We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very efficient yet soulless hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smartline Village Resort & Waterpark

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Smartline Village Resort & Waterpark
Ranked #23 of 178 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
126 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“A very efficient yet soulless hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We are a family of 2 adults and 3 girls, ages: 11, 10 and 5. We stayed for a week at the end of May-beginning of June. This is an AI hotel and it is run by very efficient managers and staff members. We have some mixed feelings about the hotel and I'll try to list the pros and cons and give a few tips to those who choose to stay here.

Pros: 1) Definitely the price. 2) The water slides which are great for the kids (and for the adults too). There are not many slides but you can easily spend an hour or so going up and down. 3) Breakfast is very good with a varied selection and very tasty, 4) Maids and cleaning staff are great, our daughter had a bed wetting accident and a maid came with fresh sheets after only 10 minutes, also the hotel is very clean and they are hard at work very early in the morning. 5) Children's paradise is a very cool idea and the kids loved it. They can get all kinds of snacks (fries, ice cream, burgers, toasts, hotdogs etc.) at a designated pool bar just for kids. 6) Beer and wine at dinners are quite good and quite weak so it's harder to get drunk 7) our room (554) was large enough for the 5 of us, it was actually 2 rooms with a door between them. The only problem with the room is that it didn't have a window as other rooms did (we had a nice balcony).

Cons: 1) Not much to do in the hotel for the kids during the day and also in the evening, kids disco started at 21:00 or so, this is really late for us. 2) The steep hill is challenging and you really have to be very minded about the location of the room, we were in the 500s and it was fine for us but higher than 600s could be very difficult for anyone. 3) The hotel is far from the town of Hersonissos, if you have a car this is not an issue, also if you intend to stay at the hotel all the time, but if you do want to go into town it's not that easy. The shuttle bus goes down to Star Beach but there is quite a long walk into town from there, also the shuttle does not run at all times. 4) Sunbeds and towels, this was new to us, but is really annoying, people come at 7 AM put their towels on the sunbeds and then go back to sleep. The hotel doesn't do anything about it. I guess this will only get worse in July and August. 5) Dinners are very busy (see tips for best times) and the food has ups and downs. They do not know how to cook rice or pasta. Some of the dishes are good but this is not consistent and in some of the meals it was hard to find enough good dishes (there is a decent variety of dishes though so not boring, just not consistent). 6) Some of the guests were drunk and loud which is inappropriate for a family hotel with small kids. 7) Wifi is very slow in the lobby (free of charge) and is not free in the rooms. I wish they would stop this silly policy and open the Wifi everywhere for free.8) Our Bed was not comfortable we didn't sleep very well (the kids slept fine).

Tips: 1) Come to breakfast early (before 8 AM) and go to dinner late (after 8 PM) to avoid crowds. 2) Bring your own pool\beach towels as they want a 10 Euros deposit for each towel (maybe it's a laundry saving technique, we are not sure). 3) Rent a car for at least part of your stay and go exploring beautiful Crete. 4) They open the water park area at 9:30 – 9:45 you can get a sunbed there at that time (we started at the waterpark in the morning, moved to the children's paradise later and went to the main pool in the afternoon when it was less busy). 5) Don't hire a safe it's really unnecessary, the hotel feels very safe and I doubt anyone comes there from outside to steal your money or passports.

We have had enough AI at least for a while and we will not be coming back here. This is not a bad hotel, just not great for us. It might suite others just fine, it's your call.

Room Tip: Try for the 500s and lower, remember the hill!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OritN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eleftherios P, Διευθυντής at Smartline Village Resort & Waterpark, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays.It was very kind of you to write this review.
This help us to improve our appearance and to extinct our flaws.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    383
    192
    67
    36
See reviews for
717
201
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

I was a bit worried by all the bad reviews for this place but I shouldn't have been, I'm now learning that some people seem to moan wherever they go...
This hotel was fabulous, I'm work in Environmental Health so I'm a bit picky but it was spotlessly clean and the food was good and hot- I trusted the food.
Good points;
-big clean rooms with a kettle, tea stuff, big mugs, fridge, comfy king size bed, hair dryer, soap and shampoo, good shower, plenty of power points, water on arrival in fridge.
-great pools, an aqua park on site (bonus :-) ),
-Really lovely staff, we didn't meet anyone who was grumpy atall, all really lovely and bent over backwards to meet our needs, my dad who is in a wheelchair was with us and they accommodated him marvellously!!- can't thank them enough
-Food amasing, plenty of stuff for kids (unlike other places we've stayed, a snack bar with hotdogs, chips, toasties, burgers, popcorn running all day). Food for adults best weve had (and weve stayed 5 star before) there was proper roasts such as beef most nights, mussels, gravilax and some really good food (not just cheap cuts of pork like other places weve stayed)
-The drinks were fab, really lovely filter coffee and some very nice cocktails (try hotel paradise if you get chance and a brandy coffee with cream), we didn't feel like it was a hardship being all inclusive atall, it was 5 star quality drinks.
-shop open till midnight on site

The only bad points I could think of are;
-the TV is a bit pants, no English channels so take some films with you if you want to watch TV,
-the beds are the type little ones can fall out of ( a lilo at the side of the bed helped break the fall)
-there is the usual sunbed reserving with low value possessions going on which is a bit annoying, the hotel could address this by putting a sign up to say 'please do not reserve sunbeds, there is plenty available if only the people actually using them have towels on them, if you aren't at the pool please take your things with you or they will be removed' - this is not the hotels fault, they are probably too polite to deal with it.
-the location is very out of the way, this was great for us because we like it quiet and always hire a car. You can't stroll out to tavernas or other shops but there is a free bus (to be honest we wouldn't have wanted to eat anywhere else anyway!!).

we arrived at 11.30pm at night, we were told to just forget the paperwork for now, they had put on about 40 salads, pasta, fresh bread out for us and there was beer and wine. They said to just relax and sort it when we were refreshed. The holiday just got better from there really!
All in all we had a really brilliant holiday, it was everything we wanted and more. We have decided that we could break our rule of never going to the same place twice for this place and are planning a return trip next year.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the bottom of the site to avoid a steep walk up the hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sally j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eleftherios P, Διευθυντής at Smartline Village Resort & Waterpark, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays and it will be pleasure tfor us to host you and your family next year again.We are really delighted that your expectations fulfilled and we promise to get better year per year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

I booked this hotel via my own company supplier. I did look at this hotel in the thomascook brochure as I know this is classed as a thomascook smartline hotel. So I checked to make sure there was thomascook entertainment. The brochure stated full day and evening entertainment programme. Not true at all!! Firstly we arrived on the 27th may 2014 I had already made a request for lower ground floor as I was traveling with 2 babies. As I had read more reviews to say this hotel is on a big hill I called the hotel to again ask for a low room. When we arrived we were put in 900+ room at the very top of the hill which then had 10 steps to access the room with no ramp. I wasn't happy at all as how could I get to the room on my own with a baby! They do have golf buggies where the staff can take you to the top of the hill. (This is honestly a very steep hill) but you have to wait for a member of staff to take you. And with it being in Greece the staff work on Greek time which can take a while. We went back to reception and asked to be moved to be told to come back the next morning. We went back the next morning and was told we would be moved the next day. We were moved too 100+ which was great. But 2 days of messing around was a pain. The family rooms are great big and spacious and very traditional. And balconys are a great size. The staff at the hotel were all lovely and the food was good to. I couldn't complain about that at all. Also the pools slides and kids bar were great to. The big complaint is the entertainment. There isn't any!!! There was one night which had Greek dancing. Very good but it was in the restaurant so you only watched when u was eating so really should of been outside so you could watch the whole show. They did a quiz night which started at 10.30pm!! Thomascook do not have an entertainment team at this hotel. We were told that thomascook took there entertainment out of the hotel 2 years ago!! Doesn't say that in the brochure! There is a kids club that have half hour a night of entertainment but they start at 9.30pm what kids under the age of 10 are still up and ready to watch at that time and to be honest it wasn't very good at all. If you have booked this and are traveling with children and you want entertainment please have second thoughts as I spoke with at least 5 family's and everyone said there kids were upset and very board! The hotel states that it's a 10 to 15 min walk into town. More like 40 mins there is a free bus from the hotel to star beach hotel but you then have to walk for about 30 mins into town from there, star beach is good they have a beach pools go karts and more to offer but you have to pay. Taxi into town is 7euro per way. We went a lot to keep the kids busy and spent a fortune in taxis. If you don't mind having no entertainment and the steep hill doesn't bother you then I would say you will like this hotel but if not don't go as you will be disappointed. I will only sell this hotel to people that are happy not have the things listed. So all in all a lovely hotel but they should take this out of the thomascook brochure and actually state there's no entertainment no even music at night. I hope this helps.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room 500 and under if travelling with small children or have walking difficultie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lisaheaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eleftherios P, Διευθυντής at Smartline Village Resort & Waterpark, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for spending your valuable time to write this review. It helped us to see the negative points and to improve them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Having booked a week late for myself and my wife and teenage son we were looking forward to a sunshine relaxing break.

The accommodation is basic but clean and has a good size double bed. Bathrooms are clean and offer a bath or shower option.

Be careful when booking about sea view we as for and got a great view but the hill up is harsh. If you are not up for steep hills keep below room 500 we were in 1043 which was great but a tough climb.

The food was fantastic and had loads of choice, remember you goto the same place for all meals so people who complain about choice I do not get at least three different meat options in afternoon and evening. The food did have themed nights and the felt like the hotel had made a good effort at changing options.

Drinks are ok and are available all day be careful as all inclusive runs out at 11pm and there are no other local bars.

Location is limited but has a free coach to take you to the local town daily and this provides a good change for a few hours if you require.

Wi-fi is available near reception free but is 6€ a day or 22€ a week to use in your room, good value and quality is great for streaming sport or video, a safe is 21€ a week.

Overall a great week to relax and enjoy for all the family.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Tabs72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eleftherios P, Διευθυντής at Smartline Village Resort & Waterpark, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
We are very pleased that you are satisfied with our hotel services and we promise that we will get better day by day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Sold this hotel by Thomas cook who said this was a good family well suited to family's, this is not a 4 star more like a 3, the service of the hotel staff was good, service of the Thomas Cook staff was rubbish, ants in the rooms, food ok but after two weeks much the same.. There was a number of other guest that should not be a this hotel as there were drunk, rude and just not suited to a family resort,
My wife was assaulted and the kids shouted, people steal your stuff if you leave it by the pool, gogles, towels and your bags Thomas Cook was no help what's so every !! Would not go back there!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonynicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eleftherios P, Διευθυντής at Smartline Village Resort & Waterpark, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
We are really sorry that you had this unpleasant experience.It is generally known that there are a lot of nationalities in every hotel and everyone has their own differences.As you saw we tried to keep the balances as better as we could.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

A group of us stayed in the mareblue village in sept-oct 2013, knowing it was the end of the season for the hotel and all the night life such as malia, we got a 14 night stay all inc for £530..... Not bad at all.

The rooms were great, food was good and a large range of alcohol on the all inc menu too!!

My only advice is if you want a really good night life, don't got to malia. There is a strip of clubs in hersonnisos - about 5 mins taxi or a 20 min walk. Very highly recommenced to anyone!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eleftherios P, Διευθυντής at Smartline Village Resort & Waterpark, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
We are really happy that you had a great time here and we are looking forward to host you , in our renew hotel , this year again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel, kitchen, grounds etc were all spotlessly clean. The food was good and the staff were amazing & couldn't do enough to help you. Plenty of sun loungers & the grounds were beautifully kept and there is free wifi in the reception area. Evening entertainment was a bit scarce and could have been better located elsewhere in the hotel. The rooms were clean with good hot showers. We had a room for 3 people which was split into 2 areas with a door between then. It had a double in 1 area and 2 single beds in the other. Downside was there was no full length mirror and all the plug sockets were located in one room, and there were no English speaking tv channels. PLEASE NOTE this hotel is built into a hillside and has quite steep paths to the rooms pool etc, however the staff will give you a lift in their golf buggies. There are showers and changing rooms and a luggage storage room available after you have checked out for those with late flights. I would recommend this hotel to both families and singles/couples as it has 4 pools, food to suit all ages and has a free shuttle bus into the main town which is only a mile away, with plenty of shops, restaurants etc. I would happily return.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank jomacnaughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eleftherios P, Διευθυντής at Smartline Village Resort & Waterpark, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
It gives us happiness to know that you had a great time in our hotel and it gives us courage to become even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
0.5 mi away
Star Beach Village & Water Park
Star Beach Village & Water Park
#29 of 178 in Hersonissos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
3.9 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#5 of 178 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
4.5 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Royal Belvedere
Royal Belvedere
#35 of 178 in Hersonissos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
2.0 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#4 of 178 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,553 reviews
6.3 mi away
Gouves Park Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smartline Village Resort & Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smartline Village Resort & Waterpark

Property: Smartline Village Resort & Waterpark
Address: Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece (Formerly Zeus Hotels Village Resort & Waterpark)
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#28 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#43 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Smartline Village Resort & Waterpark 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Smartline Village Resort & Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mareblue Village And Aqua Park
Mareblue Village & Aqua Park Hotel Chersonisos
Mareblue Village Hersonissos
Mareblue Village Hotel Hersonissos
Smartline Village Resort & Waterpark Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing