We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovelier resort than expected!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Village Heights Golf Resort
Ranked #3 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Kennebunkport, Maine
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovelier resort than expected!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed here for a week through our timeshare club and thoroughly enjoyed our villa and the resort amenities. We called ahead as others recommended and requested an ocean view unit with an added mattress pad. We got both and all I can say is the view from our large patio AND the mattress were wonderful. The furnishings of our 2 bedroom unit were a bit sparse but we were mostly offsite touring and then mostly used the spacious master or the patio. It was a 2-story unit - some may be single level - and the lower level with kitchen, sitting area and bed/bath was more cramped and dark. The onsite market provided the essentials we needed until we could fill in from the town market, which is where their complimentary shuttle bus stops so it's very convenient. We ate dinner at the buffet (on "Greek Night" which included a band and costumed dancers which we enjoyed more than we anticipated) and at the more formal restaurant Elia, which was very good. A poolside lunch one day from the snack bar was also good and the service everywhere was friendly and professional. The front desk staff was especially helpful when we needed to make reservations for a ferry day trip to Santorini.

The property itself is extensive with 2 lovely pool areas and the walkways are lined with roses and other flowering plants. The landscaping was especially impressive in this dry, mountainside climate. We did not rent a car and instead relied on local buses and taxis, but probably would get a rental if we returned for more flexibility. We would definitely recommend this resort to our family and friends!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Connie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    211
    45
    5
    3
See reviews for
226
357
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Spent nice week in Village Heights. Although I don't think we had the best room location, it was nice enough and clean. Rooms towards top of resort seemed better for view and conveinance.
Car is needed, as resort a couple of miles away on its own.
Hotel was busy, but never seemed crowded. Always easy getting sunbeds in pool area.
All the staff were very helpful.
Timeshare people didn't bother us, even though we are not signed up. So no issues there!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Simes038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Our third visit to an excellent holiday resort . Top marks to every single member of the staff who went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable and stress free . Special Thanks to Maria of the poolside snack bar who greeted us like long lost family members . Food in all the snack bars buffet and Restaurant were superb . Transport to the town and old villages could not be improved.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Del2014747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitris S, General Manager at Village Heights Golf Resort, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Guests,
It is always a pleasure for us to see guests returning again and again in our resort! Your loyalty to Village Heights give us great satisfaction. We will pass your kind comments to Maria at the Snack Bar!

Hopefully your fourth visit to Village Heights will be very soon!

Best regards,
Dimitris Stratikis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Level Contributor
107 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed for a week in May. Great apartment looking down the hillside to the sea. A well kept resort with friendly and helpful staff. Food in the Elia restaurant was superb and very reasonably priced. The main, buffet style restaurant was OK but pretty ordinary. Three lovely little Greek villages within a very short driving distance, each with a number of good local restaurants. There are many other restaurants down at the beach resort but we found this area to be a bit `tacky`. A free shuttle bus runs down to the beach area but finishes about 7.30pm so unless you eat early you really have to drive to eat out.

Room Tip: Some rooms have better views than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilDuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This is a lovely hilltop hotel with beautiful views down to the coast of Hersonissos. The staff here are all a treasure. We were welcomed each mealtime and shown to our table. The food was of an excellent standard with lots on offer both at breakfast and dinner. We ate out at the very pretty village of Old Hersonissos one night and one lunch time down by the harbour only for a change definitely not out of necessity.
All of the swimming pools are beautifully clean. There are two outdoors, one near the restaurant and lounge bar, one down past the tennis courts and one inside of the spa.
As there is a wonderful breeze at all times it is very important to be careful to remember to top up your suntan lotion .
The shuttle bus provided by the hotel is extremely useful. The drivers are very helpful and always on time all day long. It is only 15 minutes down to the harbour .
There is a little touristy 'train' you can take and you can get on and off at different points. We chose this method to visit Old Hersonissos village for an hour for lunch.
We booked a trip out to the island of Spinalonga, the 10.30 shuttle bus got us down to town for a pick up by coach at the kiosk outside the Spa supermarket. The coach took us to Elounda and from there it was a short boat ride to the island. There are longer days can be had involving beach bbq's etc , but we were happy with our return for around 4pm and to get back to Village Heights for a swim.
I have to say that our Rep Lisa from Diamond Resorts was exemplary , a lovely lady , she took great care to show us 'the three villages' - Old Hersonissos, Piskopiano and Koutouloufari and joining us for dinner one night was able to give us a lot of useful information.
The lovely barman Nicos at the lounge bar was so very helpful and friendly and always remembered our favourite drinks .
Linda at the concierge desk was a mine of info
This was a very memorable week for so many reasons but the men and women who make their living here make this hotel very special.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank patty444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Had a very pleasant stay of about 5 days here. The staff are courteous, friendly and helpful. The lady at the travel desk, (I apologize for forgetting her name) was super helpful and helped us plan out our trips to the various sites around Crete with maps and directions. We enjoyed a couple of good meals there. Pity it was too cold to swim. Also the shuttle service, to Hersonissos and back was efficient and timely.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank achira12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Part of the Diamond International group this resort is set above the coast in the foothills above Hersonisis. Reception were very helpful and attended to all our needs. The apartment was spacious with all mod cons (except the TV which was an old style CTR). Balcony off bedroom with seating for 4 had a view out to the sea. On a clear day you can see Santorini - 70 miles away. Themed dinners in the evening if you like set meals, we tried the al a carte restaurant upstairs but found it wanting in choice. We mostly took advantage of the free shuttle into town -excellent service - to try out the local fayre.

Room Tip: Rooms closest to reception are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Howard471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
2.6 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#4 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,740 reviews
2.2 mi away
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
#1 of 13 in Koutouloufari
238 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#7 of 171 in Hersonissos
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Marni Village
Marni Village
#2 of 13 in Koutouloufari
986 reviews
3.1 mi away
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Aldemar Knossos Royal
#13 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,033 reviews
2.6 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Heights Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Heights Golf Resort

Property: Village Heights Golf Resort
Address: Ano Hersonissos, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#10 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
#10 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Village Heights Golf Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the north coastline of Crete, Village Heights Golf Resort is nestled amongst lush landscaped gardens and offers breathtaking views of Hersonissos. In true traditional Cretan Village style studios, apartments and villas are beautifully designed to suit every taste. Village Heights Golf Resort offers a full host of amenities and features to ensure a restful stay.Guests can enjoy a wide range of leisure facilities within the Resort including three pools (one indoor), a wellness centre, kids club as well as numerous dining and entertainment venues. In addition, the Crete Golf Club is just 2km away, with incomparable views and special rates on greens fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Village Heights Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Heights Golf Hotel Chersonisos
Village Heights Hotel
Village Heights Golf Resort Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing