We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Gandhara
Nearby Hotels
US$49
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$47
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$76
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Jeevan Sandhya Inn(Puri)(Great Value!)
US$20
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$52
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$22
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$55
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$52
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$51
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$43
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (247)
Filter reviews
247 results
Traveller rating
136
74
19
12
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
136
74
19
12
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolstayed nights in hotelpeaceful hotelnice and clean hotelmajor attractionstrain stationct roadplenty of hot watera lovely place to staycable tvroom was largevegetarian restaurantmaintained roomssmall hotelearly checkmin walkno lift
Filter
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 247 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2014

If you enter the garden and see the people sitting by the pool reading, enjoying drinks or food served there you feel immediately it is a relaxing place. My room was well designed with windows to three sides of it, so it was well lit and the view was nice. It is even better on their roof garden, if you venture to climb up there because the poolside under trees is very seducing, also the table just in front of your room.
The staff is friendly, and I particularly was grateful to be allowed to stay in the garden till evening when my train was scheduled, so I had a place and did not feel homeless for the meantime. Wifi is working well, hot water is provided and the travel agency Gandhara runs next to the hotel was efficient. The location is excellent, 2 minutes walk to the beach and it is right on the mein road with shops and restaurants if you do not prefer to eat in their restaurant which had good food. Since the reception and the restaurant are adjoining the street whereas the guest rooms are on the back of the garden there is no noise from the road.
I enjoyed m pleasant stay there

Everything was clean - in Europe the top windows would be cleaner, but that is the only criticism I can possibly utter.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Gottfried Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Had a few days of vacation in Puri. I loved the hotel - you will meet a lot of back packers. It's a nice space to relax. For india not the cheapest but...it's really clean the food is really good and they give good advise - tourist office.
I really recommend this hotel, but if I woulkd stay longer I would go for simpler without a swimming pool and a less beautifull view - you pay less you get less :)
So go and enjoy :)

Room Tip: I had a room on the roof and I loved it I had a nice view and I had a little terrace - beautiful
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Susanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Everything was excellent. The room, the staff, restaurant and the pool is very well maintained. It is very close to the beach, just walking distance. We even booked one more night extra. We just loved it and would def stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petra v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

But if I did I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.i would recommend going to the temple on a market day and getting fleeced at the library, an adventure all on it own. If you have left your dog behind, they have fine specimen

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Hughlebaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

The Gandhara is deceptive: you step right off the busy main road with its suicidal motorcyclists, honking traffic and wandering pedestrians into a tiny room that serves as the reception, which opens into a small garden.

The hotel comprises 2 buildings, the old building behind the garden serves as the dining area, but behind this is a large courtyard with a big mango tree and a swimming pool, and behind that is the 4-storey hotel with rooms.

The best thing about the Gandhara is its cleanliness: despite the dust of the city, the common areas are swept and mopped, and the swimming pool is clean. Access to the rooms is by means of a staircase only. Rooms have a common corridor with balcony overlooking the pool area.

My room was small but clean and comfortable, airconditioned, with TV and hot water making facilities, and even a room safe. Although this is a budget-style hotel, all flooring was in marble, including the bathroom, which was basic, but the hot water worked, and the towels were clean and fresh.

After a while, the hotel felt rather homely: service is quite good and the owner is usually around, with his big and very friendly half-boxer dog who has the run of the place.
The pool area is pleasant, being tiled, with chairs and tables - an oasis of quiet and cleanliness from the road conditions outside.

Breakfast at the dining area was great - always freshly prepared, so be prepared to wait, but the food is well worth it, at least if you order Indian. The juice was freshly squeezed and the puris and curry were hot and fresh, and the masala tea was wonderfully fragrant with a good dose of ginger.

At the end of a long hot day, it was always pleasant to come back to the cleanliness, quiet and peace at the Gandhara.

Room Tip: The highest rooms are cheapest, have the best views but are also more basic and hottest during the day.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leeyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews