We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Gandhara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Gandhara
Ranked #9 of 78 Hotels in Puri
Mumbai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Hotel Gandhara is a great place to stay in Puri. Staff are friendly & helpful & the hotel itself is a peaceful haven away from the streets. Well maintained rooms & grounds with great food. A wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    65
    16
    10
    6
See reviews for
31
75
42
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

It was an amazing experience at gandhara.There's actually no negative points that I could comment.Starting from the manager to the staffs, kitchen boys,everyone was so courteous and proactive to serve their guests with every comfort.The special attraction is their crystal clear pool.Amazingly maintained by each one of the staffs 24*7.Simply loved it and m sure to choose gandhara only for all my next stays at puri.Kudos to the gandhara team

Room Tip: Left corner rooms are on the pool side,so if you want a pool side view ,choose left corner rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Disari B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

hello we stayed at the place for almost i.5 days, 3rd to 4th May 2014 the owner was quite kind in letting us use the place much before the check inn time . The place is exactly the same with not a pinch of a difference as it appears on web. The breakfast was sumptuous and mouth melting. The staff dere is 24/7 on their toes cleaning the place and to attend the guest. ITS a serene place the most relaxed holiday ive ever had till date . Limca the pet was a brownie for us and a total attraction to the place. The beach is quite near and a better beach dan the usual crowded side (sargodhaar). Il definitely go back and needless to mention the guys in the kitchen was the mostttttttttttt courteous . Gandhara and family thank you for such a good time . I will be back soon

Room Tip: The room on the ground floor near the patio is good AC room with a pool view and sit outside and chi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank temotoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

everything about the place right from the entrance was great. The place houses a small swimming pool, not too deep but was perfect for relaxing by it. The staff were very courteous and would great each time our eyes would meet. The rooms were very clean and the wifi connectivity around the hotel was great. Overall my stay was great and I feel this hotel is undoubtedly one of the best hotels to stay in. Even the owner was very helpful and helped me plan my further trip itinerary. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AD_Vagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Hotel Gandhara is a haven of peace and relaxation in a busy dusty city.
It is impeccably clean.
I had the best food and masala tea of my whole India trip here. The guys in the kitchen cooked me exactly what I wanted!
I had a whole day to wait for my train after check-out and was most welcome to relax in the shade by the pool.
Staff were friendly, helpful and not overbearing.
Wish I could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank PJHSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

The Gandhara Hotel is a total gem. The garden and pool area is a great area to relax. The reasonably priced restaurant served good food and you can watch it being prepared.
Rooms are very nice, clean and well equipped.
If exploring Puri and the surrounding area we would recommend Hotel Gandhara.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beenthere429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Pool garden was nice and quiet as everyone else mentioned, but the room is very basic so don't expect too much of it. Breakfast takes forever to prepare, I had to wait for 25 minutes to get a basic omelet with toast, coffee and juice. And there were no other guests at that time. Check out is 9 am which is ridiculously early, but I had to be a at the airport at 9 so it didn't bother me. If you are afraid of dogs: they have a really big one! But he is extremely friendly and minds his own business most of the time. The place is well maintained, and I think I chose the best place in CT Road Puri to stay, judged on the outside.
All in all: it's an ok place to stay,the price is reasonable but don't spend more than 2 nights in Puri.
Receptionist is a pushy person, and upon arrival she makes you pay the full amount of the room without seeing it. When the credit card machine was out of order at the time of arrival, she immediately asked for cash payment. I find that pretty rude, more so because it is not my problem and staying for two nights she could have suggested to come back and make payment later when all would be in proper working order again. Another irritating thing was that for breakfast one needs a coupon. The guy who served me breakfast asked for it at least four times. there were maximum 10 guests in this tiny hotel. What's the big deal? Either the receptionist should issue breakfast coupons during check in, or not bother with this kind system at all.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank veertje1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puri hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Holiday Resort
2.4 mi away
Hotel Sonar Bangla
Hotel Sonar Bangla
#19 of 78 in Puri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chanakya BNR Hotel
Chanakya BNR Hotel
#7 of 78 in Puri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Chariot Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Hotel Pushpa (Berries Group of Hotels)
1.6 mi away
Mahodadhi Palace
Mahodadhi Palace
#16 of 78 in Puri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gandhara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gandhara

Property: Hotel Gandhara
Address: Chakratirtha Road, Puri 752002, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Odisha > Puri
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 78 Hotels in Puri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Gandhara 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are delighted to offer you the services of Hotel Gandhara located in Puri, Orissa, India. We believe that our modern facilities and pleasant personnel can please all visitors and business travelers. Located in a quiet part of Puri town, just a stones throw from Jagannath Puri Beach, the Hotel Gandhara can meet all your needs and requests. With clean rooms to suit all budgets, we are sure that staying with us will make your trip to India a pleasurable experience. All facilities are available here to make your stay comfortable and easy. With in hotel facilities such as internet access and travel operator, we can really enhance your stay in Puri, together with friendly and helpful staff, the Hotel Gandhara is probably the best hotel in Puri for International travelers. Room service, international menu and cable TV, all set in a beautiful garden atmosphere, really make our hotel a welcome oasis for international travelers. Come and stay with us and experience for yourself the wonderful sights and sounds of Puri in Orissa at a secure hotel with choice of rooms from AC luxury to budget accommodation.WIFI IN ALL ROOMS.We have a long experience in accommodating activities ever since 1984 Hotel PoliciesPS- Information for Indian Tourist.(Please read carefully before booking.)Indian Bachelors (boyfriend & girl friend) are strictly not allowed.( Only we give room for Indian family & couple. Our Hotel is not in the main crowded beach & shopping center. Hotel is closed to Chakratirtha Beach.(Chakratirtha area is very popular for foreigner tourist.Indian tourist not feel very well in our hotel & this area) Pets Policy: Pets are not allowed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Gandhara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing