked it. Slightly on the oily side and quality is not consistent. On the last day of our stay, my husband ordered jeera rice which had such an overpowering taste of cardamom that it was totally inedible . Chilly cheese toast came cold and when I sent it back they reheated the same and it tasted like rubber! sent it back again and the fresh toast took an hour to come!

Sightseeing: They arrange for sightseeing to Cherrapunjee and other places. But transport has to come from shillong , so they have to be informed the previous night, If one decides in the morning, then the car takes a pretty long time to come.

On the whole, I enjoyed my stay but I feel that the resort is way too overpriced for the quality of stay offered. I would suggest staying for a day or two to relax here

Room Tip: Choose the cottages or rooms with a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank visitorDxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Visited with my family in the month of May, the property is small but is beautiful in its own way. The cottages are beyond amazing and the balcony view from the cottage is worthy every cent that you're paying. The staff is professional yet polite. The restaurant serves pretty amazing food and everyone right from the waiter to the cashier are helpful and genuine. Krishna who handles the computer was more than happy to help pack a meal for us as we were checking out early. I don't usually write reviews but I think this place deserves one.

P.s. - Get the cottage

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Vardhan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my family in May awesome place with beautiful and scenic view of the hills and a lake. Food is excellent service is also really good. Friendly and helpful staff they had organized some excellent day trips for us with good drivers and good condition cars. Since we had to leave early the staff were kind enough to pack breakfast for us. I felt that it was a thoughtful gesture. Overall we enjoyed are stay here and looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Splash0509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The name Ri Kynjai- Serenity by the lake, could not have been more apt for this place.The place is very quiet with no airconditioning but cool. Sitting out with a couple of drinks in the balcony is an amazing experience to go through.

Food was good but the service is average and they do not have good choice of deserts. A walk down to the lake and a massage in the spa is a good way to spend the day.

The rooms are huge and amazing and the bathrooms give you a very luxurious bath options of a tub or a shower. One of the accomodation also has a loft where you could put in extra bed for the children.

If you want a moment of peace and quiet , it is a must visit place. If you are an party animal, you will get bored in 2 days.

Lots of places around Shillong that you can go to spend your day

Room Tip: 1. Choose one with the view of the lake. Some of the balconies have trees which blocks the view. 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chandrashekar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shillong hotels
7.3 mi away
Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle
5.8 mi away
Hotel Polo Towers
Hotel Polo Towers
#3 of 24 in Shillong
285 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Centre Point
Hotel Centre Point
#4 of 24 in Shillong
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Best Holiday Inn
Best Holiday Inn
#14 of 24 in Shillong
16 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Eee Cee Hotel
The Eee Cee Hotel
#7 of 24 in Shillong
152 reviews
6.7 mi away
Cafe Shillong Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ri Kynjai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ri Kynjai

Address: U.C.C Road Ri Bhoi | Uminiuh Khawn, Shillong 793103, India
Region: India > Meghalaya > East Khasi Hills District > Shillong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Shillong
Price Range: £126 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ri Kynjai 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ri Kynjai translates into Khasi as land of serenity. This Spa-Resort presiding over the picturesque Umiam lake 16kms from Shillong is aptly named "Ri Kynjai - Serenity By The Lake". The architecture is inspired and derived from the original Khasi thatch huts. Supported on tall circular stilts on the terrace of the hotel blocks are the hybrid cottages derived from vernacular Khasi architecture. These cottages serve to portray the transition from tradition to modernity and have an interpretation of the traditional upturned boat roof done in metallic thatch fused to modern gables. Each cottage has a fireplace in the living/ bedroom area and the mezzanine floor has an additional bedroom arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ri Kynjai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ri Kynjai Shillong
Ri Kynjai Hotel Shillong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing