We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A comfortable and well appointed Hotel - would happily recommend it” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Village Heights Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Village Heights Golf Resort
Ranked #3 of 178 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A comfortable and well appointed Hotel - would happily recommend it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We have stayed here twice now, September 2011 and again in September 2013.

On each occasion we have been overjoyed by our stay there. Everything is immaculately clean and tidy. The staff are very helpful and polite.

There are two outdoor pools plus an additional one indoors in the spa/fitness centre. The outdoor pools are not heated but the weather is so hot you don't need anything but cooling down. They are not particular deep, only 1.5 metres so they are safe. There are shallow pools for children too but I would not really say that this is a place for children. Children are provided for but the place is at some remove from the local town and villages and is really intended as a place of calm and quiet.

Each of the pools has a bar and snack bar attached and the food there is of good quality and variety. Perhaps not enough fish or vegetarian options but this does seem a rather carnivorous island! My wife and I preferred the pool away from the main hotel core, beyond the tennis courts as it was the quiter of the two. Both pools are of a good size but the main pool near the reception and dining room has masses more space around it. Also although both pools have music coming from the snack bars it was significantly quieter at the second pool. In fact the only reason I gave this resort a 4 instead of a 5 rating is because of the noise level generated around that main pool. The music volume is increased as they have activities in and around the pool and personally I could well do without that. However plenty of people seem to like these events.
Actually I would give it 4.5 on that matter, only reducing to 4 because although you can connect to the internet it comes with a charge. I find that more and more these days that comes free in other parts of the world and would like to see that here too. Then again, I am on holiday and so did not miss the internet that much so maybe I am being churlish.

I cannot really review the food in the main restaurant as it is a buffet restaurant and personally I would only touch those as a last resort. Quite why anyone wants to have a themed international buffet each night is quite beyond me and why the hotel supplies them equally so. The Cretan and Greek cuisine in general is wonderful so if you don't want that then why not eat at home?

On the other hand the Elia Restaurant is absolutely superb. We ate there once on our previous stay and twice this time around and on each occasion the food was superb and I thought why would I need to leave here and eat elsewhere?

Well to be honest the restaurants in Ano Hersonissos (the local village) can be every bit as good with a wider variety of more traditional cuisine. There is a bit more excitement in eating out at these places, more refinement in the Elia Restaurant. Take your choice. If you do go to Ano Hersonissos then Monday night is the night. Be sure to pick a restaurant first and book it because they will be exceptionally busy as it is their traditional Cretan night. So after the meal you will be entertained by music and dancers for about 90 minutes. The same troupe come to the hotel on their Greek night but honestly the display in the village is better, they have more space in which to operate.

The bed in the apartment is far better than my own and the views over th terrace down the hill to the sea are wonderful to wake up to. The kitchen has what you need in the way of equipment to see you through what little you will need during your stay. Despite the complaint by one reviewer about the furniture I found that it was as comfortable as you need, the TV had

It would be hard to complain about the place for most people, my two points are so minor and they will not stop me coming back again and nor would it stop me from recommending the place to friends and family.

Room Tip: Try to get a low numbered room. If the room is 1800+ then the quality of the view diminishes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MGaylard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    200
    42
    4
    3
See reviews for
215
321
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

we were a bit intrepid when our flight came into Crete for a holiday where we weren’t sure the hotel existed! We had been sold a trial membership to Aegean Blue (now Diamond Resorts), with our first trip to Village Heights. As soon as the taxi driver at Heraklion airport said it was a ‘very nice resort’ we knew it would be OK. And it was fantastic! The hospitality & service was 5*. The al-a-carte restaurant was great value if you only eat 1-2 courses each, and it was excellent quality.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 353lewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
187 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Central location for visiting other parts of Crete, but if you do not have a car you have to rely on taxis (which are expensive) and the courtesy bus (very good but does not run late at night), because it a fair distance from anything else locally, being up a hill a few miles from the Port Hersonnissos and even a 10 euro taxi ride from the old town of Hersonnisos.. This company has got so much right ie great staff, very, very clean, but there were one or two niggles which they could so easily put right.

As suggested on Trip Advisor, we asked for a mattress topper in advance, which meant that our bed was superb and very comfortable, but why do they not put these on as standard.

The seating in the sitting room was so uncomfortable we resorted to bringing in the patio chairs which we far more comfortable.

We had requested an upstairs apartment, but were allocated a ground floor one where we could only see the sea through the many trees and bushes in front. This would have been a lot nicer if there has been some colour on the bushes, like elsewhere on the resort.

We like to eat out some of the time, but also like to cook, and felt that the kichen could do with a few more utensils ie a second medium size pan to complement the one medium and one huge pan. A wooden spoon for stirring and a large spoon for serving would have been nice instead of just one ladle, one large fork, and one fish slice. Also a measuring jug that could double up as a mixing bowl would have been most appreciated. Why do they replenish the bathroom toiletries every day if required, but only provide one dishwasher tablet, any more having to be bought at the shop. The knives were blunt, but thankfully I had taken my own, because I have this problem everywhere we go. The chopping board was tiny,.

I know the resort could not do anything about the continual barking of a dog, but at least that was camouflaged by the building work that was going on nearby. Not peaceful at all. We did mention the dog to them, and they did not offer to move us, and I guess we should have asked to move, but having unpacked and everything, we just put up with it.

I happily paid the 30 euro charge for the wifi. It did not work well at first, but after telling them at reception they contacted an engineer and it was great after that.

Dinner at the a la carte restaurant was very, very good and reasonably priced. We loved the salmon in orange juice.

Do go to the old town on Monday nights for the Greek evening. Great atmosphere and a lot of fun. The bus dropped us off at the end of the road, and it was a simple 10 minute walk,. Go down beforehand though to book a table at a restaurant that appeals and, whatever you do, do NOT go to Margos who take as many people as possible without having the staff to cope and are very, very rude if you dare to complain. We went to Sosos the second week and this was excellent.

Would I recommend Village Heights - yes but only if you have a car
Would I goi back to Village Heights - no I don't think so because it was impossible to walk anywhere from there unless you are young and superfit which we are not.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ObanTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Best things about resort
Gardens. Friendly staff. Breakfast and evening buffets.

Best attractions or restaurants nearby
Palaces of Knossos and Malia. Heraklion Museum Port Hersonnisos Adam's Coffee House

Review
This is a very modern purpose built resort comprising of 4 areas of two storey blocks surrounding a central reception and amenities building. The vast area is beautifully landscaped with stunning trees and brightly coloured flowers. Due to the size of the resort is can be a fair walk to the main building but is helps to build up an appetite!!
We had a two bedroomed unit which had a living area including a small kitchen, a bathroom with shower over the bath and a large cupboard in which there was a free safe.
Stairs lead up to a large bedroom with similar style bathroom to downstairs. There was also a very large balcony, with no furniture and a terrace with a table and 6 chairs.
There was plenty of storage for clothes and the very high rooms gave a great feeling of space.
The kitchen was adequate, although we did no cooking so cannot comment on what it was like as a working area. The fridge was small with an integral icebox. We only used the dishwasher once so don't know if the detergent would be replaced. (There was one supplied when we first arrived.) Other complimentary supplies were washing up liquid, sponge, shower gel and shampoo. The toiletries were replenished halfway through the week.
Previous reviews commented on the comfort of the bed and although they were firm this did not prevent us sleeping well.
We took advantage of the special package for 7 breakfasts and 5 themed evening buffets which were 119 euros per person. This was excellent value as the quality and quantity of food available were very good. We did not need to eat at lunch time as the breakfast was so filling. The Cretan themed night included live music and a display of Cretan dancing. At the end most of the diners were involved in an energetic dancing lesson which was great fun. The wine list was varied and we had a reasonable bottle of Cretan red wine for just over 12 euros. The restaurant staff were fantastic and were very friendly, especially George the restaurant manager and Fanis, one of the waiters.
The animation team were very hardworking and tried to arrange activities for all ages. We took part in 2 quizzes which were well planned and well supported by the guests.
I used the small gym once. It was ok but limited. It is worth knowing that you need to collect the magnets from reception if you wish to use a treadmill. I also went in one of the beautiful outside pools but only did this once as it was rather cold, despite the outside temperature being around 30 degrees.
We discovered an excellent tavern on the main road from the resort to Chersonissos. Adam's Coffee House has superb home cooked food served meze style. This was very reasonably priced, delicious food and Adam is a delightful young man.( Please see my review on Trip Advisor for more details.)
Chersonissos is not to be recommended as it is a narrow strip filled with bars, cheap cafes and lots of youngsters. This continues into Malia and is not the quaint fishing village which we expected. However, if you are interested in ancient ruins it is worth going to Malia palace which although much smaller than Knossos has some interesting features.
Port Hersonisos is much prettier and worth a visit.
Anyone who has read Victoria Hislop's "The Island" should go to Plaka and take the 15 minute boat trip to Spinalonga. This is a beautiful island and as well as previously being a leper colony it also has Byzantine and Venetian remains.
Crete is much larger than we realised so we were unable to visit Charnia. However we did get to Rethymno which was very pretty.

Room Tip: Request a sea view and try not too be too close to the swimming pool area as this is where the games...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whetstoneview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neve Monosson
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

We were looking for a vacation and place that is quiet. We found it. The place is a little away from the people who look only for beach, but not far from the beach if you look for the sea too.
If you rent a car which is not expensive you have everything. You have a wonderful hotel.
You can stay in the hotel all the time, You have all kinds of activities as 3 swimmig pools, tennis court, vollyball, mini golf etc. You can cook your food or use the hotel's restaurant which is very very good. Every evening they have a spcial dinner with performace so who wants to go to another place?
If you decide that you came to Crete to know a little about the island you take the car and do sightseeing and come back to the hotel in the afternoon and still enjoy the hotel facilities.

Room Tip: If you are not so young take a room near the swimmimg pools, if like to walk it makes no difference...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west mids uk
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Spent a week here for a relaxing tension free break and that is what it was. Pool areas were great, water was cold but the sun was so hot you didn't really notice .Loads of sunbeds and umbrellas. The free bus was a godsend and as it was only for a week it sufficed, it was a mighty long walk into town. Didn't eat in the main restaurant but ate once in Ellia, food was cold and had to be microwaved. All the staff were polite and attentive, Anna in the spa was great, Mathii and Nelly worked their socks off in the animation. The grounds were wonderful, scenery was great, beds were fine, kitchen was small as was the living area but you get an oven which was great, the bedrooms were massive. The half board deal worked out at about 10 euros per person but it was a bit repetitive so we ate in sometimes and out others. The reception and lobby areas are inviting and air conditioned, shop is a bit expensive but handy, pool towels provided, and would go again and recommend to family. As we were delayed and the time difference meant we arrived late, a welcome pack would have been nice, even a carton of milk. There are lots of good restaurants in town, last free bus was 19.30 but loads of taxis to get you back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We knew the location was up on the hill so we hired a car. Spoke to other guests who didn't bother, they used the shuttle bus etc but the car gives you more flexibility. The pools are nice. They're not huge but they were never too busy. The breakfast buffet is ok. I thought it was a little over priced personally but less than you would pay in a uk hotel. We ate in Elia restaurant on 4 evenings. The food is excellent and very reasonably priced. My favourites were the fillet steak and the souvlaki. The staff were all friendly and happy to help in multiple languages. The resort did put on some form of entertainment on at least 5 nights maybe more, although we only participated in a couple of things. The unit - this is the only reason I didn't rate the resort higher which is a shame. The bed was very hard although you did eventually get used to it. The seating facilities in the lounge area are poor. One faded sofa bed and two wood framed chairs with thin cushions. The TV was an old style portable and the channel options were limited unless you spoke 4 languages. Apart from that, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank THincPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
2.6 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#4 of 178 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,553 reviews
2.6 mi away
Marni Village
Marni Village
#2 of 14 in Koutouloufari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
#1 of 14 in Koutouloufari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Creta Blue Suites
Creta Blue Suites
#5 of 14 in Koutouloufari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
2.6 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
2.6 mi away
Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel
Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel
#14 of 178 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Heights Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Heights Golf Resort

Property: Village Heights Golf Resort
Address: Ano Hersonissos, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#10 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
#10 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Village Heights Golf Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the north coastline of Crete, Village Heights Golf Resort is nestled amongst lush landscaped gardens and offers breathtaking views of Hersonissos. In true traditional Cretan Village style studios, apartments and villas are beautifully designed to suit every taste. Village Heights Golf Resort offers a full host of amenities and features to ensure a restful stay.Guests can enjoy a wide range of leisure facilities within the Resort including three pools (one indoor), a wellness centre, kids club as well as numerous dining and entertainment venues. In addition, the Crete Golf Club is just 2km away, with incomparable views and special rates on greens fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Village Heights Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Heights Golf Hotel Chersonisos
Village Heights Hotel
Village Heights Golf Resort Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing