We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
smartline The Village Resort & Waterpark
Nearby Hotels
Creta Blue Suites(Koutouloufari)(Great Value!)
US$231
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Creta Maris Beach Resort(Hersonissos)
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$233
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Marni Village(Koutouloufari)(Great Value!)
US$76
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Astra Village Apartments(Koutouloufari)(Great Value!)
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$302
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Village Heights Golf Resort(Hersonissos)(Great Value!)
US$46
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$41
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$312
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$205
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,267)
Filter reviews
1,267 results
Traveller rating
480
453
217
76
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
480
453
217
76
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrelax poolkids paradisestar beachsteep hillkids clubice creammain poolgolf buggyfree bussnack barwater slideskids poolgreat holidayevening entertainmenttoastiesthomas cook repsanimation team
Filter
Updating list...
377 - 382 of 1,267 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2013

ARRIVAL
We are a mature couple, recently retired and thought we would give this all-inclusive holiday a try as it appeared to be very good value. We were not disappointed and had a thoroughly enjoyable week. We were well received and taken on an electric vehicle with our luggage to our room which was about half way up the hill. Having read lots of reviews before we departed it was difficult to know what part of the complex would suit us best. We didn't want to be amongst the liveliest area, nearer the bottom of the hill with lower numbers and we didn't want to be at the top (900 - 1000), although this would have been the best sea views, so we asked our holiday company to request a room about half way. Our request was met and we were given room 705. We were slightly disappointed, on seeing it, that we did not have a sea view, but it was in a quiet area, in the middle of very well kept gardens and had a nice big balcony.
ROOM
The room was of a good size and clean, although perhaps the decor was a little tired. A cleaner came every morning to freshen it up and empty the bins. You are not allowed to put toilet paper in any toilets in Greece but bins are proved and you soon get used to this. During our week we had one change of sheets and two changes of towels. There were plenty of sockets (needing Europe adapters) but the power was only available when you were in the room as the key needed to be put in a slot to activate it. This is often the way in hotels.
OUTSIDE & POOLS
As described, the hotel is on a hill and set out with small blocks of rooms and lots of very well kept gardens throughout. On the reception level there is a big family pool with a toddlers pool next to it. It is near the main bar and adjacent to the restaurant. There is always music playing around the pool and in the bar, which tend to be two different songs. A little further away there is the flume pool with a bar and this seemed to be quite quiet. Nearer the entrance is a kids pool where adults can only go if accompanied by a child and the bar here does not have alcohol.
The best pool for us, and what made the holiday so good and acceptable, was the Relax Pool which was a way up the hill, about room level 900. It was a delight with a good size rectangular pool, sun beds, tables and umbrellas all the round it and a bar which had had it's opening hours extended to 11.00 pm although they were officially open until about 5.30. There was no music, no children and floating toys were not permitted although a blind eye was made for one or two lilos.
FOOD & DINING AREA
We were particularly impressed with the food and had been expecting the worst with all-inclusive. There was a tremendous variety for every meal with plenty of fresh salads and fruit. Every lunch and dinner time had some constants but also something different every day so we did not get bored with it. The vegetables were rather overcooked but tolerable. The dining room was large and had plenty of tables for various numbers. They had nice cloths on and were constantly being cleared and relayed.
DRINK
Many of the reviews were critical of the drink, suggesting that it had been watered down. This may have been the case but it was really not a problem, in fact, in such hot weather, it was probably a good thing. You can have as much as you like so if you really want to have lots of alcohol, just go and get more. In the dining room there was red and white wine and beer on tap plus machines providing a lot of soft drinks and water. Some people even filled up there water bottles to take out with no restrictions from the hotel. We found all the drinks quite drinkable and did not feel the need to buy and better brands.
STAFF
All of the staff were very friendly and hard working and we could not fault them.
SHOP
There is a little shop on site which sells cold drinks, sweets, gifts, beach items, clothes and more. This usually opened at about 10.00 and stayed open until the evening.
OFF SITE
There is a free bus hourly which takes you down to the Star Beach. It is about a 10 - 15 minutes walk away if you do not want to wait for the bus. The walk back from here is up hill but doable. We walked it a couple of times and even on into the seaside town further along the coast. We once did this and then on up into the mountain to see a few little villages and then got the taxi back. We did not think €7 was expensive and was very welcome.
We hired a car for two days form a person who comes to the hotel. Her rate for a Panda was €50 for one day or €90 for two, which we did. There are lots of car hire places down in the town and one was even as cheap as €20 a day but we felt more reassured using the one from the hotel.
SUMMARY
Overall we found this a good holiday. There were all ages there and lots of different nationalities, which for us, made it more interesting.

Room Tip: Low numbers -easy walking, lively and near the action. Middle numbers quiet and not too difficult to walk. High numbers - steep hill but good views.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthamptonAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager Z, Manager at smartline The Village Resort & Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2015

We are very happy to know that you had a great time in our resort and we hope to meet you again in your next holidays.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Everything was o.k. but nothing more. The main problem is that the hotel has no beach, so you need to wait for the shuttle each time you want to go to the beach or back to the hotel. sometimes they send a bus without air condition, sometimes they send a minibus that doesn't have enough room for all the people who want to go. usually back to the hotel, when you are dirty and tired and just want to be on time to shower befure dinner.
Their policy is to overbook the hotel, so the first night we had to sleep in another hotel. and the second night, one of the rooms we got was with horrible smell of cigarettes and they didn't have anything else to give us. Only in the third night of our stay we got all the rooms and in reasonable condition. we only plan to stay four nights.
The animation team consist of 2 people so... no shows or much things or activities you can expect to do . The kids club charge extra pay for some of the activities.
You can definitely get much more for your money in another all inclusive hotel.

Room Tip: If you have to stay in this hotel. choose the family rooms near the pool 352-354. or 361
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachelhas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager Z, Manager at smartline The Village Resort & Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2015

At first it would like to thank you for spending time to write your Review in tripadvisor. As with any review about our hotel, we take all criticism into consideration and the opinions of our guests seriously.As you can see the hotel has now a new name , The Village Resort and a new managment , Zeus hotels. Everything is different now and as you read in the reviews the most of the clients are happy to be here. it will be a pleaure if we could host you again in the Village Resort

kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I have just returned from a weeks stay at the Mareblue with my family and I can honestly say that this hotel is a little treasure.

Accomodation - Very very clean and very comfortable for all the family.

Food - Highlight of my holiday, the food was excllent and the choice was different each day.

Bars - Red wine a little warm at the outside bar but overall the service and quality of the drinks was good

Entertainment - Not my cup of tea but I feel that you make your own entertainment whilst on holiday, if you want singers and dancers each night go to Spain.

Pools - Very good selection, the childrens splash pool with its own childrens bar is very good and a good place to relax if the main pool gets chaotic. The waterpark is very good for adults but a child under 1.2m cannot get on any of the slides and quite rightly so as they are very quick.

General - This is a very good hotel and good value for money, the staff are friendly and this hotel caters well for the fundamental requirments (food, rooms, bar, pools, staff) so I cannot complain of anything of any real significance.

Just to note, the taxi which takes you into the town centre is 7 euros each way which we found very steep given that it takes 2 minutes to get there. If you plan on making this trip numerous times then it may be worth walking or hiring a car for the week.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager Z, Manager at smartline The Village Resort & Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2015

We are very happy to know that you had a great time in our resort and we hope to meet you again in your next holidays.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

We had a fantastic fortnight at Mareblue Village. The hotel is excellent. The staff, friendly and hardworking. Food was plentiful and a wide variety was on offer every day for every meal. The entertainment was a little hit and miss, however you expect that at all inclusive hotels. The only downsides are the steep hills, we were near the top, and it is a killer climb. Also there is no bar by the theatre, they really need one. If you go here, you must check out Stallis beach, we ate at the superb Akti restaurant, which is situated at the edge of the beach. Stallis beach is a ten minute cab ride away, well worth it. It smashes star beach. The shops at stallis are also considerably cheaper than the shops in Chersonnisos. We went horse riding along the beach and this was fabulous. Weather was glorious. Rooms clean and very traditional, cannot understand why people say they need a lick of paint,
they don't. Great holiday for me, my wife denise and our 12 year old daughter Giana. Highly recommend Mareblue Village Hotel. Crete is very beautiful, have been to several Greek islands now, however for me, Crete is the loveliest!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dukeortz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager Z, Manager at smartline The Village Resort & Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2015

We are very happy to know that you had a great time in our resort and we hope to meet you again in your next holidays.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Just returned from this hotel early today. We had a great time, we are a. Family of 5 adults ranging from 24 to 50s and a 3 yr old. Due to past reviews we were not expecting too much. How wrong we were, the food was good loads of choice. If you could not find something to eat at every meal then god knows what you eat as here!!!! Rooms basic but very clean, loads of sun beds, all kids clubs are well run and safe, pools are clean, drinks fine could not fault it. We are well travelled from 5star AI to 3 star BB and we really enjoyed the Mare Blue Village.just one hint if you have not booked yet,do not book and pay extra for a family room. We paid an extra 500 for a 2 bed place and it appears they mostly are two rooms with separate sleeping areas just that ours was bigger. We had room 911 which is near the top,hill very steep and a killer at night but you can get a buggy if you go to the front of the hotel at anytime so not a problem.

Room Tip: Just book a regular room do not pay extra, also hill is very steep so ask for a lower room.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosy_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager Z, Manager at smartline The Village Resort & Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2015

We are very happy to know that you had a great time in our resort and we hope to meet you again in your next holidays.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews