We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic resort and hospitality! 5*+”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Village Heights Golf Resort
Ranked #6 of 172 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 29 September 2013

we were a bit intrepid when our flight came into Crete for a holiday where we weren’t sure the hotel existed! We had been sold a trial membership to Aegean Blue (now Diamond Resorts), with our first trip to Village Heights. As soon as the taxi driver at Heraklion airport said it was a ‘very nice resort’ we knew it would be OK. And it was fantastic! The hospitality & service was 5*. The al-a-carte restaurant was great value if you only eat 1-2 courses each, and it was excellent quality.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 353lewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (748)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

365 - 371 of 748 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2013

Central location for visiting other parts of Crete, but if you do not have a car you have to rely on taxis (which are expensive) and the courtesy bus (very good but does not run late at night), because it a fair distance from anything else locally, being up a hill a few miles from the Port Hersonnissos and even a 10 euro taxi ride from the old town of Hersonnisos.. This company has got so much right ie great staff, very, very clean, but there were one or two niggles which they could so easily put right.

As suggested on Trip Advisor, we asked for a mattress topper in advance, which meant that our bed was superb and very comfortable, but why do they not put these on as standard.

The seating in the sitting room was so uncomfortable we resorted to bringing in the patio chairs which we far more comfortable.

We had requested an upstairs apartment, but were allocated a ground floor one where we could only see the sea through the many trees and bushes in front. This would have been a lot nicer if there has been some colour on the bushes, like elsewhere on the resort.

We like to eat out some of the time, but also like to cook, and felt that the kichen could do with a few more utensils ie a second medium size pan to complement the one medium and one huge pan. A wooden spoon for stirring and a large spoon for serving would have been nice instead of just one ladle, one large fork, and one fish slice. Also a measuring jug that could double up as a mixing bowl would have been most appreciated. Why do they replenish the bathroom toiletries every day if required, but only provide one dishwasher tablet, any more having to be bought at the shop. The knives were blunt, but thankfully I had taken my own, because I have this problem everywhere we go. The chopping board was tiny,.

I know the resort could not do anything about the continual barking of a dog, but at least that was camouflaged by the building work that was going on nearby. Not peaceful at all. We did mention the dog to them, and they did not offer to move us, and I guess we should have asked to move, but having unpacked and everything, we just put up with it.

I happily paid the 30 euro charge for the wifi. It did not work well at first, but after telling them at reception they contacted an engineer and it was great after that.

Dinner at the a la carte restaurant was very, very good and reasonably priced. We loved the salmon in orange juice.

Do go to the old town on Monday nights for the Greek evening. Great atmosphere and a lot of fun. The bus dropped us off at the end of the road, and it was a simple 10 minute walk,. Go down beforehand though to book a table at a restaurant that appeals and, whatever you do, do NOT go to Margos who take as many people as possible without having the staff to cope and are very, very rude if you dare to complain. We went to Sosos the second week and this was excellent.

Would I recommend Village Heights - yes but only if you have a car
Would I goi back to Village Heights - no I don't think so because it was impossible to walk anywhere from there unless you are young and superfit which we are not.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ObanTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Best things about resort
Gardens. Friendly staff. Breakfast and evening buffets.

Best attractions or restaurants nearby
Palaces of Knossos and Malia. Heraklion Museum Port Hersonnisos Adam's Coffee House

Review
This is a very modern purpose built resort comprising of 4 areas of two storey blocks surrounding a central reception and amenities building. The vast area is beautifully landscaped with stunning trees and brightly coloured flowers. Due to the size of the resort is can be a fair walk to the main building but is helps to build up an appetite!!
We had a two bedroomed unit which had a living area including a small kitchen, a bathroom with shower over the bath and a large cupboard in which there was a free safe.
Stairs lead up to a large bedroom with similar style bathroom to downstairs. There was also a very large balcony, with no furniture and a terrace with a table and 6 chairs.
There was plenty of storage for clothes and the very high rooms gave a great feeling of space.
The kitchen was adequate, although we did no cooking so cannot comment on what it was like as a working area. The fridge was small with an integral icebox. We only used the dishwasher once so don't know if the detergent would be replaced. (There was one supplied when we first arrived.) Other complimentary supplies were washing up liquid, sponge, shower gel and shampoo. The toiletries were replenished halfway through the week.
Previous reviews commented on the comfort of the bed and although they were firm this did not prevent us sleeping well.
We took advantage of the special package for 7 breakfasts and 5 themed evening buffets which were 119 euros per person. This was excellent value as the quality and quantity of food available were very good. We did not need to eat at lunch time as the breakfast was so filling. The Cretan themed night included live music and a display of Cretan dancing. At the end most of the diners were involved in an energetic dancing lesson which was great fun. The wine list was varied and we had a reasonable bottle of Cretan red wine for just over 12 euros. The restaurant staff were fantastic and were very friendly, especially George the restaurant manager and Fanis, one of the waiters.
The animation team were very hardworking and tried to arrange activities for all ages. We took part in 2 quizzes which were well planned and well supported by the guests.
I used the small gym once. It was ok but limited. It is worth knowing that you need to collect the magnets from reception if you wish to use a treadmill. I also went in one of the beautiful outside pools but only did this once as it was rather cold, despite the outside temperature being around 30 degrees.
We discovered an excellent tavern on the main road from the resort to Chersonissos. Adam's Coffee House has superb home cooked food served meze style. This was very reasonably priced, delicious food and Adam is a delightful young man.( Please see my review on Trip Advisor for more details.)
Chersonissos is not to be recommended as it is a narrow strip filled with bars, cheap cafes and lots of youngsters. This continues into Malia and is not the quaint fishing village which we expected. However, if you are interested in ancient ruins it is worth going to Malia palace which although much smaller than Knossos has some interesting features.
Port Hersonisos is much prettier and worth a visit.
Anyone who has read Victoria Hislop's "The Island" should go to Plaka and take the 15 minute boat trip to Spinalonga. This is a beautiful island and as well as previously being a leper colony it also has Byzantine and Venetian remains.
Crete is much larger than we realised so we were unable to visit Charnia. However we did get to Rethymno which was very pretty.

Room Tip: Request a sea view and try not too be too close to the swimming pool area as this is where the games...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whetstoneview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We were looking for a vacation and place that is quiet. We found it. The place is a little away from the people who look only for beach, but not far from the beach if you look for the sea too.
If you rent a car which is not expensive you have everything. You have a wonderful hotel.
You can stay in the hotel all the time, You have all kinds of activities as 3 swimmig pools, tennis court, vollyball, mini golf etc. You can cook your food or use the hotel's restaurant which is very very good. Every evening they have a spcial dinner with performace so who wants to go to another place?
If you decide that you came to Crete to know a little about the island you take the car and do sightseeing and come back to the hotel in the afternoon and still enjoy the hotel facilities.

Room Tip: If you are not so young take a room near the swimmimg pools, if like to walk it makes no difference...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabriella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Spent a week here for a relaxing tension free break and that is what it was. Pool areas were great, water was cold but the sun was so hot you didn't really notice .Loads of sunbeds and umbrellas. The free bus was a godsend and as it was only for a week it sufficed, it was a mighty long walk into town. Didn't eat in the main restaurant but ate once in Ellia, food was cold and had to be microwaved. All the staff were polite and attentive, Anna in the spa was great, Mathii and Nelly worked their socks off in the animation. The grounds were wonderful, scenery was great, beds were fine, kitchen was small as was the living area but you get an oven which was great, the bedrooms were massive. The half board deal worked out at about 10 euros per person but it was a bit repetitive so we ate in sometimes and out others. The reception and lobby areas are inviting and air conditioned, shop is a bit expensive but handy, pool towels provided, and would go again and recommend to family. As we were delayed and the time difference meant we arrived late, a welcome pack would have been nice, even a carton of milk. There are lots of good restaurants in town, last free bus was 19.30 but loads of taxis to get you back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We knew the location was up on the hill so we hired a car. Spoke to other guests who didn't bother, they used the shuttle bus etc but the car gives you more flexibility. The pools are nice. They're not huge but they were never too busy. The breakfast buffet is ok. I thought it was a little over priced personally but less than you would pay in a uk hotel. We ate in Elia restaurant on 4 evenings. The food is excellent and very reasonably priced. My favourites were the fillet steak and the souvlaki. The staff were all friendly and happy to help in multiple languages. The resort did put on some form of entertainment on at least 5 nights maybe more, although we only participated in a couple of things. The unit - this is the only reason I didn't rate the resort higher which is a shame. The bed was very hard although you did eventually get used to it. The seating facilities in the lounge area are poor. One faded sofa bed and two wood framed chairs with thin cushions. The TV was an old style portable and the channel options were limited unless you spoke 4 languages. Apart from that, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank THincPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Just returned from a week at Village Heights, about 30-40 mins east of Heraklion. Weather was 25-30deg. Lovely pool for daily swims; car hire for island adventures and good restaurants for local food.
Spa in hotel is wonderful - Thalgo products administered by Anna - good prices so worth buying to bring home.
Golf course is worth a visit at least for a drink on the terrace. Stunning views of the well kept course with the mountains as a back drop. Pity I don't play!!
Easy to visit east coast and the inland areas of Knossos and Kastelli and Archanes

Room Tip: Make sure you phone ahead to book a sea view if that is what you wish. Best on upper floor rather t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheilric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
2.6 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#7 of 172 in Hersonissos
3,180 reviews
2.2 mi away
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
#1 of 13 in Koutouloufari
279 reviews
12.2 mi away
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
#3 of 58 in Heraklion
1,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Insula Alba Resort & Spa (Adults Only)
2.5 mi away
Marni Village
Marni Village
#2 of 13 in Koutouloufari
1,157 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#8 of 172 in Hersonissos
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Heights Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Heights Golf Resort

Address: Ano Hersonissos, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#10 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#10 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
#10 Best Value Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range: £20 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Village Heights Golf Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the north coastline of Crete, Village Heights Golf Resort is nestled amongst lush landscaped gardens and offers breathtaking views of Hersonissos. In true traditional Cretan Village style studios, apartments and villas are beautifully designed to suit every taste. Village Heights Golf Resort offers a full host of amenities and features to ensure a restful stay.Guests can enjoy a wide range of leisure facilities within the Resort including three pools (one indoor), a wellness centre, kids club as well as numerous dining and entertainment venues. In addition, the Crete Golf Club is just 2km away, with incomparable views and special rates on greens fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Village Heights Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Heights Golf Hotel Chersonisos
Village Heights Hotel
Village Heights Golf Resort Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing