We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smartline village resort & waterpark crete”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
smartline Village Resort & Waterpark
Ranked #29 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Crook, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Smartline village resort & waterpark crete”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Just got back from 10 nights at the smartline village resort & what can I say, absolutely fantastic! Kids club was brilliant, pools were great, children felt very safe here, children have snack bar serving burgers, hotdogs, chips, slush, ice cream, popcorn, toasties, as well as food in the restaurant, loads of choice, salads of every choice, chips, potatoes, vegetables, pork, lamb, cakes of every description, the soups were delicious. Entertainment team worked brill darts, aqua gym, billiards, football, as well as evening entertainment. Staff here are extremely helpful, if you have a problem they will help you. Rooms are clean, sea view was out of this world.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Tammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eleftherios P, Manager at smartline Village Resort & Waterpark, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review of your stay with us at The Village Resort. It is a reward to our staff to read that their efforts went a long way to enhancing your holiday. We have passed on your comments to them. It is our aim here at The Village Resort to extend our Cretan hospitality to all our guest so ensuring they leave the hotel with their sights on when they can return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    412
    198
    69
    39
See reviews for
766
208
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Ive got to start by sharing my concerns i had about this hotel when i first booked a year ago, the reviews that i read had me filled with real worry, and i wasn't looking forward to this holiday at all.

How wrong i was!

On our arrival at 11.30pm, with three boys aged 8,6 and 3, the reception staff made the check in very speedy. We had requested a lower numbered room, as my husband was recovering from foot surgery and was struggling to walk. We were offered room 463, this was roughly 50 metres up the hill. ( ill mention more about this later ) We were offered a snack, which we declined and wanted to get the kids straight to bed, the buggy was called and we were taken straight to the room.

I agree with previous comments the rooms are no way a 4 star rating but what they are, are spacious, well ventilated and very very clean. although they could do with modernising, but What more could you ask for???

The rooms were cleaned every day, to a very high standard and clean towels were always left and bedding changed.

The dreaded hill that everyone mentions, didnt pose much of a problem to my 3 year old, who managed the walk 3 times a day. Not saying that a flatter hotel would have been more ideal, but lets face it a bit of exercise never hurt anyone, and you know when you book this hotel the layout as it specifies it.

The hill provides a spectacular view of Hersonisoss, and the quieter setting was ideal for us.

The waterpark let in children of all ages and sizes, if you were happy with your children going on the slides with swimming aids then they were allowed on. Life guards were always around and made sure safety was paramount.

There is a drinks bar in the waterpark but only for soft drinks/tea/coffee/water

I was really worried when someone wrote that the hotel didnt provide bottled water as this is the only refreshment my kids will drink, but along with the soft drinks there is a water station as well. We did buy bottled water for the fridge in our room and from the local shop it was 4 euros for 6 large bottles.

The main bar area was always open for tea and coffee as well as alcoholic and soft drinks. The night bar men were very friendly, especially Anthony who was very helpful and always had a smile.

The restaurant food was lovely, i am the worlds pickiest eater who wont try new things but i managed a meal at every sitting and loved that there was always something for the kids, pasta, chips, meat, etc.
The staff in the restaurant deserve a big thank you and praise, as they work very hard clearing away and making sure the restaurant is running smoothly.

We didn't have an issue with the towels on beds around the little and big pools. We always got beds and loved spending the day around there. The only complaint i had was the photographers constantly walking round asking to take pictures of you and your children.

The best part of the hotel for us was the smile on our childrens faces when attending kids club. We don't make our kids go to these clubs, they volunteered to go and some days more than once. It took my 3 year old 9 days to decide he wanted to go, and after he went that was it, he bonded with the reps and the other kids and he loved it! Danny, Tess, and Jennie were friendly, professional and our kids wanted to spend time with them. They have different activities during the day, with party nights (extra cost), every night at 9pm its mini disco time! My 2 eldest lived for the mini disco, and loved dancing and having fun with the kids reps. They work very hard and deserve lots of praise and appreciation for what they do. Big Thanks to all three of them (including shades!)

There is a regular shuttle bus down to star beach ( a definite must! ) and the driver will always come back for you if the bus is full. ( be aware there are no queuing system to get on this bus, other people will push, knock and shove you out of the way to get a seat, and these people weren't English. My youngest nearly got shoved down the bus steps by a french couple trying to get of the bus first)

i can honestly say that i would come back to this hotel next year. My children didn't want to come home and are already asking when we can go back.

Room Tip: ask for lower room numbers if you dont fancy the climb up the hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank ruthey99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eleftherios P, Manager at smartline Village Resort & Waterpark, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
We are very happy to know that you had a great time in our resort It was very kind of you to write this review.
This help us to improve our appearance and to extinct our flaws. We are really delighted that your expectations fulfilled and we promise to get better year per year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here at the beginning of June, we booked it a year ago and asked for a sea view, and told them it was our wedding anniversary whilst we were there. When we arrived, we had been placed in room 1102, which us at the very top of the village,on the ground floor, with only a view if the apartment directly in front of you, very dark, no sign of any view whatsoever. Whilst we were there our daughter was ill, and we asked if we could move nearer to the bottom, as the golf carts are not easily accessible and we didn't want to keep making her walk up the very steep hill, we asked twice but we're just told no. We were all inclusive, but you have to lay if you want to take a picnic out, if you were going out for the day and wouldn't be there for lunch.
We are by no means lazy, however, the hill is extremely steep, and in the top rooms, you have the hill and then two flights of steps to climb. The beds were extremely uncomfortable,very hard, with one thin pillow, which we had to boost with beach towels underneath.
When you had a shower, the foam came up through a drain in the centre of the bathroom, and the extractor fan didn't work. There was a large fuse circuit board uncovered in the children's bedroom also.
The food was ok, lots of variety, but it wasn't always clear what things were. Apartments cleaned daily with nice touches such as our children's teddies and pyjamas being arranged on the bed, no complaints about cleanliness at all.
It's clear from the reviews here that the rooms are in a process of renovation, and the one we stayed in has not been touched, old broken TV, bathroom and beds as I've already described, tea cups were very small little cups and saucers, some staff on reception very rude.
We had looked forward to this holiday for a year,expecting a lovely room with a beautiful sea view, and it couldn't have been further from it.
We will not return to this hotel again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Judith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager Z, Manager at smartline Village Resort & Waterpark, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
At first we would like to thank you for spending your time writing this review.
We feel sorry about that inconvenience but through your review we are able to notice our indulgences and we do our best to improve them.
With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed herr for 5 nights
We had a chance to sleep in the villas
very nice rooms with private pool and shuttle to main hotel
but not good service in rooms


the main hotel is so good for families with kids
rooms r large
And daily kids activities
the service is great
the hotel team is very friendly and helpful
they add happiness to our vacation

Unfortunately the food is not so good

But over all its so good and would like to book in this hotel again

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jasmine l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eleftherios P, Manager at smartline Village Resort & Waterpark, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
We are very happy to know that you had a great time in our resort and we hope to meet you again in your next holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Arrived on the 3rd of June for two weeks all inclusive holiday, read a few reviews prior to arrival that were very negative. That couldn't be further from the truth, this hotel is outstanding. It seems to be now part of Zeus Hotels and not the Mareblue. Staff are very pleasant and happy to help. The overall cleanliness of the resort is amazing, the place is cleaned from top to bottom every morning and staff regularly come round the pool area picking up empty cups and cleaning ash trays etc. The rooms are clean and comfortable and also have a double bed not 2 singles pushed together. Maid service is everyday except Sunday, beds made, fresh towels and coffee/tea refilled. Bedrooms also have air con which is a really nice touch especially when the temperature got high, which it does.

Bar and restaurant are equally spotless, the food is nice and is cooked fresh, beef, lamb, rabbit, pork & chicken were cooked to perfection. A lot of delicious fresh salad and plenty of traditional Greek dishes.We were told there was a new chef and he was present all the time overlooking the food. Breakfast was also good, bacon and eggs or cereal, fresh fruit, Greek yoghurt and fresh breads on offer.

The all inclusive drinks were spot on, read a few reviews were people said they are watered down but believe me I can drink and there was nothing wrong with the strength of the drinks I had. Also in the bar area drinks were served in pint glasses and tall glasses which makes a big difference if you want to enjoy a drink at the bar, plastic cups for the pool area which is just common sense.

Evenings there is a kids club but it's away from the main bar which makes the bar area nice and chilled. You can take drinks to the kids entertainment if you want to. Overall there is plenty to keep the kids busy but it is still nice and relaxed for adults.

The hotel also offers a shuttle bus to star beach which is only 5 minutes from the start of the town and the beaches. It takes about 20 minutes to walk to the port but there are a multitude of cafés, bars, shops and supermarkets on the way.

It is on a hill but it's not the end of the world, you can find alternative routes around the resort that make the walk easier, we had 3 kids with 1 in a pushchair and it was fine. Also reception will call you a golf buggy if you can't manage. Again the staff couldn't do enough to help.

All four pools are well maintained and very clean, no rubbish lying around or any mess. The water park has several lifeguards present, the kids pool is no smoking and even has child friendly toilets.

If you want something relaxing but still keep the kids entertained this is the place. This place really is a nice resort. The staff work hard and are really pleasant. It has a great relaxing atmosphere and isn't far from the town centre.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues or kids ask for a room no higher than the main pool. But realistically i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eleftherios P, Manager at smartline Village Resort & Waterpark, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
We are very happy to know that you had a great time in our resort It was very kind of you to write this review.
This help us to improve our appearance and to extinct our flaws. We are really delighted that your expectations fulfilled and we promise to get better year per year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We recently visited this what you call hotel for a hen stroke birthday holiday. We paid £560 each and on arrival we were told to help ourselves to refreshments and snacks in the lobby, the snacks were dry and probably been there all day (not fresh) and he glasses were dirty following we went to our rooms where all rooms (4) had several cockroaches and other insects and some rooms stained sheets. We complained and they sent a cleaner round at 2.30 am when we arrived at 1am. The following morning we complained and with good intentions they sent fruit and cakes to our rooms however where the cakes had been covered flies were inside! Throughout the holiday the all inclusive food was what i consider to be 2 star very basic same things over and over again and many meals were not identified as what they are! All food pretty much is carbs so if that's what you want brilliant however if not your stuck!! The All inclusive drinks was a joke if your looking for spirits they are so watered down they taste like dirty water and cocktails are all non alcoholic pretty much! if you want to buy a drink you cant they put it on your room and you have to pay at the end. Throughout our stay we constantly complained about the standard of hygeine and the food! Good points, some staff are very helpful which is credit to the hotel and cleaners are very thorough! Overall i would never pay to go to this hotel ever again

Room Tip: ask for ones with a sea view otherwise your room is pretty much in dark all the time and ask for a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeavons_Family1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager Z, Manager at smartline Village Resort & Waterpark, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you in advance about this review and we feel sorry that you weren't satisfied from our services. However, we would like to inform you that the snacks are always fresh as they prepared daily and as far as the all inclusive concerned we are really impressed about this notice because the majority of our clients are extremely satisfied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We arrived here on 27th may for a 2 week stay. We are a family of 2 adults and 2 children aged 10 and 6. After reading some of the reviews, we were a little worried to say the least. We needn't have worried. We had a fantastic time and would definitely recommend this place.
We found the hotel staff friendly and helpful, our 2 bedroomed apartment was cleaned and had the towels changed everyday. The rooms are basic but that's what you expect with Greece! Both inside and outside were spotlessly clean. The food was amazing with a varied buffet. Kids food corner was pretty much the same everyday but luckily my kids were happy to try different things rather than chips and chicken nuggets every day! At times the restaurant was very busy but staff did there best to keep the food replenished.
The outside pool areas were great, the only complaint was towels being put out early on sunbeds, then guests were going back to bed or going out and not returning to their beds until lunchtime. This was addressed to the staff and a notice was put up stating this was not acceptable and this seemed to do the trick, however I think in high season this could be more of a problem as there didn't seem to be many sunbeds for the amount of guests. Water slides were great and well supervised. There is a sign stating you have to be over 1.2 meters to go on them but this was not the case. If u are happy to let your kids go on, the lifeguards will happily let them(even with armbands). The dreaded hill.......... Yes it's steep but the views are fantastic and it's not really that bad, flat shoes are a must though! The actual complex is situated up a hill but there is a courtesy bus to take you to and from star beach which is definitely worth going to. To walk to star beach it only takes about 15 mins and to get to hersonissos centre it will take about 30 mins to walk or costs 7 euros in a taxi.
The entertainment was ok but a bit repetitive, the Thomas Cook kids club was great and the reps were fab. Thanks Tess, Jen and Danny( and not forgetting dizzy and shades!!) for keeping Callum and liberty entertained and giving us a break!!!
Overall a great holiday.

Room Tip: If you have any mobility problems or have a pram/ pushchair, request a room no higher than the three...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Vickyjasongough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eleftherios P, Manager at smartline Village Resort & Waterpark, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
We are very happy to know that you had a great time in our resort and we hope to meet you again in your next holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
0.6 mi away
Star Beach Village & Water Park
Star Beach Village & Water Park
#24 of 171 in Hersonissos
695 reviews
2.1 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#3 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,872 reviews
4.8 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Royal Belvedere
Royal Belvedere
#42 of 171 in Hersonissos
779 reviews
0.6 mi away
Imperial Belvedere
Imperial Belvedere
#43 of 171 in Hersonissos
717 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arminda Hotel and SPA
Arminda Hotel and SPA
#28 of 171 in Hersonissos
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to smartline Village Resort & Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about smartline Village Resort & Waterpark

Property: smartline Village Resort & Waterpark
Address: Characostres, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece (Formerly Zeus Hotels Village Resort & Waterpark)
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#28 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#43 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — smartline Village Resort & Waterpark 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your smartline Village Resort & Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mareblue Village & Aqua Park Hotel Chersonisos
Mareblue Village And Aqua Park
Mareblue Village Hersonissos
Mareblue Village Hotel Hersonissos
Smartline Village Resort & Waterpark Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing