We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel with a nice oceanic view”

Hotel Shakuntala Palace
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puri
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Shakuntala Palace
Ranked #52 of 214 Speciality Lodging in Puri
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I stayed in this hotel for about a week. The rooms are good, service, well, good I will say. View of the ocean from the balcony is just nice. Not very expensive. All in all, a good hotel affordable by average tourists. Good location and affordable price!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SChoudhury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Shakuntala Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

Hotel Shakuntala Palace is just behind Puri Hotel in the Gopal Ballav road.The Hotel is really nice.We stayed in this Hotel for 2 nights only and our experience was awesome.
We got a 4 bedded room in the 1st floor.The room was spacious enough,well decorated.Toilet was ver clean,spacious enough.A nice balcony was there from where we enjoyed a glimpse of the sea.

LOCATION: Sea beach is just a stone throw distance from the Hotel.
FOODING: They have an in-house veg restaurant.We all were purely non veg.So we didnt try much in their restaurant.But every day we used to take the Masala tea which was excellent and the mouth watering Puri Sabji.
Those who are non veg can try in the newly opened Bhajo-Hari Manna Restaurant just beneath Hotel Greenery which is just opposite to Shakuntala Palace Hotel.They serve delicious foods especially we cant forget some of their preparations like Murgir Jhol,Chicken DakBanglow,Notun gurer Icecream,etc.

Staff: All the staffs in this Hotel are quite courteous enough.
Room Service: This is the only Hotel I saw in Puri to have excellent room service facility.
Shortfalls:
AC was not working properly.
All the Bengali TV channels were not available.
If I would not have faced these problems I would have rate this property as an Excellent one.This problems should be rectified promptly.

Room Tip: Choose a room in 2nd Floor to have nice glimpse of sea.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DrAbhisek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

The first thing about this hotel is the position. Situated just opposite to the majestic sea and just a stone throw away from busy Swargdwar, this hotel is a bargain. The rooms are specious with a serene view of the sea (from balcony). The room service is prompt. The food menu is basic but hygienic. The hotel manager is very helpful and the travel desk is very active. In short Hotel Sakuntala is a no fuss basic hotel with all proper amenities.

Room Tip: Try 2nd and 3rd floor AC rooms
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank abhigngly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

The best feature of this simple- no frills property is its proximity to sea in this city of Lord Jagannath Ji. You must stay in the room facing sea. Beach is just across the road. Have a nice view of the Sun rise, Sun set and the Sea.

Room Tip: Stay in this hotel only if you like the Sea view, AND you get the front room facing sea. But the rat...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jayv1504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We had gone to Puri on a religious trip for darshan of Lord Jagannath Puri. We selected this property only for one reason - that we can see sea while relaxing at the room-window. Although not a high fi hotel, the sea beach is across the road, and, therefore, the first floor rooms on the front side are ethe best ones for those who love to have a close feel of the sea. Its a no-frills hotel, and the room rent of the front rooms is sometimes almost double the rent of other rooms. Fo visitors like me, who live in landlocked areas, staying on the sea and watching sea and people at night and early morning is a big attraction.

Room Tip: Front side facing sea on first floor and above
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DGLION
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puri hotels
0.4 mi away
Mahodadhi Palace
Mahodadhi Palace
#15 of 81 in Puri
182 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Pushpa
Hotel Pushpa
#51 of 81 in Puri
182 reviews
1.4 mi away
Jeevan Sandhya Inn
Jeevan Sandhya Inn
#9 of 81 in Puri
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Holiday Resort
1.5 mi away
Hotel Sonar Bangla
Hotel Sonar Bangla
#25 of 81 in Puri
200 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Shree Hari
Hotel Shree Hari
#39 of 81 in Puri
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shakuntala Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shakuntala Palace

Address: Sea Beach Rd, Puri 752001, India
Region: India > Odisha > Puri District > Puri
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 214 Speciality Lodging in Puri
Price Range: £26 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing