We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD HOTEL WITH SCOPE FOR BEING EXCELLENT”
Review of Mahodadhi Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mahodadhi Palace
Ranked #16 of 81 Hotels in Puri
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“GOOD HOTEL WITH SCOPE FOR BEING EXCELLENT”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Property was good and better than our expectation. We booked for a wooden cottage, but on check in, found it to be too small to accomodate a family. However, got an upgradation to a room (#108) which was spacious, at no extra cost. The attached balcony was huge, but in comparison, the toilet could have been a little bigger. Room service and overall behaviour of all the staff we came accross was pleasing and satisfactory. Swimming pool was small and cozy, but who cares for a swimming pool when sea was just a stone throw away. The reception also arranged for vehicle for our trip to Satpara (Chilika) which was comfortable for us. Complementary breakfast was elaborate but a bit monotonous. However, the only bitter taste it left was on the last night, when we got packed food from the adjacent restaurant ("Mostly Grilled"), in which the Chicken Malai Kabab, bought for my 11 year old son was found to be absolutely stale, which he did point out but only after gulping a large part of it, and since it was too late in the night, we did not go for reporting it. In fact after all the good experiences of our staying we did not expect that the restaurant could spoil the same in such a crude fashion.

Room Tip: Wooden cottages on the roof top are too small and somewhat lack in comfortable feeling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jaideepbarnali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    59
    35
    15
    12
See reviews for
123
27
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paradeep, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Me and my Family stayed for 2 nights and 3 days in this month 9th and 10th May 2014,
the hotel we book directly through highly recommend by my friends who had visited during Holi .
Well the Hotel Looks Like palace with old Heritage Building, But interior of the Hotel is just Superb, Nice well maintain Swimming pool , surprise to sea Hotel still have nice and beautiful antic Furniture's, Each and every staff of Mahodadhi are very nice humble and cooperative.
we find the Hotel is very quite and peace for Relaxing .

Hotel is just located on the beach , we had breakfast at Vithal kamat Restaurant , the captain recommended us to try their Vithal Vada and Rawa Dosa , we had first time had such different dosa in Puri.

We really enjoyed our Holiday because of Mahodadhi, Thanks to entire team.

Room Tip: Room no # 102
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sanjay_1112014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort M, General Manager at Mahodadhi Palace, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We have always believed that travelling with a team or group is a stressful endeovour, and if we are able to provide customer service that would lessen some of that stress, then we are on the right track. all of our staff believe in providing that personalized service,
We look forward to another opportunity to host you at our property, and once again, thank you for your positive comments!

Warm Regards,

Rehman Khan
GENERAL MANAGER
FORT MAHODADHI
You can call me any point of time on my Number 91- 9090093455
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I stayed here with my family for 2 nights in April and this is a heritage property. The rooms are quite spacious and the hotel is bang opposite Puri beach. In fact you can see a portion of the sea from a few rooms on the ground floor. The location of the hotel is perfect and that too right on the beach road. Beach is just 2 mins walking from the hotel. The tariff at the hotel is on the higher side and i wont comment if its just right or expensive. It depends upon what the individual can afford. The food at the rooftop restaurant is good and you can actually enjoy the sea and cool breeze from the restaurant. Pro's: Location and Food. Con's: Though the rooms are large and spacious its not well maintained. The bathroom was too small and not maintained. There's only a bathtub but no shower. There were no buckets in there and it would be little discomfort for anyone who's not used to bathtub. Unfortunately i didnt take any photos of the rooms that i could publish here. I was wrongly charged for bottled water and some snacks from the minibar which was not consumed. The hotel insisted that i should pay for it whereas i had'nt used them. I finally paid it as i was getting late for Bhubaneshwar. This was not expected from such a hotel who cannot keep a track of its own inventory.. I even mentioned the same in my feedback. The breakfast is tasty however the menu was same for almost 3 days. I dont know why the hotel kept the same menu everyday.
Overall an average stay. I would suggest you can look for other options in this tariff and only choose Fort Mahodadhi if you dont have a choice.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor are partial sea facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sudesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort M, General Manager at Mahodadhi Palace, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I will definitely look into these items that you have noted, and make the appropriate corrections.
We hope that you will give us another opportunity to be of service to you, and we want you to know that we appreciate your Suggestion !

Warm Regards

Rehman Khan
GENERAL MANAGER
FORT MAHODADHI
You can call me any point of time on my Number 91- 9090093455
gm@fortmahodadhi.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed for a night at this wonderful heritage Victorian property. Perhaps one of the few remaining properties in a old Victorian building with huge gardens and lawns on the beach front and a perfect beach front location. The rooms were great, spacious, high ceilings, with a big verandah facing the sea. Bathrooms renovated, and decent size though quite tight I must say. A wonderful and well maintained pool at the back gardens. A roof top restaurant made in village ambience, overlooking the Bay of Bengal with cool breeze to keep you comfortable even in high summers. Reception was efficient, check in was quick, room service was kind of ok. But thats where it ends..........

Food was a big disappointment, without going into the details, the preparations leave short of expectations and does not cater to any traditional Oriya dishes which are so well known across the country. The hotel has undergone the first phase of renovation, however it is time to pump in some more.....the entire flooring of the hotels needs to be changed. They are old, cracked, dull and does not give a good look at all. The gardens are maintained, but more could be done, since there are huge lawns with shrubs and bushes left like the wild. The furniture in the rooms are bad and old, some of them need repairs and changes immediately. We asked for wifi password, and the reception said the GM has gone home, so nothing could be done now and the GM does not share the password with any one. When pressed further, reception said they will check and come back, which never happened. Bed & bath linens need complete change and replacement. A welcome step would be to provide rubber room slippers which can be used to walk to the beach.

In spite of all this, the place is wonderful and a lot more could be achieved with the management going a bit extra. The lady in the reception was wonderful and supportive at all times.

Room Tip: Any room would be fine since almost all of them face the sea, but look for 103.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SoumenChowdhury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort M, General Manager at Mahodadhi Palace, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guest,
We really appreciate that you took the time to write a review of our property. The staff have worked very hard to provide the level of service that is expected, and in most cases, go above and beyond.
I would like to personally apologize for the series of unfortunate incidences that you experienced during your stay with us. We continually try to do our very best for all of our guests, but unfortunately, sometimes we do fail.
I will look into each issue that you have noted, in an attempt to correct and improve our hotel policies.
I would invite you to contact me personally at- 91-9090093455 (direct line), to discuss this with you further. (email is gm@fortmahodadhi.com)

Warm Regards,

Rehman Khan
GENERAL MANAGER
FORT MAHODADHI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

This is one of my best holiday becoz of fort mahodadhi, we are 4 adults, and my dad was physically challanged Mr Rehman upgrade oyr room becoz of dad, service was excellent all the staff were friendly, food was amazing.hotel is in good location.complete worth of money

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Abhishek J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort M, General Manager at Mahodadhi Palace, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We really appreciate your comments. The hotel industry in our city is extremely competitive, and we are very pleased that you have chosen our hotel for your Holiday .
We look forward to being of service to you again soon


Regards

Rehman Khan
GENERAL MANAGER
FORT MAHODADHI
You can call me any point of time on my Number 91- 9090093455
gm@fortmahodadhi.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I have something for staying in heritage places and old buildings ....... Fort Mahodadhi didn't disappoint, very different experience, lawns and drive way is extremely helpful to keep the buzz and noise out .... whist we could see the sea right from the swimming pool ! for the first time may be I did hit the gym while on a holiday ! I like the place very relaxing. Interiors need attention, service needs to be a notch higher ! and please have a 24hrs café !!! we like to order at odd hrs ;-P

Room Tip: chose the suites here !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelFad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort M, General Manager at Mahodadhi Palace, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to review Fort Mahodadhi, Puri on TripAdvisor.

I am sorry to learn of the inconvenience you experienced during your recent stay with us. Your feedback is learning for us.

We have started 24 hours Restaurant Service With nice Round the Clock Menu .

I do hope you will return to stay with us in the near future. The Fort Mahodadhi team looks forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards


REHMAN KHAN
General Manager
Fort Mahodadhi, Puri
gm@fortmahodadhi.com , Direct : 91- 9090093455
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new delhi
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

we had visited this hotel on 20-03-14 and 21-03-14 with family in a very heritage looking hotel with clean and arranged décor with a luxurious feel. the rooms had a sitting area also and two of our rooms shared a large balcony for private sitting with a clear sea view. a clean swimming pool with a baby pool was a great attraction for the kids. the food was delicious & homely and the service, excellent. the first floor orrisan village style restaurant with bamboo lanterns and terracota pieces is soothing to eyes, which looks chic. they also have a bar which we did not use.best part was that the service of the staff was very forthcoming and efficient. second day we had some trouble with the airconditioner, the GM Mr. Rahman, personally attended to the problem with his tech. staff and got it sorted within half an hour. he was also gracious enough to offer a suit room just in case the ac did not work properly at night. must say, a very cosy and comfortable stay with family (including senior citizens). they also arrange for pandit, who is very efficient and I highly recommend that you must avail his services. he is not those money minded pandits of the temple.

Room Tip: rooms facing sea are excellent. we took 103 and 104 which had a large balcony and were alo interconn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank manishkumar343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort M, General Manager at Mahodadhi Palace, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Mr. Manish,

Greetings from the Fort Mahodadhi, Puri.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at Fort Mahodadhi.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.


Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.


We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to Fort Mahodadhi soon.


Warm Regards,

Rehman Khan
GENERAL MANAGER
FORT MAHODADHI
DIRECT – 91- 9090093455, gm@fortmahodadhi.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puri hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Holiday Resort
1.6 mi away
Hotel Gandhara
Hotel Gandhara
#8 of 81 in Puri
221 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sonar Bangla
Hotel Sonar Bangla
#25 of 81 in Puri
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Hans Coco Palms
The Hans Coco Palms
#6 of 81 in Puri
377 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pushpa (Berries Group of Hotels)
1.5 mi away
Chanakya BNR Hotel
Chanakya BNR Hotel
#9 of 81 in Puri
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahodadhi Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahodadhi Palace

Property: Mahodadhi Palace
Address: Sea Beach Road | Near Swargadwar, Puri 752001, India
Region: India > Odisha > Puri District > Puri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 81 Hotels in Puri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mahodadhi Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mahodadhi Palace is the perfect amalgam of old-era charm, contemporary opulence and absolute comfort. Gazing the vast Bay of Bengal is Mahodadhi Palace, an impressive red stone monument that once was the summer palace of Maharaja Panchkot. Today, Mahodadhi Palace is a world-class hotel that offers top-of-the-line facilities for travellers who love to have a perfect vacation. This Puri Beach hotel is one of the best heritage hotels in Puri, Orissa, and is the perfect haven for people seeking respite from mundane affairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Mahodadhi Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing