We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely landsscaping”
Review of Kreta Natur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kreta Natur
Ranked #48 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Just returned from a week staying in these apartments. The location is a little far out from the main town of Hersonissos, so is very quiet and peaceful. The hosts are very obliging and friendly. The room was clean, but a little smaller than the photos lead us to believe. The pool area is well maintained and welcoming. The gardens are very attractive with beds of cactus set in white pebbles and lovely flowers dotted around. We did find that the birds cannot tell the time properly and delighted in waking you you at o'dark hundred, we could've quite happily strangled the squawking doves!

There is no food available to speak of, but host Maria will fix you Greek salad if you want. We did however enjoy a terrific barbeque cooked by host George one evening. We especially liked how everyone was on first name terms as the complex is small and personable. Most evenings, after dinner, everyone would meet up for a nightcap around the bar area, next to the pool. There are great restaurants around, especially up the hill in Koutoularfari, Piskopiano and Old Hersonissos, but you really need a car or grab a taxi, as their is hardly any amenities within walking distance.

Many if the guests we met there were repeat visitors and we may well be going on that list.For a small apartment complex, there was hardly a day that went by when we didn' t have clean linens and the room was cleaned. The kitchen facilities are basic with just one heating plate but there is a full size fridge, a kettle, a toaster and even an iron plus board! Overall, a very pleasant place to stay, if a little remote.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
There are newer reviews for Kreta Natur
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

We spent a week at these apartments and couldn't find a single fault. Rooms nice and big. Tasty food :). The apartments are spotless, very spacious and...
Wonderful views from the hotel. It was really nice place...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank beautifulshark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

My sister and I have just spent a very relaxing and happy 10 days at this lovely boutique-style holiday apartments complex with just 14 rentals. Maria and George were wonderful hosts and made sure everything was as we wanted and the whole place was beautifully maintained. Our kettle blew up on day 7 and within an hour we had a brand new one! The only thing we would have liked is more cooking equipment and some light in the cooking area. Anna our maid was very sweet and kept the place spotless. We will be returning for our winter sun next year.

This is a very upmarket area of Crete (fortunately) and we were glad to have stayed at Kreta Natur as some of the other places looked awful. For shopping and eating out we were only a 7 euro taxi ride from Hersonissos with around 250 shops and many places to eat. Don't bother with the nearby restuarant, Blue whateveritsnameis, as the food and service were terrible. However, on their are plenty of other restaurants to try in Hersonissos and we were told that Versuvius, Tzatsiki and Akrogiali (on the beach road) were good value. Wonderful cake shop near the taxi terminal too and the island is famed for it's fabulous tsatsiki starter!

You must take the little 'train ride' (actually looks like a train but is a disguised road vehicle with carriages and would be fun for kids too) which takes in a good part of the area; we did both the 2 hr and half day trips. Your hosts will have the info on where to join it locally. Not much else to do except go to the beach or go shopping. Watch out for the scores of jewelry shops everywhere and all of them offer 'one-off' Greek jewelry which actually, you can find most places. If you are looking for resort or cruise wear, this would be a good place to stock up as there is plenty of mid priced clothing on sale. Check that leather bag is leather; much of what is called leather isn't so be aware.

We found it sad that the Crete we saw was rundown, covered in graffiti (even some of the ancient monuments) and there appeared to be no civic pride in the island. Also, how surly the Cretan men (apart from George of course!) and had no manners and treated us poorly. Forget the bus station in Heraklion; total chaos when we used it and everyone running round like headless chickens.

Room Tip: We had a triple room for the two of as we wanted lots of space but the double rooms are very spaciou...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JennyBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

An excellent small apartment complex, stayed for two weeks early September.
We found our room to be spacious, well appointed and everything worked. The shower had good water pressure, there was a full size fridge and the air conditioning unit was very efficient, wifi worked well. All the balconies or patios face north which help to keep the rooms cool.
The air con and wifi were at no extra charge, the in room safe was €15 a week, expensive but it does give you peace of mind.
The room was cleaned every day, clean linen and towels every other.
The whole complex is very clean, in fact it is immaculate and very well laid out, the pool area however is a little short on sunbeds.
George and Maria are excellent hosts, very friendly, first name terms with all guests. I asked George where I could find an ATM, he took me in his car, waited and brought me back, I thought this was exceptionally kind of him, he is quite the gentleman.
The complex is quite isolated, only a couple of restaurants and shops close by, a half hour walk to Hersonisos, as many have mentioned €7 in a taxi but this adds up if used regularly, we tended to walk in and taxi back, walk downhill, taxi uphill.
I would highly recommend Kreta Natur for anyone wishing a totally relaxing break in pleasant and friendly surroundings.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank fishstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We just came back from a stay at Kreta Natur last Friday, like the other reviewers we found Maria and George to be excellent hosts and incredibly warm and friendly. The accommodation was a very good standard and had a relaxed and welcoming atmosphere. The barbeque night was one of the highlights of our stay, they definitely know how to throw a good party!!

It's a little off the beaten track but easy enough to get into town from the nearby taxi rank. There's a beach close by but we found it was worth the work to Herssonisos Beach as it's sheltered and quieter than the others (although the day trip boats all stop nearby for swimming). However, on a couple of days we found ourselves spending hours relaxing by the pool and not quite making it as far as the beach as we were too chilled out!

We went on a day trip to Knossos (bronze age palace and place that the minotaur myth was based on) and Lassithi plateau to see Zeus' cave, both of which we'd highly recommend. We also went to Water City, one of the three water parks in the area and apparently the biggest, which was good fun.

There are plenty of good restaurants and bars in the centre of Herssonisos and we didn't have a bad meal. However, be warned if the menu picture shows a jacket potato, rice and chips be ready to be served all three.

We'd definitely recommend Kreta Natur as a great place for a relaxing break in the sun.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank further_afield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed here for a week from the 3rd of September and what can we say it was like home from home, Maria and George are brilliant hosts and will do anything for you to make your stay more memorable. The barbeque night is not to be missed, Maria's cooking was fantastic and the people we met there were brilliant and a good night was had. This is a small hotel with 14 apartments so it makes it easier to get to know everyone which you would not get with the larger all inclusive resort hotels nearby. The rooms are spotless and cleaned everday. We would definately recommend anyone to stay here it is a real hidden gem of cheronissos. If you want to get to the main town centreof heronissos it is only a short taxi ride away 5mins costing 7 euros.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stupotmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I cannot convey how amazing my experience at this place was, an absolute paradise topped with the best service and care i have ever experienced. The owners were angels and so full of information about crete to help you get the best out of your holiday. The weekly bbq and raki making evenings were some of the best evenings we`ve had in years. I was so sad to leave and that is why i made the decision to write my first (of many) trip advisor reviews. I would recommend this place to all types and groups of people (excluding those who want to `rave it up` in malia) the guests were an eclectic bunch and all felt part of the family. Thank you kreta natur!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kimberley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
0.4 mi away
Anna Maria Village
Anna Maria Village
#52 of 171 in Hersonissos
139 reviews
0.5 mi away
Paradise Island Villas
Paradise Island Villas
#2 of 7 in Anissaras
291 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Galini
Hotel Galini
#65 of 171 in Hersonissos
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Arlen Beach Hotel
Arlen Beach Hotel
#58 of 171 in Hersonissos
78 reviews
0.3 mi away
Evalia apts
Evalia apts
#1 of 3 in Anissaras
80 reviews
0.6 mi away
Home Hotel
Home Hotel
#6 of 121 in Hersonissos
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kreta Natur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kreta Natur

Address: Anissaras | Chersonisos, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
#9 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range: £24 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the middle of pines and palm trees, among birds and butterflies, under the glowing Cretan sun and in perfect balance with nature, you can find Kreta Natur, a dollish complex of 14 studios. Relax, rejuvenate get drifted in memories and fall in love... while overlooking the Cretan sea from the comfortable seats of the pool or from the verandas of the studios. Wander around the traditional Mediterranean gardens surrounding the studios and admire the impressive stones and flowers from the Cretan earth while feeling again how it is to be.. in perfect balance with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kreta Natur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kreta Natur Hotel Chersonisos
Kreta Natur Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing