We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your Address in Kalimpong - punch line of hotel Sood'sGarden Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Sood's Garden Retreat
Ranked #1 of 65 Kalimpong B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Siliguri, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Your Address in Kalimpong - punch line of hotel Sood'sGarden Retreat”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Thanks to the Management of the Hotel.
Service, Food, Cleanliness, Room, View........................................
Everything is perfect.
Mr.Siddhant, the owner of the property is a gentleman by nature.
Reception Manager Mr.Manzil is very friendly & cooperative.
Room Service was done by Mr.Saroj, who would never say no to anything.

Two of us stayed for a night. We wish we had more time to stay there.
If you love a quiet place away from the hustle bustle of the city, it is a perfect area.
For fitness freaks, there is a well equipped gym with a trainer.
Food is just amazing. Portions are more than one can think of. Be careful not to order too much.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paradise U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    70
    22
    3
    6
See reviews for
95
50
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

Me and my wife stayed here for a day and I must say the service is just too good...the food quality and taste was matching the taste of food we have back at our home in Delhi...!!.. The rooms are also pretty spacious and airy too !! Kudos to team Sood's garden retreat team :-)

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank singhal_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We (self and wife) arrived at the hotel on 27th night. I had booked a Standard room through Cleartrip. However the manager offered me a semi deluxe suite without any extra cost. Sweet. The room was very spacious and neat. The room had a view overlooking the valley. Bathrooms were clean. However we faced some problem with the geyser which was sorted out eventually. The food served in the restaurant was simple and tasty. The staffs were well behaved and humble. The room used to get too chill at night as there is no sun ray reaching the room nor the room has got a warmer. Its a bit far from the kalimpong market. Overall a good place

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Vijayan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The only correct bit about the name of Sood's Garden Retreat is the first bit. It is owned by the Sood family. However, I had chosen it after reading about the garden and the hotel's quiet location. Neither is correct. The "garden" comprises some potted plants and two tiny, unkempt patches of grass, one of which is used for drying hotel towels and sheets and the other with some broken slides and swings. There is no "direct access" from rooms to lawn as claimed on the website - many sets of stairs are involved. The hotel is also just off a main road and one can hear lorries, cars and motorcycles roaring up and down at all times of day and night. A few noisy dogs add to the din. We too were in room 101 right next to the reception and all conversation in that area could be heard clearly in our suite.
The restaurant menu was limited. Variations of eggs, aloo paratha, puri bhaji and poha for breakfast. A selection of North Indian mains, very few Chinese dishes. No momos, thukpa or cheese. In Kalimpong? They did cook us a Nepali chicken curry one night, not authentic, but tasty.
Our sheets were not changed even though we stayed for three nights. I know, because there were dirt marks on my sheet to begin with and I got quite familiar with them over the course of three nights! Our towels were threadbare and stained and, I suspect, not changed either.
Here is the good part: The staff are extremely helpful, cheerful and ever-willing to go that extra mile for you. Any request that we made was met with as soon as possible. The room and bathroom were both very large and clean, water was always available. The internet (when it was asked to be switched on) worked like a dream. The best part was the view of the mountains from our windows.
My personal feeling is that the place is poorly managed. The staff is willing and available -- someone has to tell them what to do and how to do it. Breakfast eggs cannot be served on quarter plates. When there are parties in the restaurant, a separate area should be cordoned off for hotel residents. Drinking water in the room needs to be replenished every day.
Sood's Garden Retreat has the potential to become a great boutique hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the mountains (north).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank manjusriKolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
582 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

The hotel is about a 15-20 minute walk from Kalimpong market and has spectacular views - or rather it would do if the weather hadn't been so bad during our visit. We had occasional glances of the mountains in between lots of clouds and fogs.

We had room 101 - next door to reception. It was ENORMOUS - way too big for just two people. Spotlessly clean, everything in good condition - not exactly stylish, but no complaints from us.

In mid October with the tail of the Bay of Bengal cyclone causing the rain, the room was really rather cold and we would really have appreciated more blankets as the room had no heating.At least there was lots of water.

Staff were polite, efficient and professional. The food and service in the retaurant were both excellent. We were only there one night but there was little to fault about the place.

For anyone with mobility issues, these street level suites are the best option to avoid lots of steps. No lifts or other accessibility ramps etc. To be fair though, the Himalayas in general are not exactly disability friendly. Despite being close to a road, the noise in the rooms was minimal and we slept very well.

Room Tip: Suites are ENORMOUS and have beautiful views but you can save a lot if you go for a smaller room and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koshkha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bilaspur
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

we had been here with our school friends on a field trip. Out of all the hotels we stayed during the trip, this is the "BEST(est)". rooms were sparkling clean, and bathroom was clean and spacious.
and not to forget is their hospitality, they even arranged for a bonfire!!!that was great and we got the room overlooking the mountains!!!! we were received warmly and trip became much more FUN!!

Room Tip: "ask for mountain view suite"
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anishtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

The Sood Garden Resort is an average hotel, but I believe in Kalimpong its a mid budget hotel. The best hotels are Elgin and Silver Oak.

The room was large and basic. The new wing is much better. The old wing is quite Dam and soggy . We had gone in May and the rains had started. It is around 3-4 kms from the market. You can either take a share auto or walk it up.

Food is one of the better things in Sood, but even that falls apart if you have more than 10 people in the restaurant at the same time. Secret is to reach early.

Kalimpong is a sleepy town with nothing to do, and Sood's Garden Retreat is not some place where you can spend your whole day.

It is ok for a stop over and not a 2 day stay like we did.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SRGanguly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalimpong hotels
0.2 mi away
Summit Barsana Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Kalimpong Park Hotel
Kalimpong Park Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kalimpong
110 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Elgin Silver Oaks, Kalimpong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Dhardo Retreat and Resort
Dhardo Retreat and Resort
#6 of 14 in Kalimpong
38 reviews
0.6 mi away
Deolo Cliff Eco Resort
Deolo Cliff Eco Resort
#40 of 65 in Kalimpong
25 reviews
0.6 mi away
Windsongs
Windsongs
#3 of 65 in Kalimpong
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sood's Garden Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sood's Garden Retreat

Property: The Sood's Garden Retreat
Address: Rishi Rd | 8.5 Miles, Kalimpong 734301, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Kalimpong District > Kalimpong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Kalimpong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Sood's Garden Retreat 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
8.5 Miles is where you will find us, just 800 meters before the hustle and bustle of the market area set amidst nature with a breathtaking view, on the sunniest part of the hills. For whatever you have in mind you can't be better located. Near to all the site seeing interests. Laze on the rolling lawns or just admire the glory of the mighty Mt. Kanchenjunga from the restaurant, balconies or lawns. Let the children get naughty on the outdoor play area, swings and slides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Sood's Garden Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sood`s Garden Retreat Hotel Kalimpong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing