We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Inhumane touch of the Reservations team” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Elgin Silver Oaks, Kalimpong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Elgin Silver Oaks, Kalimpong
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Kalimpong
Certificate of Excellence
Ghaziabad
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Inhumane touch of the Reservations team”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

hi, I havent had a chance to visit the property due to a very personal family emergency. However the episode and interactions that led thereafter makes me believe that the hotel chain should not be in the Hospitality industry, which truely and solely survives on customer relationship. I have a 100% pre-paid booking for the hotel from the 22nd of June onwards, but I had medical emergency and I called 2 days prior to cancel my booking. As my booking was via an agent, I was told to connect to a Mr.Buppaditya Mukherjee in Calcutta. I spoke to this gentleman for almost 30 minutes, trying to convince him that the emergency was genuine (which btw is that my dad is in the ICU) and there was no way I could make the trip. I asked to give me a credit note, so that i could visit the same property again, he didnt budge. I asked him for a partial refund, he didnt budge. Infact, to my amusement I would say, he says I should have called at least 15 days in advance, if I wanted some possibility of a refund. When I checked if I could speak to someone more senior, he said he was "the" guy and others don't look into these matters.

The entire episode has left such a bad taste about a so called Luxury Chain of Heritage hotels that I don't think I would ever like to visit any of their properties. So guys, beware if you are booking and paying in advance as you may never get any money back - even if you yourself were to be admitted in the hospital!

Regards
Ashish

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ashishgarg_2k1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElginGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Elgin Silver Oaks, Kalimpong, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear Sir ! We are sorry to note that you have been unable to visit our hotels . Our investigation reveals that u cancelled your entire trip only a few hours before your arrival . Your cancellation thus does not fall within the cancellation policy . Secondly you have not reserved or interacted with our resevations team directly . Your reservation was made by your travel agent "TourMyIndia" . Your interaction was with the reservations team of the Travel agent and not with the reservations team of Elgin Hotels & Resorts . We are sorry that u have misunderstood your resevations process and blamed our reservations team instead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    92
    37
    12
    4
See reviews for
104
91
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

If this place gets a not so good rating from me, then some of the blame surely goes to Elgin Mt Pandim !!! After staying there for a few times, I had high expectations, from any property bearing the 'Elgin' banner, but Silver Oaks, Kalimpong, surely failed to live up to it .
Firstly, the location cannot be said to be excellent, with neither good views, nor great surroundings . This was made worse by the fact that, the lawn facing rooms on the ground floor, suffers from a serious lack of privacy. The lawn facing rooms on the first floor , are the only ones worth considering, since the back facing rooms, on this floor are a sad affair, with no views at all, and with all the noise from the busy street just below ! Our room No.52 was OK, but it was getting uncomfortably hot in the June afternoons and a single pedestal fan was not of much help. Furniture planning was also haphazard, with insufficient table space for writing etc., or for having a small snack .
Manager Mr. Susanta Ghosh and his deputy Mr. Nima did their best as far as general arrangements were concerned, and the rest of the staff was courteous, and helpful . Food was nice and I have no issues with the dining arrangements.
But they failed miserably when it came to handling uncooperative and unruly guests ! We were unfortunate to share our stay with a particularly obnoxious group of Indian tourists, who made it their hobby to test the patience of both the guests and the staff with their inconsiderate behavior ! How such characters ended up here, is a matter of wonder, but the docile and servile attitude of the management was in excusable !
All in all not a very satisfactory experience .

Room Tip: Only the rooms on the first floor, which faces the lawn are worth considering .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDM1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElginGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Elgin Silver Oaks, Kalimpong, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Dear Sir !
We thank you for your feedback ! We would like to inform that we have now considerably improved the hotel standards of comfort and service based on your and other guests previous feedbacks . You can see this from the positive feedbacks in reviews we are now getting from guests who have stayed after you . We look forward to having you with us once again and be given the oppurtunity to serve you .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night, had 3 rooms.

Positives:
- location (near the mall road)
- great views from the hotel garden
- good old colonial ambience

Negatives:
- rooms r full of insects and flies even on the first floor. Need better pest control services
- no ceiling fan in 2 rooms out of 3 we had. It was pretty hot in kalimpong. A table fan is of no help. Was travelling with a 4 month old infant. Had a hard time sleeping in the room.
- this is the second Elgin hotel I stayed after Darjeeling, the food problem continued - limited choice and taste less food
- bathrooms need renovation, stayed in room no. 51
- bathroom only had one soap and a shampoo bottle, body lotion and body wash were missing which were supplied at Darjeeling and Gangtok property
- Elgin does not supply dental or shaving kits, so pls carry ur own

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaurav N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElginGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Elgin Silver Oaks, Kalimpong, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Dear Sir !
We thank you for staying with us and taking time to review the Elgin Silver Oaks . We have investigated the Pest problem . Your room is a ground floor room and the room faces the hotel lawns and gardens directly . Since u kept your window open and the lights on , insects and moths do tend to fly into the room especially during the wet monsoon months . We have now installed special window insect nets in all rooms and corrected the problem. Secondly we have also spoken to the chef and kitchen staff about your food complaint .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

A beautiful property with very attentive and helpful staff. The common areas next to the reception, the Oak Bar, and the Silver restaurant are all outstanding and very much as the pictures show. The lawn area has a nice open feel to it, and at night time in summer is a great place to sit with a beverage and chill out.
The rooms were also decent, with nice view of the mountains. but they definitely need pest control, we experienced a couple of cockroaches. The unfortunate part of almost every heritage property I have stayed in is that the bathrooms are a little too "heritage" to me. It was no different in this property; it's not that there was anything missing or not working, but one expects better quality than what I saw here. The fittings were old, washbasin cracked, and in general, a general mustiness and smell that just leaves something to be desired. The bathtub also needs some attention.
Regarding meals, it was surprising that there is no ala carte menu. The meals were available as a buffet option, and certainly had adequate variety and decent taste. Nothing outstanding though...but the china and silverware were of the topmost quality, if you care for that!

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sajid H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElginGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Elgin Silver Oaks, Kalimpong, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Dear Sir !
We thank you for your feedback ! We would like to inform that we have now completed refurbishment of all guest bedrooms and improved the hotel standards of comfort and service based on your and other guests previous feedbacks . You can see this from the positive feedbacks in reviews we are now getting from guests who have stayed after you . We look forward to having you with us once again and be given the oppurtunity to serve you .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

The approach to the Hotel put us off. Through a crowded market road one slipped into a side lane to reach the premise. The entrance & parking area were inadequate. The reception area was cramped. The room allotted to us was not big enough for one person leave alone for a couple. We understood the mishap was caused by some crossed wires on the booking. The Hotel is in urgent need of refurbishment. Everything seemed rundown. The wooden floors were uneven, the dining room was like a barn. No effort had been made to doll up a Heritage site. Everything was seedy.
The staff was the redeeming feature of an indifferent situation. Friendly, helpful and so proud of the Hotel and Kalimpong It is these people who can and made your visit better.
The food was nothing to write home about.

Room Tip: Maybe the rooms on the first floor would be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bube46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElginGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Elgin Silver Oaks, Kalimpong, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Dear Sir !
We thank you for your feedback ! We would like to inform that we have now completed refurbishment of all guest bedrooms and improved the hotel standards of comfort and service based on your and other guests previous feedbacks . You can see this from the positive feedbacks in reviews we are now getting from guests who have stayed after you . We look forward to having you with us once again and be given the oppurtunity to serve you .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
Level Contributor
57 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

The best place you can be when at Kalimpong! The rooms are nice and spacious and are done in the Brit style. The hotel has a beautiful sit out and a garden, which is the prime attraction. It has a nice lounge bar where one can laze around and enjoy good music for hours. The tariff however includes the food, which is not so good. Was expecting a better spread for both dinner and breakfast that was served here!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank treckko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElginGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Elgin Silver Oaks, Kalimpong, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Dear Sir !
We thank you for your feedback ! We would like to inform that we have now completed refurbishment and pest control of all guest bedrooms and improved the hotel standards of comfort and service based on your and other guests previous feedbacks . You can see this from the positive feedbacks in reviews we are now getting from guests who have stayed after you . We look forward to having you with us once again and be given the oppurtunity to serve you .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

We had just had a horrible experience related to lizards and insects in Elgin Silver Oaks, in Kalimpong, about which we told the receptionist here. After some minutes in our room, which was very comfortable and beautifully furnished, we heard a family of rats having a nice conversation behind the wall near the fireplace. We could not believe that it was happening to us again! We talked to the hotel manager who kindly shifted us to another room on the 3rd floor. We did not have any problem in the new room, that looked like a very nice chalet. The location is fantastic! The gardens and the building are beautiful and the staff is helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bansidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElginGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Elgin Silver Oaks, Kalimpong, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear Sir ! Firstly we thank you for appreciating the Elgin Darjeeling . We have informed the pest control department to look into the issue .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalimpong
0.3 mi away
Summit Barsana Resort & Spa
12.6 mi away
The Elgin, Darjeeling
The Elgin, Darjeeling
#3 of 90 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
20.6 mi away
The Elgin Nor-Khill, Gangtok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
The Elgin Mount Pandim, Pelling
0.3 mi away
Kalimpong Park Hotel
Kalimpong Park Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kalimpong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
11.8 mi away
Mayfair Darjeeling
Mayfair Darjeeling
#2 of 90 in Darjeeling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elgin Silver Oaks, Kalimpong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elgin Silver Oaks, Kalimpong

Property: The Elgin Silver Oaks, Kalimpong
Address: Ringking Pong Road, Kalimpong 734301, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Kalimpong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Kalimpong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elgin Silver Oaks, Kalimpong 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elgin Silver Oaks was built in 1930 and once belonged to the prominent architect Frederick Desraj who built the old Teesta Bridge. It is now converted into a luxury hill resort in the Himalayas. Lounging in the landscaped gardens in a profusion of colour, one is treated to breathtaking views of the Himalayas. The natural decor is characteristic in the imposing Kanchenjungha which can be seen on a clear day, blooming petunias and asters, the serrated violet edges of iris, iridescent butterflies flitting through colourful azaleas, drooping geraniums, proud orchids and heaven, temporarily descends on earth. Sitting in one of the quaint gazebos, the tea seems to be flavoured by the refreshing winds of the Himalayas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Elgin Silver Oaks, Kalimpong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elgin Silver Oaks Kalimpong Hotel Kalimpong
Silver Oaks Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing