We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very personalised experience”
Review of Hotel Gajapati

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Gajapati
Ranked #45 of 81 Hotels in Puri
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A very personalised experience”
Reviewed 18 January 2013

During January 25 to 30 last year, I had ocasion to organise my daughter's engagement in Hotel Gajapati. Since a number of guests were visiting from outside, we had booked many rooms and requested them to organise the entire event. Though not located directly on the beach (less than five minutes walk from the sea beach), this hotel has a number of sea facing rooms with beautiful sight of the sea. In factfrom one wing one has good rooms and really wonderful sight of the sea. The other wing is also ok, but rooms are a little small. Price is competitive, the staff very cordial and the place is managed fairly professionally. The hotel has a small lawn bedecked with flowering plants and a hall for functions. During the period we stayed, ISKON had regular functions every day. It worked well for us too.

The hotel has facilities to organise good Darshan of Lord Jagannath, In fact, this was one of the great advantages that we had at this place. It is a little far from the temple. But regular autos are available and the hotel organises transport on request at comparative rates.

Since our food was pre ordered with them, I am not able to comment on general menu the serve. Food was good but could be better and more professional. Lift is not there. Older people will have to be on ground floor.
Overall I like the place and was grateful to the management for helping me immensely with the function.

Room Tip: Sea facing corner rooms in the wing just above thre reception counter are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank asokadas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    19
    12
    5
    7
See reviews for
25
9
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Good hotel. It seem to be a new construction and have been maintained like new. Rooms are well-maintained and clean. Service is good. Food is really good and they took special order for our kid. The hotel is walking distance from beach.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bhaskar_Bhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

The stay was a memorable one. Everyone attended us from the beginning to the end. We could select our rooms on arrival. Room service was great! Downstairs the restaurant was nice and clean.
The walk to the beach was a bit more than pain, through the unsealed roads. We liked the attached varandahs/balconies to the gardens inwards.
At times it was a bit noisy. But just be careful. It can be a great fun when u get wrong thing delivered to your room!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dolabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhubaneswar
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We booked a room at this hotel for two days. from the check in to the check out our experience was very pathetic. While check in we have to wait minimum 30 mins in the lobby while we're told to wait for 5 minutes. The behaviour of the receptionist was so rude.
Room quality was good. Cleaningness was there. AC was not working all the time. Phone was also not working, there was also no calling bell. If we need some thing, we had to go tothe reception. Behaviour of the hotel staff was also not good. We ordered 2 bottle of mineral water, but they took more than 1 hour for water. overall experience was very bad.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
3 Thank niharswain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puri hotels

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We had a great experience with service, food and overall ambience with amazing warm staff to help us. it was a visit with friends and most importantly the food was awesome, ranging from veg to sea food, which was a class apart! Looking forward to visit again :)

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SabrinaFerns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kolkata
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We wanted to visit puri during the christmas holidays and we did not find any vacancy in any hotel.Then we heard about hotel gajapati from a friend of ours who told us that we can find some space over there.While booking,the hotel manager promised us to give us a sea facing a room with a balcony.But when we reached the hotel,they didn't even welcome us and take our luggage,we had to tell them and then they worked.The receptionist told us that they didnot have a sea facing room vacant.When we asked him to talk to the person through whom we had booked a room in the hotel,he appeared to be very angry and after feww seconds of talking he was going to throw our mobile phone.The service was also very poor and we had to constantly tell the room service to clean our room and provide the necessary like soaps,towels etc.Some of their staff were good and well behaved but the majority were terrible.Such idiotic hotels just destroy the respect and beauty of puri's beach and accomodation.Overall it was not a very good experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank swarnaKolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ranchi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Hotel is far from Sea Beach. the behavior of staff is very unfriendly. Room service is very poor. AC not working properly.quality of food is very poor, overall experience was very poor, not like to visit again to this hotel.

Room Tip: Room r good but service need to improved. stuff behavior must need to improved.Food quality must imp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pramod_simt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puri hotels
0.4 mi away
Jeevan Sandhya Inn
Jeevan Sandhya Inn
#21 of 81 in Puri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Golden Dust
Hotel Golden Dust
#55 of 81 in Puri
3.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Pushpa (Berries Group of Hotels)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Sapphire International
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sonar Bangla
Hotel Sonar Bangla
#18 of 81 in Puri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Pearl
The Pearl
#46 of 81 in Puri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gajapati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gajapati

Property: Hotel Gajapati
Address: New Marine Drive Road | Baliapanda, Puri 752001, India
Region: India > Odisha > Puri District > Puri
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 81 Hotels in Puri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Gajapati is one of the most luxurious hotel in Puri; if you think of comfort, if you think of hospitality, if you think of security, if you think of some local delights, then make your destination Hotel Gajapati, Puri, Orissa. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing