We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT VIEW”
Review of Himalayan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Himalayan Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Kalimpong
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT VIEW”
Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

Good front office staffs.When we reached the hotel there is no power and 'sufficient' power back up system.Food was ok.Good location and view.Room has a big window and balcony from where u can see the mountain.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anukraja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    33
    14
    7
    3
See reviews for
34
31
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

The locations is beautiful, has a great set of staffs and the food is excellent - the rooms are tidy and comfy. Has beautiful view from the Hotel of the Himalayas. Go only when the season starts as we went on an off-season and it was a bit hot at night and the views were not as good as it would have been in the season times. Try the local food provided at the hotel. Hotel staff are nice. Richard Gere the actor from Hollywood has stayed in that hotel. :)

Remember to lock the balcony when you go to sleep at night as i have read things been stolen from the rooms in one of the reviews.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aravind V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Stayed for two nights in a newer room. It had its own little sitting room with a fireplace (which we did not need), and a wonderful balcony where we could sit and watch the early morning birds, with a great view of the mountains in the distance. The food was very good and helpings generous; the vegetarian member of our party was well accommodated. We especially liked the club-room atmosphere of the sitting room adjacent to the dining room, a great place to relax with a glass of wine after a busy day. If you stay there, take a look at the lovely illustrations of regional birds which line the stairway.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joelourey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata, West Bengal, India
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The hotel is located on the top of the hill in Kalimpong. The place is decorated with all kind of flowers and ferns. The hotel has excellent tea room with great view of Kalimpong city.
The rooms are clean, spacious & designed keeping English traditions in mind (the new block). Rooms have big balcony with nice view. Towels could have been cleaner. The brick and wood finish in the rooms and the decoration goes well with the heritage tag.
Service is excellent. Food was great. We stayed for a day and were served with lots of dishes in lunch, dinner and breakfast. We would definitely like to go back there.
I suggest if you are going to Kalimpong, stay here. You’ll get luxury hotels everywhere but this will be a different experience.

Room Tip: If you really want to get a colonial feel, ask for rooms in the old block. You may ask for the Alexa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaushikRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

spent a very enjoyable 2 nights at the Himalayan Hotel .. i had a very large spacious room in the old building ..which i preferred .. it was just off the upstairs front terrace overlooking the gardens ..a wonderful place to sit and read with a pot of Darjeeling tea and redolent of times gone by .. the dining room and lounge are also charmingly old fashioned .. the food was good and the service perfect ..

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigeltoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Stayed for three nights in one of the newer rooms upstairs and had a pleasant view over the Gardens.
Rooms are very spacious with a nice verandah and bedding extremely comfortable....not ironing board firmness.
Enjoyed afternoon Tea in the gardens and really felt relaxed.
Breakfast was substantial and Dinner excellent......
Had washing done which came back very clean and beautifully ironed...same day.
The Hotel is located about 5/10 minutes walk from the Town centre up it's own road and as such is extremely quiet.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geoff96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level Contributor
576 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 737 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Summary recommendation: a suite in the new building was preferable to a room in the heritage building for us. Eating breakfast in the dining room, lunch in a restaurant in town, and using room service for dinner worked best for us for meals.

It had been quite rainy before we arrived at Himalayan Hotel, so as we drove through the entrance gate the gardens looked gloomy and damp but pretty nonetheless. The porte cochère and reception building are new and a little discouraging, especially as the porte cochère is plainly made to be tall enough for tour buses. We could see the old building, our target because of its reputed quaintness. We could also see the new buildings off to the left: they look OK, but they’re new. When we entered reception we were gestured to sit, and then required to fill out the required forms.

Then the desk manager announced we are to have Room 17, one of the new “cottages.” We asked after the possibility for the old building and we were told there was only one room available there. The personable jack-of-all-trades room man was detailed to show it to us. There was a power cut, so we had to do some imagining: it proved a fine old room with nice furniture, good bath, but no TV, and it was quite dark and it didn’t seem as if the power being on could make it much brighter. It would perhaps be OK if it were on the upper floor but on the ground floor it is too exposed to traffic from the front door to the dining room at the rear of the building. We are then shown #17 in one of the new buildings which have two suites on each of two floors. #17 had interesting possibilities. The room is irregular with an open plan: there is a sitting area just inside the door. Across from the entrance are doors out onto a fairly generous balcony. Sidling around the balcony is a large bed area, which has also a niche for TV and writing desk. Doubling back toward the entrance wall is a generous built-in wardrobe, then a presently dark little makeup area and luggage shelf and the entrance to the reasonably spacious john . We took #17. (We also check on meal times and ask them to note our preference for spicy food, spiced as the dish should be for the recipe and for Indian palates. The man at the desk says he will do so.)

After breakfast the next day, we went to reception to remind the man he had said we might shift rooms. He remembered very well and guided us to the rooms available on the upper floor of the old building: they were quite charming in a funky old sort of way,with their own little fireplaces and perfectly good johns. But they were dark and heavy, and they lacked TVs not that we watch it, except late in the night to help us get to sleep. We asked whether there would be a chance of #11 or #12 in the other new block, becoming available, rooms which we had looked into since we thought they were in a better location than our #17. We learned that #12 would be available later. The room followed the same program as #17, but with the added fillip of stairs to make the bedroom up three steps from the sitting room. We would lose a lot of bedroom space with a set of steps down to the balcony, but the space between the sitting room and the closet area, now given over to stairs, was dead space anyway. Also in the same space we would get a two-sided fireplace, tiny but sufficient to explain how they can use these rooms in winter. The bed is a true queen bed, not a couple of twins pushed together. We decided it would be worth the trouble to shift from one room to the other. A room man we had not seen before made the shift of the our suitcases and we brought the rest. We always ask for extra towels and we found them resting on the railing outside the old room and we brought them along to the new. There was a mention of a room heater, and he promised one this evening but in fact showed up with one quite shortly.

Food-
Lunch (Room Service): we had an order of chilly chicken and veg pakora. We told the room service interlocutor we preferred spicy food. The chilly chicken was in fact spicy, though we suspected it was just from a dollop of cayenne. The veg pakoras were quite good.

Dinner (Dining Room): we were assigned a terrible table, squeezed in beside a column. Before we were properly seated some spinach soup was delivered. It boded ill: it was pretty clear they had delivered something from the common pot and they couldn’t care less about our request for spicy food. The soup was edible, but very bland. As soon as the soup was removed, they brought out several plates of other food. We asked whether it was fully and correctly spiced for the particular dishes, as we had requested. The waiter had limited English, didn’t quite get it, and so called the manager. He was a man we’ve never seen, polite if long-suffering. We explained that we had repeatedly been assured that we would be served fully, and properly spiced food, but this looked like same old same old tourist food.

He admitted that it was the standard run of food, but he had it removed to be reworked by the chef. It arrived again, as we had expected, with some hot paprika or cayenne sprinkled on everything, plus an extra little dish of hot sauce. Once again we were treated with prejudicial misconceptions about tourists: there are apparently only two types of tourist, those who want utterly bland food and those who think spicy merely means hot. We ate the stuff, but we weren’t happy. There was one diagnostic sign, aloo gobi, which we make at home: their version was bland, even with cayenne. A rather wretched trifle was served for dessert, cold, with a jelly atop. The manager came to inquire about how we liked the dinner, and we offered him a choice of a real answer or a polite answer. We gave him the real answer, that the guy just sprinkled cayenne on the food. He said they would take care to please us the next day. We figured we didn’t want to eat in the dining room again - it was expensive and the cooking was not to our liking.

We decided that we would have to make do with room service snacks for the rest of our meals, very much less expensive than the 550Rs per person for dinner, and possibly with better tasting dishes cooked to order.

Breakfast (Dining Room, included in our reservation): Aloo parantha, porridge, omelet and masala chai. We asked after curd, and the waiter apologized when he brought us a bowl – it was very thin and watery, something to do with the current bad weather.

Meal reservation details:
When we finished our first breakfast, we were prepared for the waiter to ask us about dinner reservations, but not about lunch. We were offered Chinese, Continental, Indian, or Tibetan, and possibly others. We declined.
Dining Room - reservations for dinner were required to be made by 5:30 PM at the latest, and dinner seatings were from 7 to 8 PM, with service ending at 8:30.
Room Service - meals took about a half hour to arrive

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hfot2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalimpong hotels
0.4 mi away
Kalimpong Park Hotel
Kalimpong Park Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kalimpong
110 reviews
0.0 mi away
Summit Barsana Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
The Elgin Silver Oaks, Kalimpong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Dhardo Retreat and Resort
Dhardo Retreat and Resort
#6 of 14 in Kalimpong
38 reviews
0.3 mi away
Garden Reach Hotel
Garden Reach Hotel
#9 of 14 in Kalimpong
112 reviews
0.9 mi away
Breathing Stone Hotel
Breathing Stone Hotel
#10 of 14 in Kalimpong
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Himalayan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Himalayan Hotel

Property: Himalayan Hotel
Address: Upper Cart Rd., Kalimpong 734301, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Kalimpong District > Kalimpong
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Kalimpong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Himalayan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Himalayan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Himalayan Hotel Kalimpong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing