We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort in a beautiful surrounding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Village Heights Golf Resort
Ranked #5 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Brugge, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Nice resort in a beautiful surrounding”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We stayed 1 week in Village Heights in april. It was so quiet and lovely there. The big resort is in a pretty garden with a lot of flowers and 2 nice swimmingpools with plenty of seats. Everywhere, there was the smell of roses, jasmins and other flowers in the air. At one side, you have a view at the coast in the distance, at the other side, you look at the mountains with the tops covered with snow, and surrounded by a lot of green and wild springflowers. You hear the bells of the goats wandering outside the resort. We had the feeling to be in Switserland, instead of being in Crete. The hotel is 6 km from Hersonissos harbour and town, but with the free shuttle, it is possible to go your way without hiring a car. It is just a pity that the first shuttle leaves the hotel at 9h45, so that is a bit late when you want to make a trip with local busses for a whole day. But it is possible to take the shuttle and then the local bus to visit Heraklion (40 min.) and take there another bus farther to Knossos. We took the shuttle and the local bus to go to Agios Nicolaos too (50 min.). From Agios Nicolaos we took another bus to Plaka (30 min.) and then the boat to Spinalonga (10 min.). We wanted to visit Rethymnon and Ann, working for the hotel, was so kindly to give us a lift in her car to the busstop, at 8h00, so that we were able to catch an early bus to Heraklion (40 min.) and then a second one to Rethymnon (90 min.). If you like to walk to the tradional villages, the shuttle put you off at the road to Old Hersonissos, from where you can walk farther to Piscopiano and Koutouloufari and then to Hersonissos where you can take the shuttle back to the hotel. So you can do a lot. We even traveled from and to the airport of Heraklion, by using the local bus (25 min.) and the hotelshuttle (very cheap, just 2.5 euro per pers.for the bus). The shuttle stops close to the busstop and close to the Spar, so easy to buy what you need. Everybody in the hotel is very kindly and helpfull. We had a promotion week, but we were never pressed by anyone for buying a membership. Ann took care for us and even reconfirmed our flights. We stayed at the Greec evening and ate the buffetbreakfast in the hotel and both were very tasty and plentyfull. And now something about the 1 bedroom appartment. The appartment was big, with a good organised kitchen. We found a free bottle of wine and water in the refrigerator, when we arrived, and a little breakfast (breads, jam, coffee, milk, sugar and tea) too. This was a nice welcome. I am sorry that I have to tell some negative things now. When we arrived, the room was not OK (we arrived at about 19h30). They had still to bring another table and some missing walldecoration. And then it started. We wanted to look at the news on TV and the TV did not work. I wanted to call the reception for saying that our TV was not working, but the phone did not work. Then we wanted to take a shower, and the water was just cold. So we went to bed, but in the morning the water was still cold. By going to the reception, everything was fixed the same day. But it still happened that the water was not hot enough for taking a shower, especially in the morning. The first day in the appartment, I had already to kill 2 spiders, and a 3th one some days later. But what we found the worst thing, we had to kill 2 cockroaches too (one in the kitchen). So, the appartment itself gets only 3 on 5 from us. That is the reason that our endscore is 4 on 5. Whas it not for the appartment, it should have been 5 on 5. But we enjoyed our stay very much and want to thanks all the people of the resort, and especially Ann, for their kindly way they took care for us.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank liesenluc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    215
    45
    5
    4
See reviews for
231
364
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012 via mobile

We have only just returned from Village Heights and can only describe this hotel as fantastic. We only stayed in a studio apartment but did have opportunity to look at some of the other rooms while we were there, and can only describe them as absolutely fabulous. We stayed here as a result of buying a trial membership with Aegean blue while on holiday last year, and saw our required stay here as a somewhat of a necessary evil to kick start our other RCI trial weeks. However despite all of the negative feedback that Aegean Blue / RCI my perceptions around this resort were completely unfounded.

Before I describe our experience I think I need to highlight that having a car at this resort is almost essential. It's marketed as being 5 minutes from the local town, but it's quite a long trek. However, with a 40 euro fare from airport to hotel, and the flexibility that a car brings, it was well worth hiring a car which for us was around £80 via www.travelsupermarket.com

We arrived at Village Heights where there is unlimited free parking. We checked in very quickly, and the reception staff were absolutely fantastic. Very friendly, and very helpful. Within the reception building is a great bar, a poolside restaurant, and al la carte restaurant. At the back is a spotlessly clean infinity pool with a smaller kids pool. We were then greeted by our rep Lisa from Aegean Blue, before being taken by golf buggy with our luggage to our room.

Now, the resort is not a hotel as such, but more of a holiday village consisting of a number of studio, 1,2 & 3 bed accommodations. Our studio was well appointed with a queensize double bed. Just down from our studio was another large spotlessly clean swimming pool with a small very stylish snack bar on the edge of it. One thing I did find was the bed was very hard, but when I mentioned this to the reception staff the following day, they provided me with a memory foam topper which certainly did the trick. This was delivered to my room within 10 minutes. On another evening we had a problem with accessing our safe, and gain this was evolved within 20 minutes of contacting reception. I cannot stress how good the service is.

The beaches in the main area of the resort are a little stoney, however, having a car it allowed us to head just out of the town by about a km which were beautiful, in private sandy coves. One particularly beautiful beach is known as golden beach locally. Having a car also allowed us to go to the old village of hersonissos, and two other villages as you continue, which have a number of traditional Greek tavernas which again are lovely, and serve some great food. On the theme of food, we had dinner on the cretan night at the poolside bar, which was pretty awful, and breakfast one day, which only just made average. Although the quality of the food wasn't great, again the service is fantastic

With regards to our rep Lisa, what a wonderful job she did. Even on our first day there she took us out in the car, and showed us what was where. She is probably the most attentive rep I've ever experienced and I'd everything she could to make our holiday experience great. One thing I would say is that the reps are kind of dual roled and are also there to sell you a full membership of RCI which took up half a day if you are there on a trial membership, hence why Village Heights is where Aegean Blue want you to go to. If you do choose to buy into a full membership, which is said I wouldn't do initially, be prepared to haggle, and you can get yourself some great deals, as happened with us, to end up with a deal that you would be mad to refuse.

To summarise, this is an awesome hotel, spotlessly clean, with outstanding service. My biggest word of advice is hire a car to make the most of your time here. I would not hesitate to return, or recommend friends and family to give it a try.


Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank Turchese24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

My sister and I spent 5 days in mid April enjoying good sunshine with some windy days. The resort was quiet which suited us and once we changed our apartment to one with a view and large terrace we were more than happy! The staff went out of their way to help with any issues and the level of service was very good in the restaurant, the bar and the housekeeping girls. The new animation team of Nele and Mattia made us really welcome and organised everyone in a very professional way. They really made our holiday most enjoyable and we wish them well during the coming season.
Our only criticism would be that the indoor pool was too cold for comfort and the lack of WI FI in the rooms is something that should be addressed. The courtesy bus to the town was useful but it could have gone via the villages (and back) to add to the overall enjoyment of the area. Food excellent in the two restaurants and drinks reasonably priced. An excellent experience overall and we should be happy to return.

Room Tip: Ask for the second floor and a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JudeReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitris S, Manager at Village Heights Golf Resort, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear guests,

We thank you for submitting a review in TripAdvisor! We are always pleased when we read that our guests have had a wonderful stay with us.
Regarding the Wi-Fi access in apartments, it is an issue that we have already addressed and we are looking at the moment.

We hope that we will see you again in the following season!

Best regards,

Dimitris Stratikis
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karmei'l
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

nice prge rromes, equiped for short stay, easy travale to the main road.
english help at the front desk and good tip's for travling.

Room Tip: avoid near the pool at the summer = noisi
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YaronAmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitris S, Manager at Village Heights Golf Resort, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear guests,

We would like to thank you for your review. It seems that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are very happy for that!
We would like to point out that many of our animation team activities take place around the first outdoor pool. This might be the reason that you find the pool area noisy. However the second outdoor pool is there for you, noise-free!

Looking forward to accommodate you again in Village Heights very soon!

Best regards,

Dimitris Stratikis
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Spring Island, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Greece is barely open to tourists in March. Recommend April - September. Service was amazing, food and food price really good,. Rooms well appointed, beds too hard, Complimentary wine and water. Town is too far away so recommend renting a car in Iraklion. We loved the sound of the goats and sheep. Very relaxing. Once we were mobile we drove all over Crete and this was a good central point.

Room Tip: Rent a car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shark58SSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villahermosa, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

This holiday was exactly what we needed! The change of pace was soothing! We were at Village Heights for two weeks in February/March of 2012. I loved it when the man named Antonio carried up our luggage and pulled open the curtains so we could see the Sea. He said, simply: "Isn't it beautiful!" And each night as I looked at the lights by the Sea, I said in my heart: "Isn't it beautiful!". We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and felt like we had found romance at the end of the winding road. The goats wore bells; hibiscus and rosemary and phlox and lavender and pomegranate and silver dust and oleander and many more beautiful, lush greenery lined the paths; the library overflowed with many books and even though it was too cold to swim outdoors, we enjoyed the gym and steam room. So as you can see this is not about the cost or the distance from town or the weather. It is about almost heaven (even without internet in our apartment) and a location and people that were truly beautiful!

Room Tip: Sea view is great but may not have any sun on the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Roberts850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitris S, Manager at Village Heights Golf Resort, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Dear guests,

Thank you for submitting a review in TripAdvisor! It gave us great pleasure to read your review! We are very happy to know that you had such a wonderful stay with us. Rest assured that we will pass your kind comments to our staff.

Best regards,

Dimitris Stratikis
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randers, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Village Heights Golf Resort (drive carefully past the goats crossing your entrance) has a 650-person capacity. We stayed for a week at the end of February 2012 (temps between 5 and 15 Centigrade) and had the most wonderful holiday in a capacious apartment with a distant view of the Cretan Sea and all necessary facilities, including BBC World and CNN. Unlimited Internet access is available (in the lounge only) for €30 a week, and the full house breakfast came to €50 per person for the week.
Village Heights was an ideal centre. In our hired car we were alone in obeying the Highway Code, since Greeks love to overtake on double white lines and round mountain bends and have many wayside chapels to mark a fatal accident – you have been warned! We visited some of the major ancient sites: Knossos, Festos, and Zeus’s birthplace, where you should be prepared for a climb or a €15 donkey ride, once the season starts on 1 April. We enjoyed the towns of Irakleio, Chania, and Rethymno, the two major museums in Irakleio, the Kazantzakis Museum (in his father’s village), the abandoned (leper) island of Spinalonga. and the ride up to and around the Lassithi Plain. Olive groves, orange groves and vineyards gave variegated life to the foreground, while the still snow-capped mountains towered in the background.
The Cretans are extremely kind and helpful – they call it ‘care of the stranger’ (philoxenia) and Village Heights had the kindest and most helpful staff of all, though it should be added that early in the season there were few other guests. All were fluent in English and more than willing to discuss the Greek situation and the Greek people, though Crete is of course very different from Athens.
We highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank EdwardBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitris S, Manager at Village Heights Golf Resort, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear guests,

It was a great pleasure to read your review in Tripadvisor! We thank you for highly recommending Village Heights! It is no secret that the hotel's location is ideal for travellers who seek to explore the hidden treasures Crete has to offer. Visiting Crete in Winter is not as popular at the moment but we strongly believe that we are a year-round destination. Locals up on the mountains are the true Cretans that can show you what it feels like to live on this island. That is the reason we strongly recommend to guests who hire a car to avoid the bustling tourist towns and discover the Cretan way of life in the villages and the beautiful countryside.

We would love to see you again in Crete, thank you again for your kind comments!

Best regards,
Dimitris Stratikis
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
2.6 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#3 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,880 reviews
2.2 mi away
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
#1 of 13 in Koutouloufari
251 reviews
12.2 mi away
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
#3 of 58 in Heraklion
1,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Marni Village
Marni Village
#2 of 13 in Koutouloufari
1,044 reviews
3.1 mi away
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Aldemar Knossos Royal
#15 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,139 reviews
45.6 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Heights Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Heights Golf Resort

Property: Village Heights Golf Resort
Address: Ano Hersonissos, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#10 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
#10 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Village Heights Golf Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the north coastline of Crete, Village Heights Golf Resort is nestled amongst lush landscaped gardens and offers breathtaking views of Hersonissos. In true traditional Cretan Village style studios, apartments and villas are beautifully designed to suit every taste. Village Heights Golf Resort offers a full host of amenities and features to ensure a restful stay.Guests can enjoy a wide range of leisure facilities within the Resort including three pools (one indoor), a wellness centre, kids club as well as numerous dining and entertainment venues. In addition, the Crete Golf Club is just 2km away, with incomparable views and special rates on greens fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Village Heights Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Heights Golf Hotel Chersonisos
Village Heights Hotel
Village Heights Golf Resort Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing