We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An experience in itself!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holumba Haven

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kalimpong
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Holumba Haven
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Kalimpong
Dehradun, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“An experience in itself!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Staying at Holumba is an experience in itself...you don't need to get out of the property for anything .If you are into plants,orchids and flora fauna...this really is heaven for you -you can get mesmerized here .Nordan and his wife are great host and the staff is very courteous .
Stay in wood cot is recommended - you get an old world feel here .Ever small detail from paintings to ashtray in the cottage are carefully selected or restored . Neat and well equipped bathrooms with hot and cold water supply .
Be prepared to deal with some insects and mosquitos if you leave your cottage window open at night but I guess that a very small compromise when staying in complete natural setting..
There is natural spring flowing through the property...ducks, birds, dogs ,rabbits too.
They also have well stocked library on flora fauna and other similar interests .
I would recommend going there in winters...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bhavishya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    56
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
59
46
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durgapur, West Bengal, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

I stayed in Wood Cot for 2 Nights. Staying in Holumba is an experience in itself.
PROS -
- Its Really Beautiful, full of nature to enjoy
- Food was fantastic
- Rooms were spacious and aesthetically decorated.
- Staffs are friendly
- Great enjoyment for kids with birds, dogs, garden
- No TV means more time with family
- Unbelievable with the tariff range

CONS-
- Rooms service/housekeepin is time consuming
- In June it was hot and as there was a small fan, it was bit uneasy
- Dinner closes at 8.30pm

Next time if I do visit Kalimpong, I will make it sure to stay in Holumba again.

Room Tip: All are good, I stayed in wood cot. It was spacious and near the main entrance so if you have proble...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arijitmondal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

It is a beautiful Home stay where the owners take very good care of their guests. From the time of booking Ms Thinlay was extremely helpful. We stayed at the spacious tree house which was very well laid out and very comfortable. A hearty Breakfast sets you up for the day.The food cooked here is simple But delicious .i came for my honeymoon and i cant forget the time spent in Holumba Heaven

Room Tip: Tree House
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bikashchettri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

It is a beautiful Home stay where the owners take very good care of their guests. From the time of booking Ms Thinlay was extremely helpful. We stayed at the spacious Woodcot Cottage which was very well laid out and very comfortable. A hearty Breakfast sets you up for the day.The food cooked here is simple But delicious. There is a very nice restaurant close to Holumba called Soods which serves good indian food also. Holumba is a very child friendly place and my son (9yrs) had a great time there.

Room Tip: Wood Cot is very spacious more like a suite with a small garden sitout outside the cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjoyghosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We came for one night but we ended up spending three because we liked it so much here. The apartments are spreadnaround the lush gardes anf are tastefully decorated. The owner Norden is the most useful and interesting host we have had in our one minth trip in india, don't miss the chance to chat withnhim and/or ask him for some advice on what tondonin kalimpong and around.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank enrico p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

My friends and me had an amazing time at Holumba Haven. The cottages were very comfy and warm. One of the best parts was the location of it. The food was very tasty and the weather was very beautiful.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank no1mohit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Holumba was the best place I've stayed in in India. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. Our rooms were not very big but very very comfortable. The cool weather made it perfect for the bonfires and cultural evenings we had. The food we had was the best ever. The place overall was just awe inspiring and beautiful.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jason A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalimpong hotels
0.4 mi away
Summit Barsana Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Elgin Silver Oaks, Kalimpong
0.7 mi away
Breathing Stone Hotel
Breathing Stone Hotel
#7 of 14 in Kalimpong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kalimpong Park Hotel
Kalimpong Park Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kalimpong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
2.3 mi away
Dhardo Retreat and Resort
Dhardo Retreat and Resort
#9 of 14 in Kalimpong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.2 mi away
Garden Reach Hotel
Garden Reach Hotel
#10 of 14 in Kalimpong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holumba Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holumba Haven

Property: Holumba Haven
Address: Cable Holumba P O Box 50 | P.O. Box 50, Kalimpong 734301, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Kalimpong
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Kalimpong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Holumba Haven Kalimpong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing