We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great feeling”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kalimpong Park Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Kalimpong
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great feeling”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I had travelled there back in Dec 2012, though stayed for only one night there. So craving for more in future as this hotel gives you an amazing comfort & a bit eerie feeling as its a heritage property taken over from Maharaja of Dinajpur..

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arindamchak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    49
    17
    9
    3
See reviews for
43
31
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

we stayed in this hotel for only 1 nite....a good,decent hotel, with good location and good views
Service was slow, but the staff was helpful.....
initially took time to server food n breakast..but later all fine

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aalok1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This was the first stop in our three stage tour.It is a converted heritage property but still has the same aura.Right from the reception to rooms and decorations everything seems to have the pre-independence british india feel.The view from our room was amazing.Although there is some problem with water supply,it is well mainteined.The linen and other amenities are well taken care of.Staff seems really friendly and goes out of the way to help you.Food was also quite good.The garden in front of the hotel is quite spacious and beautiful. I cherish my stay here for it's ambiance,beauty and service."HIGHLY RECOMENDED".

Room Tip: take a room in old wing rather than the new wing.You will love the view and feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anirudh2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Hotel kalimpong park was our first stopover to our 8 day tour. We reached there at around 2 and received a warm welcome.i was offered a room in new wing but got it changed to old wing (room no. 6)which offers soothing view of hills
briefly
Excellent location -almost on top of hill
Go for room no. 6 or 7 in old wing as they have the best view
Service -Helpful staff
Food- Average
Date of stay-16th June

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saurabhbhutani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

This is a good property, but in the wake of growing business, it seems they have expanded too rapidly. Generally you would love the garden and the original building. Seems the new rooms are constructed later and dont have that homely feel.
My biggest 2 complaints. Very noisy neighbors using up the common space
being served half cooked rotis and no regrets from the staff about it.
Positives
Nice location and view with nice garden and well decorated bar and common spaces.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rohan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
104 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Kalimpong Park Hotel is from a bygone era and is the epitome of quaint! The reception room bedecked with deer antlers, where tea in china cups and saucers is served on arrival, is straight from the era of the Raj and creates a fabulous atmosphere.

The staff are so helpful and accommodating, and the laundry service is fast, efficient and excellent value. One male member of staff, whose name i regrettably can not recall, was helpful above and beyond the call of duty. He was constantly to-ing and fro-ing, tending to guests and had such a pleasant, gentle nature.

My room was on the top floor and had lovely views from the large landing area in front of the 2 rooms in that section of the hotel. The rooms are basic but adequate and come with a small heater to take the chill off on a night. The walls are thin so noise from adjoining rooms is inevitable.

There were a couple of niggles but nothing that i felt it necessary to make staff aware of. Given it's location and the relatively new advent of tourism in this location, I think western travellers need to leave their usual standards and expectations behind when staying in such areas. Despite the cockroach in the room (it's not a holiday if you don't have at least one in your room at some point!), the random grains of rice in the bed (in a hotel which states no room service!) and the intermittent flow on the cold shower, I actually loved the KPH! I managed to run enough lukewarm water from the tap in to the buckets and improvise a 'jug shower' each day...when in India...so the shower issue wasn't an issue at all.

The restaurant accommodated our tour group excellently, having placed our orders in the late afternoon each day. The cooking is undertaken by the wife of the proprietor and she does an admirable job. The restaurant is rather cold but again, heaters are provided. However, it is chilly in a morning when the french doors are open to elements during breakfast.

The walk up to the KPH from the town is pleasant with picturesque views, although by some standards would be considered moderately steep. The gardens are pleasant and well kept but would have benefitted from some outdoor seating areas. A lovely verandah off the reception room/bar area provides the opportunity to wile away a couple of lazy hours with a good book, thereby allowing time to stand still in a location where it appears to have done just that.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClementineDaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2013

My friends and me intended to go to Sikkim. One of my friend can't enter Sikkim due to the visa error from tour company in Thailand. The local tour company - Marcopolo world travel, rearranged to stayed at Park Hotel, Kalimpong, at the top of the hill.
First night , we've been there around 8 pm. : dinner was prepared , they changed to vegetable salad - room service as we requested. The front office staff offer us to fill in registration form in the morning , coz we were tired from switched plan - traveling.
The room was clean, quiet, good bed, hot shower. The view around the hotel was so beautiful.
Second night, our local guide & hotel staff go out to buy "Tongba" Sikkim drink & served at dinner (as we request).
Hotel staff assisted us to solve the problem on getting flight details to Delhi on the 2nd morning.
My friend and me intend to be back there again and go to Sikkim, contact directly with the local travel company. I love Park Hotel - where we can get services from the heart.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue960_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalimpong hotels
0.4 mi away
Summit Barsana Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Elgin Silver Oaks, Kalimpong
2.0 mi away
Dhardo Retreat and Resort
Dhardo Retreat and Resort
#7 of 14 in Kalimpong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Garden Reach Hotel
Garden Reach Hotel
#9 of 14 in Kalimpong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Sood's Garden Retreat
The Sood's Garden Retreat
#1 of 65 in Kalimpong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.0 mi away
Deolo Cliff Eco Resort
Deolo Cliff Eco Resort
#40 of 65 in Kalimpong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalimpong Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalimpong Park Hotel

Property: Kalimpong Park Hotel
Address: Rinkingpong Road, Kalimpong 734301, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Kalimpong District > Kalimpong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Kalimpong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kalimpong Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing