We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Quiet and Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Village Heights Golf Resort
Ranked #5 of 174 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The staff are very friendly and the hotel is kept clean and tidy. Plenty of sun loungers for everyone, room towels changed everyday and great to have pool towels supplied to save on taking your own.

As we arrived on a Friday and being our first visit, we were a bit stuck and had to plump for the Italian buffet - which was average and expensive.

Although the hotel is time share, we found that we were not hassled at all, unlike some other resorts we have been too.

Hotel drinks are expensive a can of coke from the snack bar is €2.70, but from the onsite store it's €1. But if you have a car you can stock up at the local Lidl or Spa.

Would recommend Stalis Beach of Agiou Loanni over the beaches in Hersonisos. We also drove to Via Palm Beach - over rated and would not recommend the journey.

You need to get a key from Reception for the Sauna and if you want to use the steam room, turn up the temp. awhile before you want to use it.

The gym is okay for a couple of people, but any more and it's crowded. They have a multi machine (5 in one) so with one person on this you end up waiting. They have 3 running machine, but go for the one next to the wall (new one) as the others stutter while running.

We looked at the price of the hotels excursions and found they were very expensive - cheaper to hire a care and do them yourselves.. Knossos was over €40 p/p plus entry fee of €6 (a car for a day is about €40).

Would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank epic9990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (766)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

392 - 398 of 766 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is a lovely resort secluded in the hills above Hersonisos. It has 2/3 lovely pools, ample sun loungers and space. Is very quiet and quite idyllic. Has a free bus service down to town on a regular basis. Has pretty much everything you need, all the apartments are modern and clean, all have views (some better than others) across to the coastline. Staff are really friendly and efficient , I especially liked the golf buggy that transports you and your luggage to your apartment. They have 2 restaurants on site, the "A la Carte" restaurant is fantastic. Great value and great quality food, the service was friendly. The main restaurant was average an we didn't use it this time (this is our 2nd visit). One word of caution. The hotel has a Time Share scheme with Diamond International, avoid them as and politely turn down their "wonderful" offers.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

It's a very cute and relaxing place to spend some days.
We spent a wonderful week there the past summer.
I suggest it to every one searching for a relaxing place.
You will enjoy the every night open buffets

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We couldn't wait to go back to Village Heights Golf Resort. This year we traded a two bedroom instead of the studio we had before. It was wonderful. It was a town house that had an outstanding view of the sea. George at the front desk helped us all week with questions.
Marelena took care of our unit. She was wonderful to us and took care of our every need. The flowers and landscape are outstanding.
Our favorite restaurant is the one upstairs. Yannis and his partner remembered us for a couple of years before. The food was great and their service even better. We only went down to the village once and our lunch was outstanding. We had a Greek Salad and an avocado stuffed with shrimp. It was on the waterfront.
We also found a grocery store that is up the mountain past the golf course. It was quicker to get to and very clean. We did rent a car for both trips and found the driving to be very easy. Best Rental Cars were easy to work with. They picked us up at the port and Daniel picked us up there as we were taking the ferry to Santorini. WE WILL RETURN!!! Wish it was not so far to the US.

Room Tip: We requested a room that was high up and with a view of the sea. That is exactly what we got.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCQMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We went to Crete after signing up for a package of holidays whilst on Rhodes last year. Of the resorts we could choose from, we chose this one because we wanted out of the way and relaxing. A chance to chill out for a week. Unfortunately, the weather wasn't in our favour and 'chill' was quite the operative word (we were told we had the worst weather for Spring for about 50 years). However, this didn't deter us and I spent quite a lot of time in the spa 'chilling' in the right way and in the bar with books and lots to drink instead of going out exploring. A couple of trips down to Hersonissos to shop for gifts and we were fine.

This resort has lots of pathways and steps, it is built on a hillside, which I thought was cute and quirky. Like walking down little winding alleys to get to some of the apartments. If you have mobility issues it would be better to ask for an apartment near the reception building or along a straight path.

The one bedroom apartment was lovely, with two balconies, one of which was huge! I had requested a mattress topper in the booking ( I had read reviews that said the beds were quite hard) and so had no problem sleeping.

The food in the buffet restaurant was ok. More importantly it was both more than adequate and there was plenty in terms of both choice and quantity. We ate several times in the a la Carte restaurant and that was very nice. Excellent in fact, and not as expensive as you would expect.

Winston, the sales rep, was very good to us and took us around and about, which was very welcome as we had maybe more spare time than normal due to the weather. Visiting George's bar and eating and drinking away a couple of afternoons was more than pleasant and it was great to have a change of scene from the hotal (not wanting to explore or go too far because of the weather).

All of the staff were friendly and very helpful. We did sit through the sales pitch and actually bought into the Club, so we will be back! I would just add that there was brilliant sunshine the day we left (also a couple of reasonable days in amongst the cold and the rain) so please don't be put off by my weather gripes, it showed it really can be warm in April and we hope to enjoy the sunshine next time.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sherrie_pillay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Needed a week away from work to chill out and this resort was available at the right time on our RCI timeshare, this was lucky for us as we hadn't planned done holiday that far in advance. The booking agent told us it was a great resort and people kept returning over and over and I can see why. If you want to relax this is the place, the resort shop is good but other than that there's no amenities outside of the resort so you need to go to the town for this. That's not an issue as they run a free bus and taxis aren't expensive. Will definitely be going back here in fact we've already tried but it was full.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noshfordosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

The apartments were very spacious, clean and comfortable. The gardens and pool areas were lovely. The staff were so friendly. The food was a very high standard . There was a bus shuttle to the beach. Will be going back again .

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kerrihacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
2.5 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#9 of 174 in Hersonissos
778 reviews
12.3 mi away
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
#3 of 58 in Heraklion
1,775 reviews
2.5 mi away
Marni Village
Marni Village
#2 of 13 in Koutouloufari
1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Lato Boutique Hotel
Lato Boutique Hotel
#5 of 58 in Heraklion
1,846 reviews
2.6 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#6 of 174 in Hersonissos
3,226 reviews
20.9 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Heights Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Heights Golf Resort

Address: Ano Hersonissos, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#8 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#10 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
#14 Best Value Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range: £24 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Village Heights Golf Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the north coastline of Crete, Village Heights Golf Resort is nestled amongst lush landscaped gardens and offers breathtaking views of Hersonissos. In true traditional Cretan Village style studios, apartments and villas are beautifully designed to suit every taste. Village Heights Golf Resort offers a full host of amenities and features to ensure a restful stay.Guests can enjoy a wide range of leisure facilities within the Resort including three pools (one indoor), a wellness centre, kids club as well as numerous dining and entertainment venues. In addition, the Crete Golf Club is just 2km away, with incomparable views and special rates on greens fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Village Heights Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Heights Golf Hotel Chersonisos
Village Heights Hotel
Village Heights Golf Resort Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing