We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Cozy, Relaxing, Excellent Service”
Review of Hotel Gandhara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Gandhara
Ranked #8 of 81 Hotels in Puri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Me & my boyfriend stay four days Everything from our check-in until we left was excellent.The pool was very clean.Room is little small but lots of extra space in balcony for relax.The staff & Manager were all so friendly and welcoming. Rooms clean everyday.

This is the only excellent wifi Hotel in Puri.

Room Tip: Best wifi of town
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 150kobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Gandhara
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

Gandhara hotel has really good service and helpful stuffs. The rooms and bathrooms are clean, and the food is hygienic and delicious. The ambiance is peaceful and the overall feel is very good. The only problem we faced is electrical issues. The hotel has generator service, but the AC does not work while the hotel is using the generator service. Power cuts are very frequent in the area. We found it very hard to keep the room cool using the AC during frequent power cuts.

Also if you are travelling from kolkata and want to stay near swargadwar, the location of the hotel is not ideal for you, you need to get a auto to go to swargadwar for which you need to spend around 60 Rs. The hotel is not on a beach. You need to walk for 3-4 minutes to visit the beach, but we found that part of the beach is turbulent and not as good as swargadwar beach area.

If you dont mind the location and not travelling in Summer, then the hotel is very very good. and you will get free WiFi which will save you a lot of data roaming cost.

Room Tip: Hotel does not have Lift. If you have problem with staircases choose a room at First Floor.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ManasTheMarvel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

so good rooms! ,good staff!, good food! I stay more than 10 times in this Hotel.The hotel staff are very nice.well maintained garden & swimming pool.The Hotel Manager & staff are very nice.I request all guest to come Gandhara.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nhironori69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The manager/reception desk was utterly unhelpful and rude. Our booking was a prepaid booking through their website, where we accurately described 2 adults and one child - and paid for the amount that the website asked for. But when we reached there, they asked for Rs 750 extra per day for the child. Because it was a prepaid booking, they were not amenable to any logic or reason. They mentioned that if we do not want to pay the extra money, we have the option to leave!

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone who values transparent dealing and good service. And, NEVER EVER book through their website. They do not honour the deal.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ArghyaBanerjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

my husband, daughter and I went to Gandhara to find out about staying there. We were already in another hotel but wanted to first see the rooms in Gandhara to know what they were like. The reception called the manager and they were most unhelpful. They said the rooms were all occupied, so we said ok, at least let us see the gardens and pool, because that was one of our main interests, but they would not allow us in. Even to see that. I felt sorry and it was a waste of time to go there. If already they are like this, I dont think I would want to stay there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank Gaura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gandhara, Manager at Hotel Gandhara, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

What is unhelpful ? we can't allow any outsider to visit our pool & garden at any time. Dear Madam for security reason we are not allow inside.Everybody like our hotel except you.I request tripadvisor to not publish such type of review from a outsider guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Hotel Gandhara is a great place to stay in Puri. Staff are friendly & helpful & the hotel itself is a peaceful haven away from the streets. Well maintained rooms & grounds with great food. A wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

It was an amazing experience at gandhara.There's actually no negative points that I could comment.Starting from the manager to the staffs, kitchen boys,everyone was so courteous and proactive to serve their guests with every comfort.The special attraction is their crystal clear pool.Amazingly maintained by each one of the staffs 24*7.Simply loved it and m sure to choose gandhara only for all my next stays at puri.Kudos to the gandhara team

Room Tip: Left corner rooms are on the pool side,so if you want a pool side view ,choose left corner rooms
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Disari B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puri hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Holiday Resort
2.6 mi away
Jeevan Sandhya Inn
Jeevan Sandhya Inn
#10 of 81 in Puri
43 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chanakya BNR Hotel
Chanakya BNR Hotel
#9 of 81 in Puri
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Pushpa
Hotel Pushpa
#50 of 81 in Puri
182 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mahodadhi Palace
Mahodadhi Palace
#15 of 81 in Puri
181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pramod Convention & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gandhara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gandhara

Address: Chakratirtha Road, Puri 752002, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Odisha > Puri District > Puri
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 81 Hotels in Puri
Price Range: £22 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Gandhara 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are delighted to offer you the services of Hotel Gandhara located in Puri, Orissa, India. We believe that our modern facilities and pleasant personnel can please all visitors and business travelers. Located in a quiet part of Puri town, just a stones throw from Jagannath Puri Beach, the Hotel Gandhara can meet all your needs and requests. With clean rooms to suit all budgets, we are sure that staying with us will make your trip to India a pleasurable experience. All facilities are available here to make your stay comfortable and easy. With in hotel facilities such as internet access and travel operator, we can really enhance your stay in Puri, together with friendly and helpful staff, the Hotel Gandhara is probably the best hotel in Puri for International travelers. Room service, international menu and cable TV, all set in a beautiful garden atmosphere, really make our hotel a welcome oasis for international travelers. Come and stay with us and experience for yourself the wonderful sights and sounds of Puri in Orissa at a secure hotel with choice of rooms from AC luxury to budget accommodation.WIFI IN ALL ROOMS.We have a long experience in accommodating activities ever since 1984 Hotel PoliciesPS- Information for Indian Tourist.(Please read carefully before booking.)Indian Bachelors (boyfriend & girl friend) are strictly not allowed.( Only we give room for Indian family & couple. Our Hotel is not in the main crowded beach & shopping center. Hotel is closed to Chakratirtha Beach.(Chakratirtha area is very popular for foreigner tourist.Indian tourist not feel very well in our hotel & this area) Pets Policy: Pets are not allowed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Gandhara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing