We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, experience the old era gone by!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Elgin Silver Oaks, Kalimpong
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Kalimpong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stayed here for one night (7th Nov 2013). Very nice hotel with a good valley view from the room. Hotel has a nice little bar and one can enjoy a quiet drink in the evening.Hotel corridors have quite old photographs from 1930's and u can spent some time reviewing those snaps!
Dinner was excellent and they served us hot roti/chapatis. However the breakfast was not buffeet style, instead u have to order from the available choices ( only 2 /3 options were available!)

Room Tip: Most of the rooms have very good view of the valley, so u can choose any room..
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rajmalusare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElginGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Elgin Silver Oaks, Kalimpong, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear Sir !

We thank you for staying wth us and taking time out to review us . We are very happy to note that you were overall happy with the Elgin Silver Oaks and its services and that u appreciate the colonial ambiance , quality of food and collection of old lithographs .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
There are newer reviews for The Elgin Silver Oaks, Kalimpong
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

The Elgin Silver Oaks is a delightful hotel with a pleasant garden and spacious rooms that are attractively decorated. I stayed during the Diwali festival and the hotel had been decorated with lights. Staff were courteous and helpful, and the manager is to be congratulated on the way the hotel is run. There is a lovely lounge area where free wifi is available. The restaurant meals were varied and service was excellent.
Overall staying at this hotel was an enjoyable experience.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank itinerbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElginGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Elgin Silver Oaks, Kalimpong, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Dear Sir !

The staff and the management team thank you for your appreciation of the Elgin Silver Oaks in Kalimpong . We thank you for giving us the oppurtunity to serve you and we look forward to having with us again .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We spent three nights here during our visit to Kalimpong, although two nights would have been sufficient as there really isn't very much to do or see in this town. We were booked in on a breakfast and dinner basis. We had a mixture of waiter and buffet service, depending on numbers. It was waiter service when there weren't very many people about. Waiter service meals were better than the buffet meals. In general food was good with mainly Indian dishes, although usually there were a few European dishes too. The bed sitting room was lovely with far reaching views over the large well maintained garden and valley beyond. Lovely dining room, lounge. A great sense of spaciousness throughout with very wide corridors and staircase.
Bathrooms however are antiquated and in need of updating. WiFi needs extending as it is only available at reception or very close by.

Room Tip: It would appear most rooms have a garden view, although it might be best to check.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mps1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElginGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Elgin Silver Oaks, Kalimpong, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Dear Sir !

The staff and the management team thank you for your appreciation of the Elgin Silver Oaks in Kalimpong . We thank you for giving us the oppurtunity to serve you and we look forward to having with us again . We have also noted your feedback regarding updating our bathrooms and extending the wifi to the bedrooms . We will be doing the necessary upgrdes in Winter after the busy holiday season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I stayed at this property for 2 night last year November and I found the place to very decent in all parameters.

Rooms were cozy and comfortable.
Food : it was great
Staff: Super Excellent
Cleanliness and hygiene: very good

Overall experience : Very good

If you wana stay in kalimpong this is the place to be

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vikram1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElginGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Elgin Silver Oaks, Kalimpong, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Dear Sir !

The staff and the management team thank you for your appreciation of the Elgin Silver Oaks in Kalimpong . We thank you for giving us the oppurtunity to serve you and we look forward to having with us again .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Hotel has nice property and room are decent facing valley view. Do not go on ratings. We reached late at 11 o'clock at night from Bagdogra airport due to landslide on highway but the staff were waiting for us for our dinner. I really appreciate their service.

Room Tip: Valley view rooms on higher floors
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KulbinderSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElginGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Elgin Silver Oaks, Kalimpong, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Dear Sir !

The staff and the management team thank you for your appreciation of the Elgin Silver Oaks in Kalimpong . We thank you for giving us the oppurtunity to serve you and we look forward to having with us again .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

This was our first among three Elgin hotels stay during the summer of 2013. Based on the reviews on trip advisor, our expectations were minimal here among the Elgin properties. Our travel from Bagdogra to here was very good and our first impressions on the hotel was very good. We stayed for 2 nights here and our room on the first night here was not very impressive. The hotel staff were courteous enough to change the room for the second night. The staff were very polite and are always smiling. Food was very good, but be open to the tastes of the place. The bar and the lobby though are well maintained and the colonial touch are very much there, some investments into the lobby, the bar and the reception area will make it a perfect small hotel. Must congratulate the management for their efforts in maintaining the hotel, inspite of having lesser than optimal number of rooms. Thoroughly enjoyed the stay.

Room Tip: Chose mountain facing rooms and corner ones are the best. Only one mountain facing room on the first...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank raovinay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElginGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Elgin Silver Oaks, Kalimpong, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Dear Sir !

The staff and the management team thank you for your appreciation of the Elgin Silver Oaks in Kalimpong . We thank you for giving us the oppurtunity to serve you and we look forward to having with us again . We thank you also for mentioning that we have now considerably improved the hotel standards of comfort and service based on previous negative feedbacks .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

hi, I havent had a chance to visit the property due to a very personal family emergency. However the episode and interactions that led thereafter makes me believe that the hotel chain should not be in the Hospitality industry, which truely and solely survives on customer relationship. I have a 100% pre-paid booking for the hotel from the 22nd of June onwards, but I had medical emergency and I called 2 days prior to cancel my booking. As my booking was via an agent, I was told to connect to a Mr.Buppaditya Mukherjee in Calcutta. I spoke to this gentleman for almost 30 minutes, trying to convince him that the emergency was genuine (which btw is that my dad is in the ICU) and there was no way I could make the trip. I asked to give me a credit note, so that i could visit the same property again, he didnt budge. I asked him for a partial refund, he didnt budge. Infact, to my amusement I would say, he says I should have called at least 15 days in advance, if I wanted some possibility of a refund. When I checked if I could speak to someone more senior, he said he was "the" guy and others don't look into these matters.

The entire episode has left such a bad taste about a so called Luxury Chain of Heritage hotels that I don't think I would ever like to visit any of their properties. So guys, beware if you are booking and paying in advance as you may never get any money back - even if you yourself were to be admitted in the hospital!

Regards
Ashish

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
4  Thank Ashishgarg_2k1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElginGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Elgin Silver Oaks, Kalimpong, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Dear Sir ! We are sorry to note that you have been unable to visit our hotels . Our investigation reveals that u cancelled your entire trip only a few hours before your arrival . Your cancellation thus does not fall within the cancellation policy . Secondly you have not reserved or interacted with our resevations team directly . Your reservation was made by your travel agent "TourMyIndia" . Your interaction was with the reservations team of the Travel agent and not with the reservations team of Elgin Hotels & Resorts . We are sorry that u have misunderstood your resevations process and blamed our reservations team instead.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalimpong
0.6 mi away
Summit Barsana Resort & Spa
21.5 mi away
The Elgin Mount Pandim, Pelling
20.6 mi away
The Elgin Nor-Khill, Gangtok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kalimpong Park Hotel
Kalimpong Park Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kalimpong
113 reviews
12.6 mi away
The Elgin, Darjeeling
The Elgin, Darjeeling
#4 of 98 in Darjeeling
543 reviews
1.8 mi away
Dhardo Retreat and Resort
Dhardo Retreat and Resort
#6 of 14 in Kalimpong
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elgin Silver Oaks, Kalimpong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elgin Silver Oaks, Kalimpong

Address: Ringking Pong Road, Kalimpong 734301, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Kalimpong District > Kalimpong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Kalimpong
Price Range: £111 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elgin Silver Oaks, Kalimpong 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elgin Silver Oaks was built in 1930 and once belonged to the prominent architect Frederick Desraj who built the old Teesta Bridge. It is now converted into a luxury hill resort in the Himalayas. Lounging in the landscaped gardens in a profusion of colour, one is treated to breathtaking views of the Himalayas. The natural decor is characteristic in the imposing Kanchenjungha which can be seen on a clear day, blooming petunias and asters, the serrated violet edges of iris, iridescent butterflies flitting through colourful azaleas, drooping geraniums, proud orchids and heaven, temporarily descends on earth. Sitting in one of the quaint gazebos, the tea seems to be flavoured by the refreshing winds of the Himalayas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Elgin Silver Oaks, Kalimpong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elgin Silver Oaks Kalimpong Hotel Kalimpong
Silver Oaks Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing