We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book this hotel at your peril.”
Review of Cretan Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cretan Garden
Ranked #14 of 28 Hersonissos B&B and Inns
Atherton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Book this hotel at your peril.”
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We were a party of four. My wife, myself, my daughter and her fiance. We booked two rooms all inclusive for two weeks from 12th June. On the web page the rooms looked fantastic and air conditioning standard. On arrival we were shown to two pokey little rooms with no air conditioning. On complaining we were offered an upgrade for £260. We reluctantly accepted and the new rooms were as shown on the web page. The all inclusive did not start until 11am, we did get breakfast, and finished at 10.30pm. AI was poor quality beer and wine also oozo and raki. If we wanted G & T or whisky, brandy etc. we had to pay, and very expensive it was. The beer was served in half pint glasses that were only ever half filled. If we wanted a pint we had to pay for it. To get a decent beer we had to go to the shop for Mythos beer. The hotel is quite isolated to go to the nearest town was a taxi ride at 7euroes each way. The regular bus service turned out to be 1 bus per day. The food wes well cooked but very repetitive, I got fed up with pork at the end of two weeks. The web page for the hotel mentions mini bar, snack bar and entertainment. We saw none of these. On the plus side I found the staff lovely and helpfull, the cook must have known a thousand ways to cook pork. We spent a lot more money than expected.

Room Tip: Go somwhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fred C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    33
    19
    10
    20
See reviews for
34
64
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Loweswater, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We, me and a friend..THE GIRLS :-).. just got back from Cretan Garden Hotel.

Please note: You have to pay for air con (we were not told this by the agent) its 50 euro a week but it was too hot to sleep without it (it was 40!!).

We're both 28, we wanted a quite holiday with a couple of nights partying. This hotel is a little off the beaten track but great if you want to escape for a quiet week or so. We were in a superior room with flat screen TV, lovely modern bathroom, really comfy beds, FLUFFY TOWELS, fitted wardrobes and fridge!! - it matched a good 4 star hotel here in England.

Breakfast: 7am - 9am
Lunch: 1pm - 2pm
Dinner: 6:30pm - 8pm

The food is all Greek (with chips for the fussy people) if your wanting english food then this is not the hotel for you (perhaps stay in england....). You do have to get in early tho with the food as towards the end of the alloted times for breakfast, lunch & dinner there is not much left at all and you do get the usual IGNORANT/RUDE nationalities that INSIST on pushing infront of you practically knocking you over..... elbows out people elbows out....stand your ground! :-)

Alcohol: All inclusive is usually all spirits, cocktails, soft drinks etc but the drinks here only include:
Red & White Wine (quite nice to be honest)
Beer
Ouzo (mix it with a soft drink and its lovely)
Raki (lethal!!)
Soft Drinks

If you dont like any of them your snookered but we got a bit tipsy! (a few times) he he he

Tony the bar man is LOVELY!! If your polite and patient (which the previous nasty review person wasnt) then he will treat you like a princess! Connie and her mum are lovely too..... nothing is too much trouble for them....they looked after us as if we were family.

Getting around the area is diffuicult as its quite hilly (and hot)..... we hired a quadbike for the day and went exploring and it really is a very pretty part of crete. The beaches are amazing! Hersonisis is a great night out too 7 euro from the hotel in a taxi.

Sadly there was no entertainment at all..... and they dont play the bar music loud as not to wake people with rooms close to the bar. This was the only thing that let this hotel down, that and the limited drinks and no icecream in the all inclusive. Its a real shame really as a singer, dancer, quizzes or even bingo on a night would just make it that little bit more fun. Even an entertainer during the day around the pool doing pool games or activities would make it more fun for the children. I'll come and do it for you Connie?? Kids love me! lol

I would go back to this hotel if the all inclusive times were longer and more choices, there was entertainment on a night and perhaps maybe 1 ice cream a day for people???

Great place to go if you want to escape for a bit, recharge your batteries and have lots of early nights.......

Claire & Katie.......... The Girls! :-) x

Room Tip: ask for superior room - charges apply
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkieClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

I was going to let it ride until BrumMJ added his 'opinions'. This review is in response to a very true and accurate entry on Trip Advisor that has since strangely disappeared! This in itself is of great concern and if like me you use this site as guidance you need to start questioning its integrity.
This hotel is not all inclusive......... There is no vodka gin rum or whiskey. The beer could not inebriate a 12 year old and the wine could strip a door. The food it cold and you have two choices with greasy veg and potato. The bar man is an extra from Shameless as stated and the evening is just an exercise in selling poor cocktails. We even saw a small rodent cooling off in the kids pool!!
There are two bars within walking distance and you will pay more for a beer than you will at home.
Yes the grounds are nice and the room we had was very big but this in no way made up for being hungry and having to drink vodka from the supermarket at 20 euro a bottle.
You can't even go and hire a bed on the beach because the rather nice new 5 star hotel seems to own it!
I have the feeling that if this review actually passes the censorship of trip advisor it will soon disappear when the hotel threatens action or what ever people use nowadays.

Room Tip: You will NEED to pay for the superior room or just don't even consider it.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank voody7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hersonissos hotels

Odense
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We stayed one week at this small family run place. The hotel it self is as as other hotels of this standard, but the staff and the owners are wonderful and helpfull. We were on "all inclusive" and was a bit worried for the food. But it was excellent. Wonderfull greek cooking.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Per V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Female solo traveller in need of TLC. Needed to escape the demands of daily life in the UK. Returned to Crete where my love for Greece began in 1981! Different village of course as resorts previously visited no longer offer what they did then. I absolutely loved the Cretan Garden Hotel. 48 roomed hotel I think? fairly quiet when I visited. Ate the same food as the family....no better recommendation than that required. Accommodation very clean. Pool quiet and the most wonderful sunsets when I was there. Prob @ 5 mins to the beach and you can walk forever along the front. All the staff there work so hard (a small group working long hours) I felt safe and nurtured. I had great weather, good food and good company. Just what the doctor ordered!!! Brits in the minority when I was there which made it even more interesting. Only one bus a day out of town heading east or west....that didn't deter me. I went on the bus to Ag Nik and did the two train tours - ask at reception it's a lovely way to see the surrounding area if like me you don't fancy driving. The all inclusive option suited me fine but families might be disappointed at the lack of snacks and ice-cream for the kids. I definately would love to return.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCam123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

With a family wedding looming, we thought it would be a good idea to squeeze a last minute break in for a little relaxation before the big event. I found the Cretan gardens online and liked the look of it and the price was right so we booked.
Cretan Gardens is only a Three star hotel but from arrival to departure we were given Five star treatment by everyone from the maids to the owners. Be ready for Tony the barman, His sense of humour will have you laughing every day.
Run by Connie ( a "Native New Yorker") and her parents, Cretan Gardens is a hidden gem with fantastic sea views, a spacious pool area and the food cooked by "probably the best cook on the Island" was always plentiful and varied. There is no entertainment here but if it's noise you want, Hersonnisos is only a 7 euro taxi ride away.
We didn't expect this quality from this type of Hotel but perhaps being Family Run is it's secret.
Give this hotel a try, you won't be dissapointed.

Room Tip: Don't go for the garden view rooms, the sea view rooms are really worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Our family have just returned from a very relaxing, enjoying stay at Cretan Gardens which is run by a very friendly, helpful family. Compliments to the chef and all staff who made our stay enjoyable. Accommodation very clean and spacious. Lovely pool area and overall a great place to stay for a fairly quiet, relaxing holiday. We would definitely return.
The Hill Family

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Oceanis
Hotel Oceanis
#7 of 7 in Anissaras
213 reviews
1.0 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#3 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,848 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Agrabella
Hotel Agrabella
#120 of 171 in Hersonissos
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Annabelle Beach Resort
Annabelle Beach Resort
#30 of 171 in Hersonissos
941 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anna Maria Village
Anna Maria Village
#50 of 171 in Hersonissos
119 reviews
1.8 mi away
Central Hersonissos Hotel
Central Hersonissos Hotel
#35 of 171 in Hersonissos
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cretan Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cretan Garden

Property: Cretan Garden
Address: Hersonissos, Crete 5433, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cretan Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Cretan Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cretan Garden Hotel Chersonisos
Cretan Garden Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing