We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor drinks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
smartline Village Resort & Waterpark
Ranked #35 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2013

hotel was very good the food was brilliant the only down side was the drinks the pop and mixers were tasteless and the lager was local rubbish .the hotel is to far away from nearest resorts to far to walk

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank smithy074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager Z, Manager at smartline Village Resort & Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2015

At first it would like to thank you for spending time to write your Review in tripadvisor. As with any review about our hotel, we take all criticism into consideration and the opinions of our guests seriously.As you can see the hotel has now a new name , The Village Resort and a new managment , Zeus hotels. Everything is different now and as you read in the reviews the most of the clients are happy to be here. it will be a pleaure if we could host you again in the Village Resort

kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,220)
There are newer reviews for smartline Village Resort & Waterpark
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 1,220 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013

The bar staff was arigunt and all inclusive for kids stopped at 5.30 and when kids was on water park slides they got told to be quiet and there was no locks on toilet door and no entertainment at all. There was posters up telling you about games in day and when we went to them they was always cancelled and to try and entertain the kids we had to use arcade facilities but when asked for change they got shouted at and when I complained the manager didn't even come to try sort it out it was a complete and utter joke. Kids was crying to come home would never go again even if it was free! Food never varied, was the same food constantly, however cleaners and restaurant staff was very polite. Sauna had no floor and didn't work, gym facilities was rusty and didn't work. Ping pong for kids was broke and no bat and ball. Even though a pool was provided for adults only the adults was gathered around child pool and was shooing them away. The animation team even claimed they don't like kids. Disgusted in this holiday; was the worst money I have ever spent!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tammy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager Z, Manager at smartline Village Resort & Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2015

At first it would like to thank you for spending time to write your Review in tripadvisor. As with any review about our hotel, we take all criticism into consideration and the opinions of our guests seriously.As you can see the hotel has now a new name , The Village Resort and a new managment , Zeus hotels. Everything is different now and as you read in the reviews the most of the clients are happy to be here. it will be a pleaure if we could host you again in the Village Resort

kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We were a party of 5, 2 adults, 13yr old, 11 yr old and 7 yr old, travelling in mid Sept for 2 weeks. I was slightly worried after obsessively reading mixed reviews before we went but I'm glad to say that it was unecessary! I did hear of other people problems but I can only comment on my own experience. Bearing in mind this was one of the cheapest deals we could find I was more than impressed with our holiday. yes the rooms are quite basic but we spent little time there, I hardly saw my children as they were off playing with new freinds or at the kids club. the hotel is multi national which I found was a benefit and my children made friends with people from all over the world! the food was lovely, always soemthing I liked, yes it gets "samie" but that happens with every all inclusive. The staff were friendly and helpful and I can't fault them, the manageress was very helpful when our daughter needed a doctor and for the rest of our holiday made an effort to check she was ok. The animation team were really funny and friendly and the Thomas Cook kids reps were lovely too!! It was a brilliant time of year to go as it wasn't too busy and the weather was still gorgeous. The location for us was perfect, just a 15 minute walk from the main centre down the hill or a 5 min free bus ride! I preferred getting a taxi to Stalis beach (7 Euros) as the beaches at Star Beach are small and crammed. The one downside of the hotel was the evening entertainment, you could go up to the theatre but theres no bar and it's not very comfortable, the kids however were up later than us!! If you want a good value family holiday I would totally recommend this hotel! oh and "the HILL" luckily I read on here about it and requested a room below 300, which I got, to be honest if we had been at the top of hill it may have changed my opinion slightly of our holiday!

Room Tip: Ask for a room number under 300
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Becca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager Z, Manager at smartline Village Resort & Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2015

We are very happy to know that you had a great time in our resort and we hope to meet you again in your next holidays.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Stayed for 4 nights at the very last minute as the apartment (fedra apartments) tried to rip us off. On arrival we where given a bigger room right near everything....great. The rooms are ok but we paid £148 for 4 nights all inclusive !!! The quiet pool is hidden at the very top of the resort & it very nice with luxury sunbeds...away from the kids & music. The reception staff are very friendly especially the lady & the bar & restaurant staff even though it is the end of the season are always smiling. Great value.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AndyMiller68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager Z, Manager at smartline Village Resort & Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2015

We are very happy to know that you had a great time in our resort and we hope to meet you again in your next holidays.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I spend there 10 days with 4 friends. Hotel is on the end of the town. Is about 1000m to the beach but there is a free bus every hour from the hotel. Good food, but after a week you can be bored.
Rooms have air conditioning and are very clean.
If you want to party, go to Cameo in the Cherssonisos city centre. If relax go to one of few beaches around.
The town is pretty far away from the best Crete attractions (Chania, Balos, etc...) but worth to hire a car and take a trip to the other part of the island.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RobertChilimonczyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager Z, Manager at smartline Village Resort & Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2015

We are very happy to know that you had a great time in our resort and we hope to meet you again in your next holidays.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We travelled as a group of 17 and arrived at Mareblue early hours of the morning on the 16th September.

Rooms:

On arrival we were told that we only could have 3 of the 4 rooms that we booked as the hotel was over booked. The gentleman on the desk tried hiding one of our booking confirmation sheets so it looked like we only had booked the 3 rooms so that the hotel were covered. As an alternative we was told we can all bunk in 3 rooms or we can have 3 rooms and someone else can be booked in to the sister hotel near the beach front we went with the 3 rooms for the night. We were allocated the 9000 rooms which are up a massive hill and is a task when you have kids/buggies etc to carry up, my in-laws were moved between 4 rooms in the space of 8 days. We were not the only group i would say at least another 5 couples/groups had the same problem.

Food:

The food is what you would expect from an all inclusive family hotel basically the same thing everyday. We decided to eat out every night after about 3 nights and i would recommend the little village up the hill which is about 5-10 minutes from the hotel and costs roughly 7 euros.

Kids:

The kids enjoyed them selves and the food provided for the kids only was ideal. The shuttle to star beach village is worth it and we went there on quite a few ocassions. They have much more activities for the kids with better swimming pools etc

Customer Service:

Rude, not willing to compromise and very unhelpful. The rep for hotels 4 u is not worth the light of day and have put a complaint in with regards to her her name is alexander she is always right and you are always wrong.

Overall:

Rubbish, Waste of money, Unorganised, Unhelpful just a total shambles

Room Tip: Don't bother with booking sea view rooms etc you will only be given what they have available at...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ryan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager Z, Manager at smartline Village Resort & Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2015

At first it would like to thank you for spending time to write your Review in tripadvisor. As with any review about our hotel, we take all criticism into consideration and the opinions of our guests seriously.As you can see the hotel has now a new name , The Village Resort and a new managment , Zeus hotels. Everything is different now and as you read in the reviews the most of the clients are happy to be here. it will be a pleaure if we could host you again in the Village Resort

kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

The hotel is situated on hills in about one kilometer from the beach but there was a free bus service down to the beach, mostly hourly.The waterpark is very good for adults but a child under 1.2m cannot get on any of the slides
We had two air-conditioned rooms with balconies with sea view. The room was clean and lovely.
The food was excellent and the choice was different each day but red wine was warm.
We hired a car and spent little time in the hotel so I can say nothing abput an entertaiment.
The downsides are the steep hills, we were near the top, and it took about 5 minutes to climb up.
Ask for a room with small number if you are not in fit or have small children.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with small number if you are not in fit or have small children.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager Z, Manager at smartline Village Resort & Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2015

We are very happy to know that you had a great time in our resort and we hope to meet you again in your next holidays.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
0.6 mi away
Star Beach Village & Water Park
Star Beach Village & Water Park
#29 of 171 in Hersonissos
749 reviews
0.6 mi away
Imperial Belvedere
Imperial Belvedere
#44 of 171 in Hersonissos
766 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arminda Hotel and SPA
Arminda Hotel and SPA
#27 of 171 in Hersonissos
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
6.6 mi away
Gouves Park Holiday Resort
Gouves Park Holiday Resort
#10 of 36 in Kato Gouves
1,260 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mediterraneo Hotel
Mediterraneo Hotel
#43 of 171 in Hersonissos
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to smartline Village Resort & Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about smartline Village Resort & Waterpark

Address: Characostres, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece (Formerly Zeus Hotels Village Resort & Waterpark)
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#28 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#43 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range: £66 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — smartline Village Resort & Waterpark 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your smartline Village Resort & Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mareblue Village & Aqua Park Hotel Chersonisos
Mareblue Village And Aqua Park
Mareblue Village Hersonissos
Mareblue Village Hotel Hersonissos
Smartline Village Resort & Waterpark Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing