We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bliss!”
Review of Ri Kynjai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ri Kynjai
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Shillong
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A bliss!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Surrounded by nature on all four sides, the earth, water, wind and cold will absolutely amaze you by its presence all together at Ri Kynjai resorts. The rooms are absolutely stunning. we had booked a supreme room overlooking the beautiful lake. This resort is about 20 kms away from the market city, but who wants to stay in the hustle bustle when you have an option of staying in natures behest! The staff and service provided is very good. We also tried the spa, which was quite good a relaxing especially coz the previous day we trekked for about 9 hours. The food provided was very good. Breakfast was the same both days that we stayed there. But it wasn't bad.
Negatives: We were on our honeymoon and had struck a deal wherein they would provide us a private dinner date on one of the nights. So when we realized that their idea for a private dinner included eating food in the room balcony or in the restaurant with a candle lit on the table :! We were super pissed and spoke to the manager, who was good enough to listen to our grievances and finally after a bit of argument decided to wave off the dinner bill of that night.
Happy Customers they believe in!

Room Tip: Do book a room/villa overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samsain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    122
    28
    9
    20
See reviews for
227
147
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014

After a long drive from Guwahati Airport we reached Ri Kynjai and we were greeted warmly. The view was superb from our room, which was lake facing. It was my husband's bday the next day so I had asked for a surprise bday cake to be delivered to our room at midnight. Not only was it delivered bang on time but also with candles and the likes. The next day we went for sightseeing to Cherrapunjee. The hotel travel desk arranged for the tour and it was really good. The driver himself acted as the tour guide and was very helpful and friendly. We returned to the hotel at around 6.30 to find another surprise waiting. Our entire room was filled with balloons. Such attention to the smallest details made the trip really special. The service is truly awesome especially Susanne and Dariti was very cordial. I will definitely go back there again and my heartfelt thanks to the people at Ri Kynjai for such a wonderful experience. You are doing a great job.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sayantani_126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new delhi
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

After a somewhat tiring journey from Gauhati airport the moment we stepped out of the car into the porch of this place the vacation started in full earnest.
The resort is located by a lake and a pine tree forest.which provide a feast to the eyes. The lake water looks clear and the flora and fauna in the pine tree forest is awe-inspiring. The gigantic pink colored toad-stools, the brilliantly colored butterflies and the flowers growing by the path help one forget the hustle and bustle of daily life very quickly. This is further helped by the hotel staff who prove the most perfect service in an unobtrusive yet caring way. After spending the day outdoors, one can be assured of a clean room, hot water in a large bathroom and a variety of food to eat. The buffet breakfast offers good choices.

The front and back lawns are very tastefully maintained and there is hut at the back which again offers a great view. The hotel staff silently sail in and out to keep insect repellants.
This is one of those great resorts which helps create magical moments with the family.and a picture album to cherish forever.
To be honest initially i was balking at the rates which they were charging (there were no discounts as peak season was on). However , overall this resort exceedeed our expectations in most parameters,

Room Tip: The Cottage option is outstanding with a lake view. The rooms are large with a mezzanine floor for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indshal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guwahati, India
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Great place to relax and recapture the magic moments with family & friends. The food quality is simply superb ! The view of the lake , the resting areas in the front garden or the short hike to the neighboring village makes it a truly great experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SUMANHAZARIKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guwahati, India
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Hey there.... This place is very peaceful n quite... With an amazing view of the vast lake n clouds laden mountains...very serene. I enjoyed the Food served here in the restaurant.. It's delicious. The menu is a bit costly but food quality is worth it. The property is very clean and trees every where.I love this place

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Farooque A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The view is worth everything! Resort is very tastefully designed and the cottages are perfect. All you need to do is sit out in your balcony and drink in the landscape.Its a surreal painting which changes with the light of the day! The walks in and around are so calming.
Yes, the lunch and dinner can be a bit more inspiring but breakfasts are really good.
All in all, the Ri Kynjai stay is a great experience and a lasting memory. Highly recommended for nature lovers!!

Room Tip: The traditional khasi cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnjaliGrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Its not at all worth the pay. The rooms are not well furnished. The overall experience was very bad. The staff is rude. The facilities are not uptodate. Only the view is good. All amenities are outdated and not available when required. The wheelchair accessibility is a hoax. Not at all worth even a look.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Divyam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiKynjaiShillong, Guest Relations Manager at Ri Kynjai, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Ri Kynjai- Serenity By The Lake!

We are extremely disappointed to see that we have been rated as 1 out of 5.

We have been trying to find out what really went wrong during your stay with us, wherein you had mentioned that your “overall experience was very bad”, but as no such complaints ever came to our notice when you were in the resort, we are finding it a little difficult to understand what your grievances were.

With regards to your requirement of a wheelchair, which you have termed as “hoax”, on investigation from all the departments, we have in fact not been receiving any request for a wheelchair for the past few months, which is normally routed to Front Office Department. We would also like to inform you that we have a wheelchair (which is in a good condition with proper fixtures and fittings) which is readily available on request.

At Ri Kynjai, it is our endeavour to make sure each of our guests have a memorable and comfortable stay at all times.

I kindly request you to send me your contact number on bookings@rikynjai.com so that our General Manager can call you and discuss your grievances personally.

Khublei,
Suzan Shangpliang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shillong hotels
6.1 mi away
Hotel Centre Point
Hotel Centre Point
#3 of 20 in Shillong
276 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Polo Towers
Hotel Polo Towers
#4 of 20 in Shillong
261 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Eee Cee Hotel
The Eee Cee Hotel
#6 of 20 in Shillong
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hotel Poinisuk
Hotel Poinisuk
#12 of 20 in Shillong
61 reviews
6.7 mi away
Cafe Shillong Bed & Breakfast
6.1 mi away
Shaurya Inn
Shaurya Inn
#17 of 79 in Shillong
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ri Kynjai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ri Kynjai

Property: Ri Kynjai
Address: U.C.C Road Ri Bhoi | Uminiuh Khawn, Shillong 793103, India
Region: India > Meghalaya > East Khasi Hills District > Shillong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Shillong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ri Kynjai 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ri Kynjai translates into Khasi as land of serenity. This Spa-Resort presiding over the picturesque Umiam lake 16kms from Shillong is aptly named "Ri Kynjai - Serenity By The Lake". The architecture is inspired and derived from the original Khasi thatch huts. Supported on tall circular stilts on the terrace of the hotel blocks are the hybrid cottages derived from vernacular Khasi architecture. These cottages serve to portray the transition from tradition to modernity and have an interpretation of the traditional upturned boat roof done in metallic thatch fused to modern gables. Each cottage has a fireplace in the living/ bedroom area and the mezzanine floor has an additional bedroom arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ri Kynjai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ri Kynjai Shillong
Ri Kynjai Hotel Shillong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing