We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Puri - Golden Sands, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ranked #12 of 81 Hotels in Puri
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Phialin”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

On 11th October 2013 we reached puri. We had our booking in sterling golden sands. We were so casual about Phialin because we didn't knew what a severe cyclone is. From next day noon rain and wind started and we thought that was cyclone but we were so very wrong. We were repeatedly asking the resort staffs about the cyclone that, will the waves come up,will the glass window break and all this, they were very sweet with us and ensured us that if the waves comes up upto the resort (which is quite high from the sea beach) the hole of puri will be under water,but the glass window might break. In afternoon the wind became very strong and it was heavily raining. The resort manager Mr.Dhanraj Paul was truly a man who can take care of so many guests in a crisis period like that. He was really the captain of the ship who sailed us safely. Mr.paul called all the guests in the lobby for an urgent meeting to say what should we do during the cyclone and also asked for our opinion. We were informed from the reception that Phialin will hit Gopalpur at 5:30pm. After that we got to know that it's comming on 7:00pm then at 8:15pm we were asked to be brave, be strong Phialin is going to hit Gopalpur at 8:45pm. Oh my God, never did we imagined in our wildest dream that this is what a severe cyclone is. The outside view from our glass window was so frightening, it seemed like Lakhs of mad elephants was running round us,big big trees was uprooted like grasses, windows and doors was banging like anything. All the staff of the resort was through out ready for us whole night. Every time we called the reception that night there was someone always ready for us to answer,to give us support,to say that they are sitting for us not to get tensed everything will be ok. At 3:30pm we were informed from the reception that Phialin has left Orissha. At6:30 we all guests came out of our apartments and greeted each other. In the evening Mr.Paul and the resorts staffs organised a beautiful party just to say Yyyyyooooohhhhh Phialin we r safe---we are happy. It will be very memorable experience for us all through our life. And all the staffs of sterling golden Sandra Puri, Hats off to you,all of you are gems of sterling we are proud of you and wish to visit the resort many more times just because of you. Special mention should be made of Sagarika you were the sweetest,Pratima you were so caring and last but not the least Mr.Dhanraj Paul we salute you. Love you all the starling staffs.

Room Tip: Each and every room in good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Baruipur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    104
    73
    23
    33
See reviews for
220
52
5
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I had stayed with my family at The Golden Sands, Puri and it was truly a memorable experience. The resort is well spread out and elegant. However, their true assets are the well trained staff who always serve you with a smile and go out of their way to fulfill all your needs.
The F&B was fantastic. I should specially mention the name of Mr. Tarun Goswami who took exceptional care of all our culinary needs with total finesse & élan.
Rooms & bathrooms are well maintained and cleaned properly however they are basic and am sure the interiors could be improved a bit.
On the whole we had a fantastic vacation :-)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SubhrajyotiC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hubli-Dharwad, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The Property as such is an exquisite beauty where I had been with my family in early April 2013. Unfortunately at the time I saw it, nearly 2 buildings were unfinished. The demand is good but unless these 2 buildings are completed, Sterling is taking a beating on its reputation. I am a member for the past 17 years, but have started utilising the holidays only last year & have gone to 3 resorts so far. The staff though are co-operative & very congenial. The make up it needs is the Infrastructure like telecom, house keeping, painting etc. I was told by both Tarun Goswami & Dhanraj Paul that they would be taking up the resort for refurbishment in about 1 1/2 months time from April. If a little make over, the property being at the head of the sea, I bet will be a big hit. Given a chance with upgraded facilities I would love to make another visit to Golden Sands Puri with the courteous staff. Most of all I was touched by the compassion shown to my younger son, a Mentally & Physically challenged child by the kitchen staff in providing choicest of foods for his special requirements. Attarbhai is a wonderful host & so is Sagarika on the reception counter with her senior.. Dr. Gautam Haldipur, Hubli, Karnataka.

Room Tip: The Property is a beauty. Only make sure to check if it has undergone a makeover post April 2013. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 894paarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamshedpur, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2013

One of the best Resort in the city, with fantastic view and a farm house sort of interiors. Excelent and warm welcoming service with cheerful staff always eager to serve the best. A must to have an experience place. Planning for my next trip soon.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Bay of Bengal and the Beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rupam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kolkata india
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Checked in on 10th morning only to be taken to a room which had filthy sheets, damp smell, different coloured lights (2 bulbs), spoilt fridge, smelly toilet with no toilet paper ! Just a start. Asked for ice with my coke-they don't have ice; then I threatened to write a negative review online so they scraped out a few cubes from God knows where. I got an allergey with their bed sheets and they didn't have any medical facility. I asked for green tea- an alien word to them! Asked for masala chai- they said they can't give beverages between 3_5 pm ! ;) No beach towels when the ones I had got wet- they gave me some dirty towels with food marks all over. In the morning the ac,light,fan went off due to fluctuations in electricity-to add to my horror my mobile charger which was plugged in got burnt!! I suggest any one to planning to stay in this so-called hotel to actually stay on the local puri beach and camp out instead of staying in this piece on land which has some rooms and calls itself a hotel. Oh not to forget, I had a few honey bees and dead spiders outside my window. All the best to Sterlings for their future endevaors.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swastisinghal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Puri - Golden Sands, A Sterling Holidays Resort, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Sterling Holidays! We are concerned about the inconvenience caused during your stay at our resort. Your feedback has been shared with the resort management and the issues will be taken into consideration for improvements.

We would like to share with you that we are currently in the process of renovating our resorts in phases. Already three of our resorts in Kodaikanal, Munnar and Ooty have been renovated. We have also begun renovating rooms across our other resorts and hope to complete the upgradation of all our resorts over the next two years.

Sterling is committed to delivering high service standards and ensuring that our guests have a memorable holiday. We hope that you will visit us again and give us an opportunity to serve you better. We deeply value your feedback and want to thank you for taking the time out to let us know your views.

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puri hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Mumbai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I visited the hotel on 03/10/13.I stayed for 2 days.There is no road,last building in puri and no cell phone coverage in the hotel.Food is not tastier.service is good.In the amenities you said free WI-fi but is is not there.They will say that we have a boat man to drop you at sea but he will not be available.At last not so good place to stay.
ranga410@gmail.com
09912220164

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Ranga Rao K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Puri - Golden Sands, A Sterling Holidays Resort, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Sterling Holidays! We thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. We are concerned about your experience and have taken note of all the points you have raised.

We would like to share with you that we are currently in the process of renovating our resorts in phases. Already three of our resorts in Kodaikanal, Munnar and Ooty have been renovated. We have also begun renovating rooms across our other resorts and hope to complete the process over the next two years.

At Puri – Golden Sands, we are looking at the renovation plans and hope to address the beach access issue when we begin work at the resort.

At Sterling, we have been working hard to ensure that we deliver a memorable Holiday Dining experience to our guests and are disappointed that your experience was not satisfactory. We would like to assure you that this is an aberration judging by the favourable reviews we have been receiving for all our resorts, including the one in Puri.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puri hotels
4.1 mi away
Hotel Holiday Resort
0.2 mi away
The Chariot Resort & Spa
4.1 mi away
Chanakya BNR Hotel
Chanakya BNR Hotel
#8 of 81 in Puri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hotel Gandhara
Hotel Gandhara
#7 of 81 in Puri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Sonar Bangla
Hotel Sonar Bangla
#19 of 81 in Puri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Hans Coco Palms
The Hans Coco Palms
#6 of 81 in Puri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri - Golden Sands, A Sterling Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri - Golden Sands, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Property: Puri - Golden Sands, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Address: 255/2 And 255/3, Puri 752002, India
Region: India > Odisha > Puri District > Puri
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 81 Hotels in Puri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Puri - Golden Sands, A Sterling Holidays Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Puri - Golden Sands, A Sterling Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing