We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay for my Guest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Puri - Golden Sands, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ranked #11 of 81 Hotels in Puri
Reviewed 28 November 2013

My Guest Sri Ashok Jain ,Dibrugargh stayed with his Family for three days from 15-11-2013 to 17-11-2013 and as informed by him their stay was very comfortable and they enjoyed very much. Though I had a planning to stay with my family Cyclone last month. I cancelled the Vacation one day prior and Sterling had kind enough to cancel my Booking without debiting any point to my Account. Thanks to Sterling Managment for quick response on my genuine problem. Definitely we are going to visit PURI Resort very soon.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 050559pawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (363)
There are newer reviews for Puri - Golden Sands, A Sterling Holidays Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 363 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

Pls. never stay at this resort. Area wise it is huge but so poorly maime & intained:( :( So much money was wasted. I still feel terrible thinking of it. We had visited early november 2013. First of all, the location is very remote. It doesnt have view of beach etc & you have to cross kachcha road to read here. The resort has been made in huge area but no cleanliness, no maintenance at all. The gardens are mockery on greenery. Waterbodies/ fountains not working. Rooms are again big but not clean & maintained. you will feel as if noone has stayed here since long time. OVERALL EXTREMELY POOR! :( :( I wish i would have read others reviews before visiting this place & wasting precious time & money. Also, want to mention it was too expensive. We thought if they are charging 4000, it will be good, but ZERO value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Priyanka P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed at this resort in early November 2013. This is a great place to stay if you are looking to be away from the tourist crowds. They have a strip of beach right in front of the hotel where you can relax with family and let the kids be without worrying about them being lost in a crowd. The resort provides for a lifeguard if desired. The staff is well trained warm and friendly and well trained. Food is excellent and easy on the pocket. The rooms come with a kitchenette which again is helpful if you have kids with you. We had a differently abled person with us and the staff took great care with providing rooms with easy wheelchair access. on the whole a very pleasant stay. The only minus point is the bad approach road and lack of street lights in the whole stretch.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssc21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

Its not the hotel we want but we had no option as we booked through online and stayed as we paid money. The hoyel rooms are smelling badly and not clean, location is horrible as there isnt proper roads to go there by car. I wo t recommend this hotel to a yone at all. Please avoid staying here.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Vijay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

3.5 *s is what it deserves, but considering the other aspects the other half swung in its favour.

Pros : Location - away from the humdrum of the beach, crowd , food - tasty and is easy on the wallet , spacious rooms - multi rooms for children and parents + kitchen , Pool, proximity to the beach - across the fence , gardens in the property (the bloom depends on the season you go - dont think, they manage it well during summrs ) . peaceful and kind of lonely. best times are monsoon if you like to be in the lonely beach while its raining and during winters.

Cons : the approach road to this is bad (am being generous ), the hotel provides transportaion at a fee , but at other times, the auto guys take you to ransom , with all the rape & shape happening i would request, lonely ladies , couples to be wary at all times as we seemed to have developed a patent for raping in 2/3/4/6/8/ all wheelers , the heater that they provide is not enough / powerful during winter , the rooms were old world and screamed lack of maintenance (though i think some one mentioning that the management has changed and one can look forward for a better facility - not sure how much has it taken shape), we also stayed in one row of rooms, there is a small alley that runs parallel (behind) to the bathrooms and there were lots of scratches in the window panes. If its lighted inside, there is no way you can know if there is someone standing on the otherside as its very dark there. i checked my room and did this with the adj room and found the same problem there also. Not implying anything - but its better to be careful. dont want to stare at myself in the internet with soap all over the body...

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gop G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

On 11th October 2013 we reached puri. We had our booking in sterling golden sands. We were so casual about Phialin because we didn't knew what a severe cyclone is. From next day noon rain and wind started and we thought that was cyclone but we were so very wrong. We were repeatedly asking the resort staffs about the cyclone that, will the waves come up,will the glass window break and all this, they were very sweet with us and ensured us that if the waves comes up upto the resort (which is quite high from the sea beach) the hole of puri will be under water,but the glass window might break. In afternoon the wind became very strong and it was heavily raining. The resort manager Mr.Dhanraj Paul was truly a man who can take care of so many guests in a crisis period like that. He was really the captain of the ship who sailed us safely. Mr.paul called all the guests in the lobby for an urgent meeting to say what should we do during the cyclone and also asked for our opinion. We were informed from the reception that Phialin will hit Gopalpur at 5:30pm. After that we got to know that it's comming on 7:00pm then at 8:15pm we were asked to be brave, be strong Phialin is going to hit Gopalpur at 8:45pm. Oh my God, never did we imagined in our wildest dream that this is what a severe cyclone is. The outside view from our glass window was so frightening, it seemed like Lakhs of mad elephants was running round us,big big trees was uprooted like grasses, windows and doors was banging like anything. All the staff of the resort was through out ready for us whole night. Every time we called the reception that night there was someone always ready for us to answer,to give us support,to say that they are sitting for us not to get tensed everything will be ok. At 3:30pm we were informed from the reception that Phialin has left Orissha. At6:30 we all guests came out of our apartments and greeted each other. In the evening Mr.Paul and the resorts staffs organised a beautiful party just to say Yyyyyooooohhhhh Phialin we r safe---we are happy. It will be very memorable experience for us all through our life. And all the staffs of sterling golden Sandra Puri, Hats off to you,all of you are gems of sterling we are proud of you and wish to visit the resort many more times just because of you. Special mention should be made of Sagarika you were the sweetest,Pratima you were so caring and last but not the least Mr.Dhanraj Paul we salute you. Love you all the starling staffs.

Room Tip: Each and every room in good
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Baruipur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vijay P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Puri - Golden Sands, A Sterling Holidays Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puri hotels
4.1 mi away
Hotel Holiday Resort
0.2 mi away
The Chariot Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
The Hans Coco Palms
The Hans Coco Palms
#6 of 81 in Puri
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Pramod Convention & Beach Resort
4.2 mi away
Hotel Gandhara
Hotel Gandhara
#8 of 81 in Puri
223 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mayfair Heritage
Mayfair Heritage
#4 of 81 in Puri
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri - Golden Sands, A Sterling Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri - Golden Sands, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Address: 255/2 And 255/3, Puri 752002, India
Region: India > Odisha > Puri District > Puri
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 81 Hotels in Puri
Price Range: £45 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Puri - Golden Sands, A Sterling Holidays Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Puri - Golden Sands, A Sterling Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing