We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two lovely weeks in the sun at Kreta Natur”
Review of Kreta Natur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kreta Natur
Ranked #60 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Two lovely weeks in the sun at Kreta Natur”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I traveled with my husband, and 2 daughters (with 1 boyfriend) aged 19-21. Kreta Natur is just how it looks in the pictures. The gardens are beautiful and the pool area immaculately kept. We hired a car for one week and went out and about, but the kids spent quite a bit of time lying around the pool, and at times were the only ones there. Everybody is very friendly and George and Maria keen to ensure you have a good holiday.

The apartments are in two blocks, and are spacious, with tv, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, as usual single ring and pots and pans. There is air con, but the rooms are tall, and keep cool.

It is about a 25 minute walk into town, mainly down hill on the way, but uphill back which is a bit of a struggle in the heat. We would walk in, stop at the SPAR shop in town, and then get a taxi back for 7 euros, when we didn't have the car. When we had the car, we would go to the local Lidl, as that did not involve driving into the centre of town, which can be quite busy.

There is a long beach on the front where the all inclusives are, but if you venture, up the hill (passed the taxi rank) towards the shops and restaurants, there is a small cliff (with steps carved out) which takes you down to a small sandy beach with loungers for hire. The other main beach walking down the hill, is a lot rockier, but cooler on hot days with a nice sea breeze.

I would highly recommend hiring a car and going up to the Plateau, the views are amazing, and there are some lovely traditional villages to have something to drink or eat. We went to all the local restaurants over the 2 weeks, and all good. I also agree the barbeque night is excellent and there is loads of food. Maria's potatoes were particularly good.

Overall, I would highly recommend Kreta Natur to someone wanting a more laid back Greek holiday, in a relaxing environment, with good access to shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Stayed in Room 15, a ground floor triple apartment, with a good size patio area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    15
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
26
101
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

All the reviews we read on trip advisor were true ! Beautiful grounds and pool and the most welcoming of hosts,Maria,George and lets not forger Michael! From the moment we arrived everyone was on first name terms.food was fantastic and the BBQ night was a highlight on the last day of our holiday.
Things to know- make sure you haveThe right directions to the town!!
We went the wrong way in 30 + heat ?The walk back was not easy so a 7 euro taxi trip was required.
Car hire is plentiful but you need a good map and must not be of a nervous disposition when driving in the towns.we felt 3 days of car hire was enough to see historical sites and the like.
All in all it felt like we were in a big house visiting favourite relatives.
We would love to return but as we live in Oz we may not have the opportunity as we have so many other places we want to visit.
Thanks to all the other guests for welcoming us and imparting all their local knowledge.
Anne,Alan and grace

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieWoAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Just spent 1week staying at George and Maria's small, friendly apartment complex. Couldn't ask for nicer hosts, they made us feel incredibly welcome and on a first name basis, couldn't do enough for us. We arrived early hours of the morning (4:00am). We were a little worried about reception being manned at that time, but George welcomed us upon arrival and let us into our room- no problems.

Our room was a double, with a small kitchen area. A simple electric cooking ring, kettle, toaster,fridge with freezer compartment, plates, cups & utensils were supplied. Our bed linen and towels were changed everyday. Room was clean and had aircon, hair dryer and ironing board. Perfect for what we needed.

Upon request (give a days notice) Maria cooked us a romantic meal consisting of chicken and potatoes (her own recipe), Greek salad, bread, homemade banana bread and ice cream and fruit, which was delicious!! It was served to us on the top terrace, where we could watch the sunset. Perfect.

We were lucky enough to sample George and Maria's BBQ night. Again, all beautifully home cooked. Had an amazing night, learning their traditional dance, smashing plates and sampling the famous Raki (be careful, it's strong!!)

Met some really wonderful people this week, there is very much a 'family' atmosphere. Peaceful, friendly, and relaxed,The pool area was kept clean, with outside showers and toilet block (all spotless).

The local area has a few supermarkets where we bought our supplies, and some little restaurants (All within walking distance). We hired a moped for €45 for 2 days, went exploring!
Lots to see & do on the island, even a Lidl couple of miles down the road for some cheap grub.

All in all a fantastic holiday, wouldn't hesitate to come back and/or recommend to friends.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Kreta Natur is a place that needs to be visited, the pictures you see are exactly what it is like absolutely beautiful ! more often than not, the pictures you see of places are hardly recognisable once you get there but not Kreta Natur, in fact it s even better. George and Maria are wonderful and nothing is too much trouble. It is the ideal place to spend a relaxing holiday, but if you want the nightlife, Hersonissis is only 20-30 min walk and a 7 euro taxi ride back. We are sun worshippers and the pool area is spectacular, unlike the large all inclusive hotels around and about Hersonissis, where sunbeds are set out row after row, at Kreta Natur you never feel overwhelmed by loads of people, as there are only 14 apartments there is plenty of room for everyone. The BBQ is a great night as you have a chance to get to know everyone better and the food is lovely. I have lost count of the number of times we have now been but for sure we will be returning.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaz_kev1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

A fantastic place to relax amongst strangers who soon become friends. Like most we have returned because you can't resist the charms of George and Maria. It is not an act and soon realise you are part of their everyday life. Because Kreta is small you feel like you are in a large villa with friends and family, you naturally want to return to enjoy the relaxed Cretan way of life. 5 holidays later at Kreta and we are returning again in September. June was spent with 9 friends/family, four on their second trip and our two sons who after day one recognised instantly why we keep going back, next year they wish to take their girlfriends. Maria's food is the best and George always makes sure there is never a cloud to be seen. Michales, your cocktails are the best :) Many kisses.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrispaps54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rotherham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

We have now visited Kreta natur 6 times and I find a previous review astounding !!! George and Maria are amazing hosts and you could not wish to meet a more friendly and helpful couple who will go above and beyond to ensure you are totally satisfied with every aspect of your holiday. We are very proud to now call them our good friends. The apartments are spotless, the pool area is gorgeous and has to be the cleanest in all Greece. Maria is an amazing cook which you will find out at the weekly bbq,( although George is in charge of the meat done in his immaculate self built BBQ )which you cannot miss, it is the ideal time to meet everyone and have a fun night with fantastic food and of course plenty of raki !! we are still in contact with a number of friends we have met at Kreta natur. The amount of people that return year after year tells its own story .

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank snowbal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Reluctantly returned from this wonderful little complex of apartments, run by lovely people . Everything said about Kreta Natur on here that is good, is true. It is heartbreaking to see all the all inc hotels in this area. Shops like the lovely Kretan Ceramik Art (next to Serita Hotel) are not visited by holidaymakers who are imprisoned in the huge hotels. Well worth a visit by the way to avoid the usual tourist tat. These people sell proper Cretan pottery at very cheap prices.
Back to Kreta Natur. I was alone on this holiday and far from lonely. The place is SO friendly and relaxed and laid back. I was lucky enough to be there at the same time as some really great people and we had a good laugh. George, Maria, Michael and Ana do a fantastic job of looking after everyone without being intrusive. I absolutely loved it and would urge anyone who wants a REAL Greek holiday to go there.
Rooms are great. Well equipped and comfortable. Salads from the bar for lunch were huge and very tasty.
The grounds are beautiful and have been landscaped from scratch by George . Thank you Kreta Natur for a wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 14 which is on the ground floor near reception. No complaints at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pestofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
0.4 mi away
Anna Maria Village
Anna Maria Village
#47 of 171 in Hersonissos
114 reviews
1.9 mi away
Korifi Suites Art Hotel
Korifi Suites Art Hotel
#6 of 9 in Piskopiano
180 reviews
2.1 mi away
Villa Iokasti
Villa Iokasti
#7 of 13 in Koutouloufari
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Galini
Hotel Galini
#68 of 171 in Hersonissos
205 reviews
1.7 mi away
Petra Beach Hotel and Apartments
Petra Beach Hotel and Apartments
#49 of 171 in Hersonissos
114 reviews
2.3 mi away
Marni Village
Marni Village
#2 of 13 in Koutouloufari
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kreta Natur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kreta Natur

Property: Kreta Natur
Address: Anissaras | Chersonisos, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
#9 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the middle of pines and palm trees, among birds and butterflies, under the glowing Cretan sun and in perfect balance with nature, you can find Kreta Natur, a dollish complex of 14 studios. Relax, rejuvenate get drifted in memories and fall in love... while overlooking the Cretan sea from the comfortable seats of the pool or from the verandas of the studios. Wander around the traditional Mediterranean gardens surrounding the studios and admire the impressive stones and flowers from the Cretan earth while feeling again how it is to be.. in perfect balance with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kreta Natur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kreta Natur Hotel Chersonisos
Kreta Natur Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing