We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smashing hotel ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Smashing hotel ”
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a week early june with my girlfriend, it was the best hotel I've ever stayed in. The food was great, loads of choice and all different types of foods, the service was top notch rooms cleaned to a high standard every day, towels changed etc. There was free air-con in the room, if I had to say one bad point was that they stopped serving drinks at midnight but I cant realy fault it I would defo recommend it to family and friends.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank harpersdreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,759
    651
    188
    49
    22
See reviews for
1,149
898
15
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We landed on the evening of 17th September 2013.
On approach to the hotel the baggage staff immediatley took our bags to one side. And when we were given the key they walked us to our room with the bags.

The room in first instance was by the main road and quite far away from the main reception, and our view was of a tree. We did not book a sea view so we got a room in the main building which was fine. The shower was amazing! and was a walk in which kind of made up for the view. But being by the main road it was noisy.

We asked our rep if we could move rooms as it was quite noisy at the view wasn't great, and she asked the hotel staff who happily gave us another room, the same baggage gentleman took us to the new room. It was nice and bright due to no tree, and to our amazement if you leant over the balcony you could see the sea! It was lovely.

The beds were two singles pushed together which was comfier than we expected and the bathroom was a normal shower within a bath which was fairly powerful.

The tap water was drinkable too in the hotel which to our relief was brilliant!

We had the maids in every other day as there were more than enough towels. There was no need to have them in everyday in our room.

The Wi-fi service was fantastic.

The beach and the pool were brilliant too.
We only used the pool once as it was too busy and noisy due to children, which is to be expected.

We spent most of the days at the beach if were not out.
The beach is tidy and clean and the sea was nice too.
The hotel had security combing the beach frequently and asking people not staying at the hotel to move along.

The food everyday was of a great standard, the staff started to recognise us and they always acknowledged.
They would clear the tables promptly also.

The bar staff were always helpful and every member of staff looked like they were happy be there.
One member of the entertainment team could be a little over the top, but I guess she was just loving life. She did ask us all the time though! But by the last night of the holiday, me and my girlfriend cracked (under the influence of a lot of Alcohol) and kind of shouted over the top of everyone else doing Kareoke....
Apologies....

I am amazed that all the staff spoke English. Perfect English.
I am embarassed that I do not know any european language.

This hotel was brilliant, well worth the money we paid for.

And If we visit that area again I think we would definatley come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ross W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We had a great week, a really great holiday. We enjoyed the facilities and the good service. Especially at the Almyra restaurant Giorgos and Vaggelio made us feel like home! Amazing greek hospitality!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yanna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

After being recommended this hotel by a friend I was expecting great things and I wasn't disappointed. This hotel is fabulous. I can't a say a negative thing about it. We arrived at 9pm and were told that we could still use the restaurant if we wanted to which we did. We stayed in the main hotel and having talked to other guests we made the right choice. They said the bungalows were a bit tired looking. We didnt pay for a seaview but we had a seaview every time we sat at the bar so werent disappointed. The food is great. Plenty of choice and lots of it. Every night they have a station where they cook fresh fish and meat. We also ate in the pithos restaurant and the cochilas restaurant (twice)because it was so good the first time. You have to be at reception early to book in these restaurants and you can only book to eat in them 3 times a week. We used the steki pool which is located by the bungalows. It has its own bar which served drinks and snacks . The main pool is great but can get busy but still plenty of beds. The hotel provides towels which you can exchange in the afternoon ready for the next day. The bar area is lovely. Overlooking the sea and beach. You never get bored of the view. We used the beach which had plenty of beds and because its part of the hotel they're free which is a bonus. We walked into Hersonnisos every day . (About 10 minutes)Plenty of bars and fab restaurants if you fancy a change from the hotel . We also used the little train which takes you around Herssonnis. Costs about 10euros each but worth it. I would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank sianee51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

If you decide to spend your holidays in the island of Crete during June, July or August you can be almost sure that you will not experience any rain. There are not many rainy days there even in May or September but if you wish to be absolutely sure of being able to go swimming in spite of the "crying sky", think of choosing the hotel Crete Maris. One of its (rather rare) facilities is a big indoor swimming pool. This is of course not the only of many goodies it can offer to satisfy even the most demanding guests. I believe its five stars ranking is well deserved in all respects, from the perfect room service to the restaurants and bars.
To people who like sleeping with their windows open and appreciate absolute silence I recommend to make their suite reservation not in the main building but in the adjacent bungalow area - preferably on the upper floor.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Zdenek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the Bungalows from 1st Oct to 11th. No. 559. We went with Thomas Cook All Inclusive. Had a beautiful sea view and the gardens below had a pomegranate tree and other beautiful plants and trees.
This is by far one of the most special places we have stayed. The complex has a "magical" feel about it and has an exquisite layout. The Bungalow we stayed in wasn't upgraded yet BUT we found it quaint. It made us feel we were living in a greek village. Plenty room for the 2 of us. We could nit pick like others do BUT we WILL definitely be back! The room had 2 beds pushed together. BEST sleep anywhere I have had. Extra pillows in wardrobe. Safe in room. (FREE)Room also has kettle and tea coffee sachets left everyday. The beds changed every 2 days. Soap, shampoo, shower gel and body lotion topped up whenever you need it. Beach towels left in bathroom on arrival. These can be changed between 4pm & 6pm at main pool everyday. We spent a lot of time round by the Steki bar pool. Most of the time very peaceful and Poppi at the Steki bar is SO amazing. What a asset to the Creta Maris. Always a smiling and so pleasant! There's a little hidden gem round by the bungalows on the rocks with sun loungers. The most stunning views and a nice gentle breeze blowing if too hot.
Now the main restaurant in the Creta has something for everyone. I am a bit fussy but I certainly found something delicious to eat all the time. White, Rose & Red Wine on tap to help yourself. Peach orange and apple juice on tap too! The staff are all amazing in there but KATIRINA & ELENI are 2 of the most nicest, pleasant and amazing staff we met in the complex. We just hope The management know they have an amazing group of people working for them. Thanks girls! ;-)
We ate late lunch in the restaurant by the main pool. Yet again we could not fault ANYTHING. Pasta in there is outstanding. And staff are great.
Toilets around pool areas and in hotel are always clean.
The Romantic bar is a great place. Inside amd outside seating. Drinks with tye A.I. are fine. I'm a vodka drinker and there local TROPHY vodka was great. Also the brandy was fine as well. Cocktails ok and they have Baileys. Bar staff are a bit rushed at times but always pleasant.
A la carte Italian up at the Terra was so nice. The dessert table is the best I've ever seen.
We had a late flight. Check out was 1200. You can leave your cases next to reception. They let you carry on with your All Inclusive until it's that sad time to leave. Downstairs there's a late departure room with shower facilities. Towels shower gel amd lockers. Great idea.
Yes there were a few conferences on but they never bother anybody like some people moan about.
All in all it is definitely a must for us to return. 100% effort and thank you!
Lastly we took advantage of the Thomas Cook Fast Track for the return flight. €37 each. Worth EVERY single €. The airport is RAMMED. Never seen anything like it. For your €'s you are taken to the front of the queue at all points and then taken to a small peaceful relaxing lounge. And when your flight is ready you are taken downstairs and yet again taken to the front of the Queue and there is little or no stress apart from the few stares as u are treated like a V.I.P. A huge thanks to Stacey. Rep for Thomas Cook. An great ambassador for Thomas Cook.
We SO look forward to returning here again and again!!! 100% relaxing holiday. Thank you all at Creta Maris. Xxx

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank johnnyc2802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We have been there in mid of October 2013, at the end of season. The weather was just fine, sea was warm, but swimming in the pools not possible-water was cold.
We were satisfied with our vacation, nice room, good food, and perfect thematic restaurants. Nice beach, although there are sea wreck, but nice sand everywhere on the hotel beach. Perfect bar on the beach. Pitty was, that the indoor pool in the lower area was under reconstruction, so we had to go to the Terra building up to the hill, but no problem at all.
It is a nice hotel, definitely would like to return.

Room Tip: 826B is a family room, with sea side view. Two balcony and a lot of room inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katerina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
2.9 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Aldemar Knossos Royal
#13 of 171 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#6 of 171 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
47.4 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
47.6 mi away
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Adelianos Kampos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,999 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mitsis Laguna Exclusive Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creta Maris Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creta Maris Beach Resort

Property: Creta Maris Beach Resort
Address: Port of Hersonissos | Hersonissos, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hersonissos
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hersonissos
#2 Business Hotel in Hersonissos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#6 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Creta Maris Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 680
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Creta Maris Beach Resort in Crete, just 24 km from the Heraklion International Airport is close to Hersonissos, a long sweeping bay of sandy beach and crystal clear water. Creta Maris, a small village with quaint twisting paths, small piazzas filled with the scents and colors of a wide variety of trees and flowers, is a unique combination of Aegean Architecture, Cretan hospitality, green oriented environment, and high quality All Inclusive services. At Creta Maris, the choices for fun, entertainment, sport activities, but also relaxation, exercising and beauty are endless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Creta Maris Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creta Maris Convention & Golf Hotel Chersonisos
Creta Maris Convention And Golf Resort
Creta Maris Convention Hotel
Creta Maris Hotel
Creta Maris Convention Hersonissos
Hotel Creta Maris
Creta Maris Beach Resort Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing