We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, quiet room, good restaurant”
Review of Hotel Baboo Soorya

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kanchipuram
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Baboo Soorya
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Kanchipuram
Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Nice place, quiet room, good restaurant”
Reviewed 17 August 2011

I stayed at this hotel during an organized tour to Kanchipuram. The AC room was nice and quiet. The bed was confortable but not the huge and hard pillow. There were holes and stains on the bedsheets, but they seemed to have been washed. The towels were used and grey but clean. Bathroom was clean. We got toilet paper after requesting it. Overall, the room was nice. The reception lobby was quite impressive. As in many big Indian hotels, there are (too) many staff around. There is a staircase and a lift. I did not much interact with the staff, but they seemed ok... there was a funny guy dressed in a traditional suit that is supposed to open the door of the restaurant when you approach it. Quite a nice dress, turban and moustache (folkloric enough?).
Overall, it is well maintained. We much appreciated the food in the AC restaurant downstairs, but I'd recommend that you'd go out for a cheaper place for the breakfast.
The good thing I was surprised by was the quietness of the room (no noise from the street nor from inside the hotel). Nice place to sleep.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vegigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    10
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
15
5
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

I went to this hotel following a recommendation from Frommers. It is very convenient to get to especially if you're coming off the bus (it's only three or four blocks away from the bus stand). The hotel is pretty nice with a large lobby (with English speaking staff), a restaurant and tasteful decorations. The rooms were quite large and the shower was spotless. The hotel is also conveniently located next to some temples (not really hard to do, though, given the size of Kanchipuram). The only drawback I would say is the price-the hotel is twice the price of other budget hotels. While there are definitely a few more amenities in this hotel than your typical budget hotel, the price is still relatively high by Indian standards. Still, if you're looking for a nice, clean place to unwind, this is one of the best options in Kanchipuram.

Room Tip: Get an AC room towards the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmericanTourist78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell
Level 6 Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2011

This was a great base for our short stay in Kanchipuram. The town itself is busy and noisy, albeit fascinating, and Hotel Baboo Soorya was situated right in the middle of it, but down a quiet side-road. It meant you were within easy walking distance of the temples, bus stand etc. but could also escape the bustle within seconds of arriving at the hotel.

The reception staff spoke English and were courteous and helpful. The grand open foyer was immediately impressive and our standard air conditioned room was also pleasing. It was relatively simple, but comfortable and clean. As with most of the Tamil Nadu town hotels we stayed at, there was nowhere to sit out and our window just looked out on the walls of other buildings, but this seems to be the norm. You would not leave a window open around here anyway, as there were several monkeys always looking for a way in!

We booked and paid for the hotel through Octopus Travel/Trip Advisor using Pay-Pal which made it a very easy and safe way to arrange the booking from the UK, as opposed to several hotels which required bank account transfers for the deposit.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Kanchipuram for business or pleasure and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
3 Thank SusieStAustell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2010

We booked this during our friend's marriage and had a lot of fun.. The hotel has a bar with it which is one of the most famous bar in Kanchi..Impressive reception area totally let down by quality of room. It is located in a central place, which is easy for us to visit all the temples.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k_harihara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2010

Impressive reception area totally let down by quality of room. Not sure where they took the picture on web-site, but we couldn't find it. A/C was so noisy we had to turn it off to sleep. When it was on balcony flooded! There was a bar - but restaurant wasn't open - we were told. Close to temples, etc., but we felt it didn't really cater for tourists. Shame.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dancer2280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kanchipuram hotels

Chennai
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2010

I went with my family to visit the temples in Kanchipuram in a Cab from Chennai. I already inquired with my friend about the hotel to stay on. So we straightaway went to this hotel for booking. It is located in a central place, which is easy for us to visit all the temples. The first main attraction is the Car Parking, which is very spacious. The Receptionist is very friendly with the customers and the room service is also very good. The rooms are very clean and romantic. The cost charged around 900 rs to 1200 rs for a single day which middle class people will think. But looking at the facilities and cleanliness, we can give this amount.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayaraman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2010

They wouldnt mind whatever you do inside.. We booked this during our friend's marriage and had a lot of fun.. The hotel has a bar with it which is one of the most famous bar in Kanchi..

They wouldnt mind even if you booze inside their room.. Unless you cause huge trouble to the person in next room.. The location is awesome... Walkable distance from the bust stand and reasonable distance to the temples..

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArsHarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kanchipuram hotels
1.1 mi away
Regency Kanchipuram by GRT Hotels
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Mile Stonnez Hotel
#4 of 11 in Kanchipuram
1 reviews
36.8 mi away
Green Coconut Resort
Green Coconut Resort
#6 of 11 in Kanchipuram
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sri Hari Residency
Sri Hari Residency
#1 of 18 in Kanchipuram
23 reviews
1.0 mi away
AKG Lodge
AKG Lodge
#3 of 24 in Kanchipuram
8 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Gongura
Hotel Gongura
#8 of 18 in Kanchipuram
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baboo Soorya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baboo Soorya

Property: Hotel Baboo Soorya
Address: No 85, East Raja Street | Near by bus stand, Kanchipuram 631501, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Kanchipuram District > Kanchipuram
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Kanchipuram
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Baboo Soorya 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities--------------36 Rooms Soorya Bar Anjappar Authentic Chettinad RestaurantBanquet Hall Doctor on Call Safety Spacious Car ParkingAll Major Credit Cards and Debit cards are accepted 24 hrs Room Service ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Baboo Soorya Kanchipuram, India - Tamil Nadu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing