We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”
Review of Himalayan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Himalayan Hotel
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Kalimpong
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Kalimpong was the last leg of our trip and Himalyan Hotel was the perfect ending. I would recommend Old Block if you want to have a feel of Old times, wooden ceiling, beautiful sit out balcony area, beautiful lawns. The rooms are clean and the staff will always be there to ensure you have a pleasant stay. They have a fixed menu meal but the choices are good. One of the best stays ever. I will definitely return !!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Go for old block if you want to experience the old world charm.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharad_Vatsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
There are newer reviews for Himalayan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

This is a very pretty old heritage building overlooking the hills with a wonderful garden which has nice sit-outs under an umbrella. The rooms are very cozy ( we stayed on the first floor) with a balcony with comfortable sitting arrangements where you can have endless cups of tea and look at the beautiful scenery. Food is very good and served in the dinning room . We were there in December end when it was pretty cold but the rooms and the dinning room was adequately heated and was very comfortable. Their SET dinner was quiet elaborate and nice. It's a short walk to the center of town / market. We had an overall lovely stay.

Room Tip: the first floor rooms with a balcony are very nice in the new wing.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanjoyghosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

One of the best holiday properties we have ever came across and certainly the best in Kalimpong. Quite close to the market area and main streets, yet enjoys a secluded spot, which is calm, quiet and beautiful. Just four double storied cottages built around the well kept lawn of the heritage bungalow owned by the fabled McDonald family. Lots of orchids and other flowers, lots of birds and the majestic Kanchenjunga on a clear sunny day! A notice in front of the dining room says, "Breakfast is from 8.00 am. If the Kanchenjunga is still visible then, you can have your breakfast in the garden."
But even if you don't get a clear view, you would probably like to spend your day just idling under the garden umbrella or on the private sit out of your room. Liked the way they divided the sleeping area, the seating area and the adjacent balcony in different levels to create a cosy ambiance. (We were not too picky about the small staircases eating out some living spaces). They changed the linens and the towels everyday. Only they should consider replacing some of the old towels which 'look' really dirty.
Another good thing about the hotel is its service. Very attentive, very efficient and always with a smile. A special mention goes to David, who waited on us with clock work precision in the very interestingly styled dining room. Food is also great! We tried everything from Continental to local Gurkha dishes and were never disappointed. But they should also consider serving A la Carte because their fixed prices for fixed menus are a tad expensive for guests who are staying little longer than usual.
Still, Himalayan Hotel surely claims a very special place in your heart. For us, we will love to go back there! :)
p.s - The heritage wing has rooms named after Edmund Hillary - Tenzing Norgey and Richard Gere who once stayed there. The creaking old bungalow is also known to have its own resident ghosts! That's good for the creeps (we didn't get our share though)!

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms on the first floor in any of the annex cottages built at a height, for a better vi...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SirshoB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Himalayan Hotel in Kalimpong is one of those rare gems that travel writers like me scour the world for. It's completely magical and just run down enough to allow your fantasies to run wild. In a state that could never be described as renovated, it's creaking with charm, charm, charm. We loved the old paintings on the walls, the gramophone record player, the old two-piece telephones, and the sense that you're stepping into the Far Pavilions. Really recommended, although the bedding is a little musty. It's a short walk into Kalimpong itself.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TahirShah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We selected this hotel based on its location and trip advisor review. Room and view from the room are very good. But looks like rooms are not properly maintained. The telephone in the room did not work. 3 bulbs were not working while we checked in. Bed cover was dirty. We had no clue that there is no menu card in the restaurant. So no option in the menu. They charge you flat, which is quite costly. Since there was no phone, we faced lot of difficulty in communicating with their staff. Very limited number of staff in the hotel. Night time we were having some security fear with no communication option. Overall experinec is average in this hotel. Location and rooms are only plus.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharmistha29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Travel on 6 March 2014

excellent hotel or we can say, A Resort or Cottage

service is very good... way to serve breakfast n dinner is awesome..

Suggestion.. go for dinner with breakfast also.

Don't go outside after 6:30 pm

Room Tip: must prefer in yor itinary
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ngupta45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

My partner and I stayed at your hotel from 30 December 2013 to 1 January 2014. To be quite frank it still retains the old world charm - mostly hotels are either too commercial or lack the touch.
Personally, we would have loved to have met with the owners since we have friends who have spoken highly of your property.
Request you not to sell it, it's a treasure trove!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank apple6919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalimpong
0.4 mi away
Kalimpong Park Hotel
Kalimpong Park Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kalimpong
113 reviews
0.0 mi away
Summit Barsana Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
The Elgin Silver Oaks, Kalimpong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Dhardo Retreat and Resort
Dhardo Retreat and Resort
#6 of 14 in Kalimpong
39 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Elgin, Darjeeling
The Elgin, Darjeeling
#4 of 98 in Darjeeling
543 reviews
0.3 mi away
Garden Reach Hotel
Garden Reach Hotel
#10 of 14 in Kalimpong
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Himalayan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Himalayan Hotel

Address: Upper Cart Rd., Kalimpong 734301, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Kalimpong District > Kalimpong
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Kalimpong
Price Range: £38 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Himalayan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Himalayan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Himalayan Hotel Kalimpong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing