We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food for thought” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Camellia Hotel and Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puri
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camellia Hotel and Resort
Ranked #63 of 78 Hotels in Puri
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Food for thought”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

I did not stay in their property but went to have dinner in their restaurant for some great Chinese food. Incidentally I was bowled over by their Chinese food on my earlier visit ( 2008 & 2012). What a huge let down it was. The chowmein was so ordinary and the chicken was stiff. A Chinese dinner joint lost.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abirchatterjee00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    3
    6
    4
    16
See reviews for
28
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durgapur, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

Even if after so many negative review I booked this hotel.I stayed here from 25.03.13 to 28.03.13 for three nights with my family.The location of this hotel is very good.you can enjoy the sea from your room.The staffs are very well behaved especially the house keeping staffs.The food was awesome but the service is very poor.They don't know how to talk with the guest & how to say no to a guest.Camellia is a very renowned group so I would request to the management to do some thing with the maintenance.Its total interior is out of date.All the rooms are affected by termites.At the end I can say do book this hotel for a good location & good food which are main when you are in Puri.

Room Tip: Room no 214 & 215 Have a great Sea View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012

We went their for Brother wedding. The walls were broken ,Lift out of order. You could here people from other room. The only good thing is its location and beach facing view. Food is average. We booked a cab thorough them which came 1 hour late. Food was very ordinary.Only good thing was its location opposite beach. For most part no electricity back up and AC and Cable was not working.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vikram297628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puri hotels

DELHI
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

We planned Puri trip during Jan 2012. We were surprised by the conditions of the so called Deluxe Rooms. Termites were in command over the wooden doors and furniture. Electrical boars were hanging from the wall.

We booked the room with an extra bed for our child which they additionally charged Rs.800.00 per night. It was a folding cot fixed with a mattress. The cot broke down soon after the installation. The housekeeping staff told me on the condition of anonymity that the cot was already damaged and since they dis not repair the cot , the manager insisted to install the defective cot as "AN EXTRA BED". The next day they changed that but that was slightly better conditioned furniture than the previous one.

The break fast was very bad and they repeated the same menu every day. IT IS VERY LIMITED TOO.

Staff was OK, but they too feel that the management sitting at KOLKATA is not taking interest in this property.

Overall it is a very bad experience and I would like to stay in the waiting room of Puri Railway station than to opt for this property.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ASGDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kolkata
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

Shall never ever dream of visiting this Hotel in my lifetime.Went there in the month of March 2012 with my family. Initially it was assured that pick up service from station shall be provided. To my utter dismay found no escort car from the Hotel and had to arrange own vehicle to the Hotel. However thought the Room must be of our liking. Again disappointment was wating for us. Room had a mini fridge but it was not working. Toilet had a geisure and again that was not working. All the doors were termite affected. Requested the Manager to change the Room or Upgrade the room as we shall be paying the difference amount. Nobody seems to have any interest for the comfort of the Boarder.
HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE. Avoid this place even if you are not getting any accomodation in Puri.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joyofeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kolkata
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

Fantastic sea view from the Hotel room. Service is excellent, all the staff are very helpful. Food is excellent. We spent a wonderful times throughout our stay. I would rather like to go in again and again in Camellia.

Room Tip: Go for Premium Room / Suite Room(3rd Floor) in Camellia
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Roumo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

I enjoyed my stay in Camellia Hotel Puri with my Family.. It was a great experience. The Service, Food and room are excellent.
If you go to Puri then this hotel is the best option for you.

The tariffs are quite less and the chinese food is awesome.

Room Tip: The Premium rooms and the suite rooms will be excellent choice for you all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Amit R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puri hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Shree Hari
Hotel Shree Hari
#29 of 78 in Puri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Golden Dust
Hotel Golden Dust
#52 of 78 in Puri
3.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pushpa (Berries Group of Hotels)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jeevan Sandhya Inn
Jeevan Sandhya Inn
#23 of 78 in Puri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Holiday Resort
1.0 mi away
Hotel Shakti International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camellia Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camellia Hotel and Resort

Property: Camellia Hotel and Resort
Address: New Marine Drive Road | Swargadwar Puri, Puri 752001, India
Region: India > Odisha > Puri
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 78 Hotels in Puri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 40

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing